# [AS REPORTED FROM THE LOCAL BILLS COMMITTEE.]

House of Representatives, 21st September, 1910. House of Representatives, 16th November, 1910.

Mr. Jennings.

## KAITIEKE COUNTY.

# [Local Bill.]

### ANALYSIS.

Title.

15

1. Short Title.

2. Act a special Act.

3. Kaitieke County constituted.

Road districts merged.

5. Jurisdiction of Kaitieke County Council.

Schedules.

## A BILL INTITULED

An Acr to constitute the Kaitieke County.

Title.

BE IT ENACTED by the General Assembly of New Zealand in Parliament assembled, and by the authority of the same, as follows:—

1. This Act may be cited as the Kaitieke County Act, 1910. Struck out.

Short Title.

2. This Act shall be deemed to be a special Act within the meaning of the Counties Act, 1908.

Act a special Act.

Kaitieke County

constituted.

3. (1.) The Kaitieke County is hereby constituted, comprising those portions of the Waimarino and West Taupo Counties particu-

larly described in the First Schedule hereto. (2.) The boundaries of the Waimarino and West Taupo Counties

as hereby altered are described in the Second Schedule hereto.

New subclause.

(3.) The Counties Act, 1908, shall be in operation over the whole of the Kaitieke County.

Struck out.

4. All road districts within the area described in the First Schedule hereto shall be deemed to be merged in the Kaitieke County, and the provisions of section thirty-six of the Counties Act, 1908, shall apply accordingly.

Road districts merged.

5. From and after the coming into operation of this Act no local authority other than the Kaitieke County Council shall, within 25 the limits of the Kaitieke County, exercise any jurisdiction or authority over any roads or over or in relation to any matter or thing in respect of which jurisdiction is conferred upon a County Council under any Act:

Jurisdiction of Kaitieke County

New proviso. Provided that nothing herein shall affect the power of the 30

Governor to proclaim any portion of the said county a borough or town district.

New clause.

6. No greater amount of subsidy shall be paid to the Kaitieke Provision as to 35 County Council in any year than would have been payable in respect of the rates collected within the area described in the First Schedule hereto if this Act had not been passed.

Schedules.

## SCHEDULES.

#### FIRST SCHEDULE.

## Struck out.

THE NEW COUNTY OF KAITIEKE, BEING PARTS OF THE COUNTIES OF WEST TAUPO AND WAIMARINO.

ALL that area in the Wellington Land District, bounded en towards the north and west by the Wanganui River from a point where the dividing-line between West Taupo and East Taupo Counties strikes intersects the said river to the Manganui-a-te-ao River; thence en towards the south by the said Manganui-a-te-ao River to the Ngahuinga Stream; thence by the said Ngahuinga Stream to its source; thence by a right line to Te Kahutu trig, point station; thence by the south boundary of Ruspohn No. 1B-Block a right line to Pare-te-taitonga trig, point on station; thence towards the west east by the eastern western boundary of East Taupo County to the place of commencement as described in the New Zealand Government Gazette of in the year , on page , being a straight line Pare-te-taitonga to

in the year , on page , being a straight line Pare-te-taitonga to Ngauruhoe; thence by a straight line to Tongariro; thence by the dividing-line of East Taupo and West Taupo Counties to the starting-point on Wanganui River.

# New.

#### KAITIEKE COUNTY.

ALL that area in the Wellington Land District, bounded towards the north-west and north-east generally by the Wanganui River from the northern boundary-line of Whirinaki Survey District to the point where the boundary-line between West Taupo and East Taupo Counties intersects the said Wanganui River; thence towards the south-east by East Taupo County to Pare-te-taitonga Trig. Station; thence towards the south generally by a right line to Te Kahatu Trig. Station; thence by a right line to the source of the Ngahuinga Stream; thence by that stream to the eastern boundary-line of Section No. 13, Block VIII, Manganui Survey District; thence by a right line running due south to the middle of the road forming the southern boundary of the said Section No. 13; thence by a line along the middle of that road to the road forming the western boundary of Section No. 15, Block VIII, aforesaid; thence by a line along the middle of the last-mentioned road to the Manganui-a-te-ao River; thence by that river to a point in line with the boundary-line between Sections Nos. 12 and 13, Block VII, Manganui Survey District; thence by a right line to and by the said boundary-line and its production to the middle of the road forming the north-western boundary of the said Section No. 12; thence by a line along the middle of that road to Eherua Road; thence by a line along the middle of Eherua Road, Ruatiti-Erua Road, and Mangaroa Road to the northernmost corner of Section No. 3, Block IV, Whirinaki Survey District; thence by the last-mentioned section and the northern boundaries of Blocks IV, III, II, and I, Whirinaki Survey District, to the Wanganui River, the place of commencement.

## SECOND SCHEDULE.

## Struck out.

#### WAIMARINO COUNTY.

ALL that area in the Wellington Land District, bounded on the north by the southern boundary of Kaiteike County as described by the First Schedule hereto as being from Pare-te-taitonga to Te Kahutu trig.; thence by Ngahuinga and Manganui-a-te-ao Streams to Wanganui River; thence by Wanganui River to Paparoa Stream; thence by northern boundary of Wanganui County as described in the New Zealand Government Gazette of , in the year , on page , to Auahitotara; on the east by western boundary of Rangitikei County as described in New Zealand Government Gazette, of 1904, page 2113, to trig. point No. XXVIII; again on the north by southern boundary of East Taupo County to Ruapehu; thence by a straight line to Pare-te-taitonga, the point of commencement.

## WEST TAUPO COUNTY.

Bounded on the east by East Taupo County, on the north-east by Matamata County, on the north-west by Waipa County, on the west by Waitomo County and Ohura County to its intersection with Wanganui River, on the south by Wanganui River as north boundary of Kaiteike County as hereto described in the *First* Schedule.

## New Schedule.

#### WAIMARINO COUNTY.

ALL that area in the Wellington Land District, bounded towards the north generally by Kaitieke County as described in the *First* Schedule hereto, and by East Taupo County; towards the east by Rangitikei County; towards the south generally by Wanganui County; and towards the west generally by Waitotara County and Whangamomona County, excluding the Ohakune Town District.

#### WEST TAUPO COUNTY.

All that area in the Auckland and Wellington Land Districts, bounded towards the north generally by Waipa County; towards the north-east by Matamata County; towards the south-east by East Taupo County; towards the south-west by Kaitieke County as described in the *First* Schedule hereto; and towards the west generally by Ohura and Waitomo Counties.

By Authority: John Mackay, Government Printer, Wellington.-1910.