[As REPORTED FROM THE LOCAL BILLS COMMITTEE.] House of Representatives, 15th November. 1907.

Mr. Field.

MAKARA COUNTY.

[LOCAL BILL.]

ANALYSIS.

Title. 1. Short Title. 2. Makara County constituted. Makara Road District abolished.
Jurisdiction of Makara County Counci¹. Schedule.

A BILL INTITULED

AN ACT to constitute the Makara County.

BE IT ENACTED by the General Assembly of New Zealand in Parliament assembled, and by the authority of the same, as 5 follows :—

1. This Act may be cited as the Makara County Act, 1907.

2. (1.) The Makara County is hereby constituted, and shall compriseing that portion of the Hutt County particularly described in the *First* Schedule hereto, which at the date of the passing of this Act

10 comprised the Makara Road District and also portion of the and Porirua Ridings of the Hutt County.

(2.) The boundaries of the Hutt County are as hereby altered accordingly are described in the Second Schedule hereto.

- 3. (4.) The Makara Road District is hereby abolished, and shall 15 be deemed to be merged in the Makara County constituted by this Act; and the provisions of section fifty-seven of the Counties Act, 1886, shall be deemed to apply on the date of the coming into operation of this Act as if the said road district had merged into the said Makara County under the provisions of the Counties Act, 1886.
- 20

Struck out.

(2.) The remaining portion of the Porirua Riding of the Hutt County not comprised in the Schedule hereto shall after the passing of this Act form the Porirua Riding of the Hutt County.

- 4. From and after the coming into operation of this Act, and 25 during the existence of the county hereby constituted, no local body or authority other than the Makara County Council shall, within the limits of the said county, exercise any jurisdiction or authority over any roads or over or in relation to any matter or thing in respect of which jurisdiction is conferred upon a County Council under the 30 provisions of the Counties Act, 1886, or any amendment thereof, or other
- wise. any Act:

New proviso.

Provided that nothing herein shall affect the power of the Governor to proclaim any portion of the said county a borough or 35 town district.

No. 77—2.

Title.

Short Title. Makara County constituted.

Makara Road District abolished.

Jurisdiction of Makara County Council. Schedule.

SCHEDULES. Struck out.

ALL that area in the Port Nicholson and Belmont Survey Districts of the Wellington Land District, commencing at a point on the shore of Cook Strait, being the most northern corner of Section 45, Ohariu District, Block V, Belmont Survey District thence towards the north-east and north-west by Section 41 of said Block V; thence towards the north-east by Section 40 of said Block V; thence towards the southeast to the south-west corner of the Porirua Mental Hospital property, by Section 123 of said Block V; thence towards the north-east generally by the said Section 123, being the said Mental Hospital property, in lines 1371 5 links bearing 117' 50" 1404 7 links bearing 155' 51'', and 1284 6 links bearing 99' 36''; thence towards the east and north by Section 124 of said Block V; thence towards the east by Section 47 of said Block V and by Sections 45 and 43 of Block VI, Belmont Survey District, to the north-east corner of Section 119 of said Block VI; thence towards the south, south-east, and north-east by said Section 119; thence towards the southeast by said Section 119 and Section 118 of said Block VI; thence towards the north-east by said Section 118; thence towards the south-east by said Section 118 and Section 117 of said Block VI; thence towards the north-east by said Section 117; thence towards the south east by said Section 117 and by Sections 116, 115, and 114 of said Block VI; thence towards the north-east by said Section 114 thence towards the east by Sections 22, 20, and 18 of said Block VI, and by Section 16 of Block VI, Belmont Survey District, to the Ohariu Valley Road; thence towards the south generally by the said Ohariu Valley Road to Section 17 of said Block VI; thence towards the south-east and east by the Johnsonville Town District to a public road; thence towards the south by the said public road to the northwestern corner of the Onslow Borough; thence generally towards the south-east, south, and east by the Onslow and Karori Borough and Wellington City to Cook Strait; and thence towards the south-west and north-west generally by Cock Strait to the point of commencement.

New.

FIRST SCHEDULE.

BOUNDARIES OF THE MAKARA COUNTY.

ALL that area in the Wellington Land District bounded as follows: Commencing at a point on the eastern shore of Porirua Harbour, being the north-western corner of Section 99, Block VIII, Paikakariki Survey District; thence towards the east and south generally by the north-eastern boundary of that section, by sections numbered 30, 31, 33, and 35 of Block II, Belmont Survey District, by Sections 37, 39, 352, 349, 347, 346, 345, and 343 of Block III, Paikakariki Survey District, by Sections 37, 39, 352, 349, 347, 346, 345, and 343 of Block III, Paikakariki Survey District, by Sections 340 and 359 of Block II, Belmont Survey District, and by Sections 331, 330, 329, 322, 321, 422, 423, 7, 5, 4, 6, 3, 39, and 34 of Block VIII, Belmont Survey District; thence by the western boundary of the Borough of Petone to Port Nicholson Harbour; thence by the said harbour to the eastern corner of Section 6, Block XI, Belmont Survey District; thence generally by the Borough of Onslow, the Johnsonville Town District, and again by the Borough of Onslow, by the City of Wellington, the Borough of Karori to the north-eastern corner of Section 70, Block X, Port Nicholson Survey District; thence towards the east by Sections 19, 21, 22, 24, and 25, Block X aforesaid, and Section 27, Block XIII, to the sea; and thence towards the south-east, south, north-west, and north-east by the sea and the Porirua Harbour aforesaid to the point of commencement: and being the whole of the area heretofore included within the boundaries of the Porirua and Makara Ridings of the Hutt County.

SECOND SCHEDULE.

BOUNDARIES OF THE HUTT COUNTY.

ALL that area in the Wellington Land District bounded towards the north by Horowhenua County from the mouth of the Waikanae River to the summit of the Tararua Range; thence towards the east generally by a line along the summit of the Tararua and Rimutaka Ranges to Cape Turakirae; thence towards the south-west generally by the sea and Port Nicholson to the south-western corner of the Borough of Petone; thence towards the west generally by the Makara County hereinbefore described to Porirua Harbour; and thence by Porirua Harbour and the sea to the place of commencement: excluding the Boroughs of Lower Hutt, Petone, and Eastbourne.

By Authority : JOHN MACHAY, Government Printer, Wellington .- 1907.