[As reported from the Local Bills Committee.]

House of Representatives, 1st September, 1908.

Mr. Greenslade.

MATAMATA COUNTY.

[LOCAL BILL.]

ANALYSIS.

Title.

25

- 1. Short Title. 2. Constitution of Matamata County.
- 3. Boundaries of Piako County.
- 4. Boundaries of West Taupo County.
- 5. Counties Act, 1908, to be in force in Matamata County
- 6. Jurisdiction of Matamata County Council. Schedules.

A BILL INTITULED

An Acr to constitute the Matamata County.

Title.

BE IT ENACTED by the General Assembly of New Zealand in Parliament assembled, and by the authority of the same, as 5 follows:

1. This Act may be cited as the Matamata County Act, 1908.

Short Title.

2. The Matamata County is hereby constituted, and shall comprise all those parts of the Piako County and West Taupo County described in the *First* Schedule hereto.

Constitution of Matamata County.

10 3. The boundaries of the Piako County as altered by this Act shall be as described in the Second Schedule hereto.

Boundaries of Piako County.

4. The boundaries of the West Taupo County as altered by this Boundaries of Act shall be as described in the *Third* Schedule hereto.

West Taupo County.

New clauses.

5. The Counties Act, 1908, shall be in force in the Matamata County.

Counties Act, 1908, to be in force in Matamata County.

6. From and after the coming into operation of this Act no local authority other than the Matamata County Council shall, within the limits of the said county, exercise any jurisdiction or authority over any roads, or over or in relation to any matter or thing, in respect of which jurisdiction is conferred upon a County Council under the provisions of the Counties Act, 1908, or otherwise:

Jurisdiction of Matamata County.

Provided that nothing herein shall affect the power of the Governor to proclaim any portion of the said county a borough or town district.

SCHEDULES.

Schedules.

FIRST SCHEDULE.

Boundaries of the Matamata County.

ALL that area in the Auckland Land District, bounded commencing at the easternmost point of the Pourewa Block at the Waitoa River; towards the north-east generally by a right line to the northernmost point of the Turanga o Moana

No. 78—2.

4.6

Block on the Waihou River, by that river and the Wairere Stream to the north-western boundary-line of Okauia No. 14 Block, by that boundary-line and the north-eastern boundary-line of the same block to Trig. Station 909 (Waianuanu), thence by a right line to Trig. Station 27 (Puwhenua); towards the south-east by a right line to Trig. Station 807 (Uraura); towards the south-west by a right line to Trig. Station 1427 (Maungatautari), thence by a right line to the eastern corner of Pukekura No. 15 Block; towards the west generally by the last-mentioned block and Pukekura Nos. 17 and 18 Blocks to Trig. Station 52 (Pukekura), and by the north-western boundary-lines of Pukekura Nos. 6, 5, 4, 3, 2, and 1 Blocks and that line produced across the Waikato River; again towards the south-west generally by the Waikato River aforesaid to the eastern boundary of the Borough of Cambridge; again towards the west by the aforesaid Borough to the Karapiro Stream; again towards the north-east, north-west, and south-west generally by the Waikato County as defined in Gazette No. 111, 1882, to the southernmost corner of Maunganui Block; again towards the north-west by the Maunganui Block aforesaid, the Mungakawa, Tawhakapuoro, and Te Pae o tu Rawaru Blocks; and again towards the west generally by the Mangapapa and Waitoa Rivers to the point of commencement.

SECOND SCHEDULE.

BOUNDARIES OF THE PIAKO COUNTY.

ALL that area in the Auckland Land District, bounded towards the north by the Ohinemuri County, towards the north-east generally by the Tauranga County to the northernmost angle of Okauia No. 1A Block; towards the south-west, east, and southeast generally by the Matamata County hereinbefore defined; and towards the southwest generally by the Waikato County: save and except from the hereinbefore-described area the Borough of Te Aroha and the Town District of Morrinsville.

THIRD SCHEDULE.

BOUNDARIES OF THE WEST TAUPO COUNTY.

ALL that area in the Auckland and Wellington Land Districts, bounded towards the north-east generally by the Matamata County hereinbefore defined; towards the south-east generally by the East Taupo County, Lake Taupo, and again by the East Taupo County aforesaid; towards the south-west generally by the Waimarino County; towards the west, north, and again towards the south-west by the Waitomo County; and against towards the north-east and north-west generally by the Waipa County.

By Authority: JOHN MACKAY, Government Printer, Wellington.-1908.