

#### **ANALYSIS**

Title
1. Short Title
2. Tax areas
3. New Seventh Schedule substituted
Schedule
1987, No. 149

# An Act to amend the Local Government Act 1974

[10 July 1987

BE IT ENACTED by the Parliament of New Zealand as follows:

- 1. Short Title—This Act may be cited as the Local Government Amendment Act 1987, and shall be read together with and deemed part of the Local Government Act 1974 (hereinafter referred to as the principal Act).
- 2. Tax areas—(1) Section 183 of the principal Act (as enacted by section 2 of the Local Government Amendment Act (No. 3) 1977) is hereby amended by repealing subsections (3) and (4).
- (2) The Local Government Amendment Act 1979 is hereby amended by repealing so much of the Second Schedule as relates to section 183 of the principal Act.
- **3. New Seventh Schedule substituted**—(1) The principal Act is hereby amended by repealing the Seventh Schedule (as enacted by section 7 (1) (b) of the Local Government Amendment Act (No. 3) 1977), and substituting the Seventh Schedule set out in the Schedule to this Act.
  - (2) The following enactments are hereby repealed:
  - (a) So much of Part I of the Second Schedule to the Local Government Amendment Act (No. 2) 1982 as relates to the Seventh Schedule to the principal Act:
  - (b) Section 20 of the Local Government Amendment Act 1983.

Section 3

## **SCHEDULE**

## NEW SEVENTH SCHEDULE TO PRINCIPAL ACT

Sections 181, 183

## "SEVENTH SCHEDULE

## TAX AREAS AND COMPONENT DISTRICTS

"TAX AREA	COMPONENT DISTRICTS ("(D)" INDICATES THE DISTRIBUTION AUTHORITY)
1. Waikato-Coromandel	Hamilton City (D) Great Barrier Island County Thames-Coromandel District Ohinemuri County Hauraki Plains County Paeroa Borough Waihi Borough Waihi Borough Waipa County Te Awamutu Borough Cambridge Borough Matamata County Piako County Tokoroa Borough Morrinsville Borough Matamata Borough Putaruru Borough Putaruru Borough Raglan County Waikato County Huntly Borough Ngaruawahia Borough Waikato United Council
2. Bay of Plenty	Rotorua District (D) Mt. Maunganui Borough Te Puke Borough Tauranga City Tauranga County Whakatane District Kawerau Borough Murupara Borough Taupo County Taupo Borough Opotiki District Bay of Plenty United Council Tongariro United Council East Cape United Council
3. King Country	Otorohanga District (D) Waitomo District Taumarunui County Taumarunui Borough Waikato United Council Tongariro United Council

## SCHEDULE—continued

## NEW SEVENTH SCHEDULE TO PRINCIPAL ACT—continued.

"TAX AREA	COMPONENT DISTRICTS
	("(D)" INDICATES THE DISTRIBUTION AUTHORITY)
4. Taranaki	New Plymouth City (D) Hawera District Waimate West County Egmont County Stratford County Eltham District Stratford Borough Manaia Town District Clifton County Inglewood District North Taranaki District Wanganui United Council Taranaki United Council
5. Wanganui	Wanganui City (D) Patea District Waitotara County Wanganui County Waimarino County Rangitikei County Ohakune Borough Raetihi Borough Taihape Borough Marton Borough Wanganui United Council
6. Manawatu	Palmerston North City (D) Horowhenua County Levin Borough Otaki Borough Kiwitea County Pohangina County Oroua County Feilding Borough Manawatu County Kairanga County Foxton Borough Horowhenua United Council Manawatu United Council
7. East Coast	Gisborne City (D) Waiapu County Waikohu County Cook County Wairoa District East Cape United Council Hawke's Bay United Council

## SCHEDULE—continued

## NEW SEVENTH SCHEDULE TO PRINCIPAL ACT-continued

NEW SEVENTH SCREDULE TO PRINCIPAL ACT—continued		
"TAX AREA	COMPONENT DISTRICTS ("(D)" INDICATES THE DISTRIBUTION AUTHORITY)	
8. Hawke's Bay	Napier City (D) Dannevirke District Woodville District Waipawa District Waipukurau District Hawke's Bay County Hastings City Havelock North Borough Hawke's Bay United Council Manawatu United Council	
9. Wairarapa	Masterton Borough (D) Pahiatua County Pahiatua Borough Eketahuna County Masterton County Wairarapa South County Carterton Borough Featherston County Greytown Borough Featherston Borough Martinborough Borough Wairarapa United Council Manawatu United Council	
10. Wellington-Hutt Valley	Wellington City (D) Hutt County Porirua City Tawa Borough Lower Hutt City Upper Hutt City Petone Borough Eastbourne Borough Kapiti Borough Wellington Regional Council Horowhenua United Council	
11. North Canterbury	Rangiora District (D) Amuri County Cheviot County Hurunui County Eyre County Oxford County Kaiapoi Borough Canterbury United Council	
12. Christchurch	Christchurch City (D) Waimairi District	

## SCHEDULE—continued

## NEW SEVENTH SCHEDULE TO PRINCIPAL ACT-continued

"TAX AREA	COMPONENT DISTRICTS ("(D)" INDICATES THE DISTRIBUTION AUTHORITY)
12. Christchurch—continued	Riccarton Borough Lyttelton Borough Paparua County Heathcote County Malvern County Ellesmere County Wairewa County Mt. Herbert County Akaroa County Canterbury United Council
13. Coastal Otago	Dunedin City (D) Waitaki County Oamaru Borough Silverpeaks County Waihemo County Port Chalmers Borough St. Kilda Borough Green Island Borough Mosgiel Borough Bruce District Clutha County Balclutha Borough Coastal-North Otago United Council Clutha-Central Otago United Council
14. Central Otago	Vincent County (D) Maniototo County Naseby Borough Tuapeka County Tapanui Borough Lawrence Borough Roxburgh Borough Cromwell Borough Alexandra Borough Queenstown-Lakes District Arrowtown Borough Clutha-Central Otago United Council"

This Act is administered in the Department of Internal Affairs.