New Zealand.



ANALYSIS.

Title. 1. Short Title.

2. Makara County constituted.

3. Makara Road District abolished.

4. Jurisdiction of Makara County Council. Schedules.

1907, No. 28.—Local.

AN ACT to constitute the Makara County. Title. [23rd November, 1907.

BE IT ENACTED by the General Assembly of New Zealand in Parliament assembled, and by the authority of the same, as follows :-

1. This Act may be cited as the Makara County Act, 1907.

2. (1.) The Makara County is hereby constituted, comprising Makara County that portion of the Hutt County particularly described in the First Schedule hereto, which at the date of the passing of this Act comprised the Makara and Porirua Ridings of the Hutt County.

(2.) The boundaries of the Hutt County as hereby altered are described in the Second Schedule hereto.

3. The Makara Road District is hereby abolished, and shall be Makara Road deemed to be merged in the Makara County constituted by this District abolished. Act; and the provisions of section fifty-seven of the Counties Act, 1886, shall be deemed to apply on the date of the coming into operation of this Act as if the said road district had merged into the said Makara County under the provisions of the Counties Act, 1886.

4. From and after the coming into operation of this Act no Jurisdiction of local authority other than the Makara County Council shall, within Makara County Council. the limits of the said county, exercise any jurisdiction or authority over any roads or over or in relation to any matter or thing in respect of which jurisdiction is conferred upon a County Council under any Act:

Provided that nothing herein shall affect the power of the Governor to proclaim any portion of the said county a borough or town district.

Short Title.

constituted.

Schedules.

SCHEDULES.

FIRST SCHEDULE.

BOUNDARIES OF THE MAKARA COUNTY.

ALL that area in the Wellington Land District bounded as follows: commencing at a point on the eastern shore of Porirua Harbour, being the north-western corner of Section 99, Block VIII, Paikakariki Survey District; thence towards the east and south generally by the north-eastern boundary of that section, by sections numbered 30, 31, 33, and 35 of Block II, Belmont Survey District, by Sections 37, 39, 352, 349, 347, 346, 345, and 343 of Block III, Paikakariki Survey District, by Sections 340 and 339 of Block II, Belmont Survey District, and by Sections 331, 330, 329, 322, 321, 422, 423, 7, 5, 4, 6, 3, 39, and 34 of Block VIII, Belmont Survey District; thence by the western boundary of the Borough of Petone to Port Nicholson Harbour; thence by the said harbour to the eastern corner of Section 6, Block XI, Belmont Survey District; thence generally by the Borough of Onslow, the Johnsonville Town District, and again by the Borough of Onslow, by the City of Wellington, the Borough of Karori to the north-eastern corner of Section 70, Block X, Port Nicholson Survey District; thence towards the east by Sections 19, 21, 22, 24, and 25, Block X aforesaid, and Section 27, Block XIII, to the sea; and thence towards the south-east, south, north-west, and north-east by the sea and the Porirua Harbour aforesaid to the point of commencement : and being the whole of the area heretofore included within the boundaries of the Porirua and Makara Ridings of the Hutt County.

SECOND SCHEDULE.

BOUNDARIES OF THE HUTT COUNTY.

ALL that area in the Wellington Land District bounded towards the north by Horowhenua County from the mouth of the Waikanae River to the summit of the Tararua Range; thence towards the east generally by a line along the summit of the Tararua and Rimutaka Ranges to Cape Turakirae; thence towards the south-west generally by the sea and Port Nicholson to the south-western corner of the Borough of Petone; thence towards the west generally by the Makara County hereinbefore described to Porirua Harbour; and thence by Porirua Harbour and the sea to the place of commencement: excluding the Boroughs of Lower Hutt, Petone, and Eastbourne.

> WELLINGTON: Printed under authority of the New Zealand Government, by JOHN MACKAY, Government Printer.—1907.