[As reported from the Local Bills Committee.] House of Representatives, 21st September, 1910.

Mr. Jennings.

KAITIEKE COUNTY.

[Local Bill.]

ANALYSIS.

Title. 1. Short Title.

2. Ant a special Act.

3. Kaiticke County constituted.

4. Road districts merged.

5. Jurisdiction of Kaitieke County Council. Schedules.

A BILL INTITULED

An Acr to constitute the Kaitieke County.

Title.

BE IT ENACTED by the General Assembly of New Zealand in Parliament assembled, and by the authority of the same, as follows:—

1. This Act may be cited as the Kaitieke County Act, 1910. Struck out.

Short Title.

2. This Act shall be deemed to be a special Act within the meaning of the Counties Act, 1908.

Act a special Act.

3. (1.) The Kaitieke County is hereby constituted, comprising those portions of the Waimarino and West Taupo Counties particularly described in the First Schedule hereto.

Kaiteike County

(2.) The boundaries of the Waimarino and West Taupo Counties as hereby altered are described in the Second Schedule hereto. 15

New subclause.

(3.) The Counties Act, 1908, shall be in operation over the whole of the Kaitieke County.

Struck out.

4. All road districts within the area described in the First Schedule hereto shall be deemed to be merged in the Kaiteike County, and the provisions of section thirty-six of the Counties Act, 1908, shall apply accordingly.

Road districts merged.

5. From and after the coming into operation of this Act no local authority other than the Kaitieke County Council shall, within the limits of the Kaitieke County, exercise any jurisdiction or authority over any roads or over or in relation to any matter or thing in respect of which jurisdiction is conferred upon a County Council under any Act.

Jurisdiction of Kaiteike County

New proviso. 30 Provided that nothing herein shall affect the power of the Governor to proclaim any portion of the said county a borough or town district.

New clause.

6. No greater amount of subsidy shall be paid to the Kaitieke Provision as to County Council in any year than would have been payable in respect of the rates collected within the area described in the First Schedule hereto if this Act had not been passed.

No. 85—2.

Schedules.

SCHEDULES.

FIRST SCHEDULE.

THE NEW COUNTY OF KAITIEKE, BEING PARTS OF THE COUNTIES OF WEST TAUPO AND WAIMARINO.

ALL that area in the Wellington Land District, bounded on towards the north and west by the Wanganui River from a point where the dividing-line between West Taupo and East Taupo Counties strikes intersects the said river to the Manganui-a-te-ao River; thence on towards the south by the said Manganui-a-te-ao River to the Ngahuinga Stream; thence by the said Ngahuinga Stream to its source; thence by a right line to Te Kahutu trig, point station; thence by the south boundary of Ruapehu No.-IB-Block a right line to Pare-te-taitonga trig, point on station; thence towards the west east by the eastern western boundary of East Taupo County to the place of commencement as described in the New Zoaland Government Gazette of

Struck out.

in the year , on page , being a straight line Pare-te-taitonga to Ngauruhoe; thence by a straight line to Tongariro; thence by the dividing-line of East Taupo and West Taupo Counties to the starting-point on Wanganui River.

SECOND SCHEDULE.

Struck out.

Waimarino County.

ALL that area in the Wellington Land District, bounded on the north by the southern boundary of Kaiteike County as described by the First Schedule hereto as being from Pare-te-taitonga to Te Kahutu trig.; thence by Ngahuinga and Manganui-a-te-ao Streams to Wanganui River; thence by Wanganui River to Paparoa Stream; thence by northern boundary of Wanganui County as described in the New Zealand Government Gazette of , in the year , on page , to Auahitotara; on the east by western boundary of Rangitikei County as described in New Zealand Government Gazette, of 1904, page 2113, to trig. point No. XXVIII; again on the north by southern boundary of East Taupo County to Ruapehu; thence by a straight line to Pare-te-taitonga, the point of commencement.

WEST TAUPO COUNTY,

Bounded on the east by East Taupo County, on the north-east by Matamata County, on the north-west by Waipa County, on the west by Waitomo County and Ohura County to its intersection with Wanganui River, on the south by Wanganui River as north boundary of Kaiteike County as hereto described in the First Schedule.

New Schedule.

WAIMARINO COUNTY.

ALL that area in the Wellington Land District, bounded towards the north generally by Kaitieke County as described in the First Schedule hereto, and by East Taupo County; towards the east by Rangitikei County; towards the south generally by Wanganui County; and towards the west generally by Waitotara County, excluding the Ohakune Town District.

WEST TAUPO COUNTY.

All that area in the Auckland and Wellington Land Districts, bounded towards the north generally by Waipa County; towards the north-east by Mathinata County; towards the south-east by East Tauro County; towards the south-west by Kaitieke County as described in the First Schedule hereto; and towards the west generally by Ohura and Waitomo Counties.

By Authority: JOHN MACKAY, Government Printer, Wellington.-1910.