INSTITUTIONS ESTABLISHED UNDER THE NEW ZEALAND INDUSTRIAL RELATIONS ACT 1973

INDUSTRIAL RELATIONS COUNCIL

22 members:

- Minister of Labour (Chairman)
- Secretary for Labour
- ◆ 10 nominated on recommendation of the central organisation of employers
- ◆ 10 nominated on recommendation of the central organisation of workers.

Major functions

- Consultation on industrial policy
- ◆ Advice to Government on manpower policies
- Formulation of industrial relations codes of practice
- Recommendations on ways to improve industrial relations
- Proposals for changes in industrial law.

INDUSTRIAL COMMISSION

5 members:

- ◆ 3 considered experienced and qualified in industrial matters but representing no sectional interests.
- ♦ 2 nominated members: one recommended by the central organisation of employers and one recommended by the central organisation of workers.

Major functions

To settle unresolved disputes of interest and register collective agreements and awards.

INDUSTRIAL COURT

3 members:

- ◆ Judge (a barrister and solicitor with at least 7 years standing in the Supreme Court)
- ◆ 2 nominated members (the same nominated members as on the Commission).

Major functions

To act as the ultimate arbiter in unresolved disputes of rights, demarcation disputes and certain matters of enforcement.

Adapted from Australian and New Zealand Banking Group, ANZ Quarterly Survey, July 1974.