

THE PATENTS, DESIGNS, AND TRADE MARKS CONVENTION **ORDER 1985**

DAVID BEATTIE, Governor-General

ORDER IN COUNCIL

At the Government House at Wellington this 4th day of November 1985

Present:

HIS EXCELLENCY THE GOVERNOR-GENERAL IN COUNCIL

PURSUANT to section 77 of the Patents Act 1953, section 20 of the Designs Act 1953, and section 72 of the Trade Marks Act 1953, His Excellency the Governor General, acting by and with the advice and consent of the Executive Council, and, in relation to Niue, at and with the request and consent of the Cabinet of Ministers of Niue, hereby makes the following order.

ORDER

- 1. Title—This order may be cited as the Patents, Designs, and Trade Marks Convention Order 1985.
- 2. Declaration of convention countries for all purposes of the Acts— Each of the countries named in the Schedule to this order is hereby declared to be a convention country for the purposes of all of the provisions of the Patents Act 1953, the Designs Act 1953, and the Trade Marks Act 1953.
- 3. India and Pakistan—India and Pakistan are hereby declared to be convention countries for the purposes of—

 (a) All of the provisions of the Patents Act 1953, except section 79; and

 - (b) All of the provisions of the Designs Act 1953.

- 4. Ecuador, Guatemala, and Costa Rica—Ecuador, Guatemala, and Costa Rica are hereby declared to be convention countries for the purposes of all of the provisions of the Designs Act 1953 and of the Trade Marks Act 1953.
- 5. Application of order to Niue and Tokelau—This order shall be in force in Niue and Tokelau.
- 6. Revocation—The Patents, Designs, and Trade Marks Convention Order 1983* is hereby revoked.

°S.R. 1983/35

Clause 2

SCHEDULE

CONVENTION COUNTRIES FOR ALL PURPOSES OF THE ACTS

Algeria.

Argentina.

Australia (and Norfolk Island).

Austria.

Bahamas.

Barbados.

Belgium.

Benin.

Brazil.

Bulgaria.

Burkina Faso.

Burundi.

Cameroon.

Canada.

Central African Republic.

Chad.

China.

Congo (Brazzaville).

Cuba.

Cyprus.

Czechoslovakia.

Denmark (and Faroe Islands).

Dominican Republic.

Egypt.

Finland.

France (including all Overseas Departments and Territories).

German Democratic Republic.

Germany, Federal Republic of (and Land Berlin).

Ghana.

Greece.

Guinea.

SCHEDULE—continued

Haiti.

Holy See (Vatican City).

Hungary.

Iceland.

Indonesia.

Iran.

Iraq.

Ireland.

Israel.

Italy.

Ivory Coast.

Japan. Jordan.

Kenya.

Korea, Democratic People's Republic of.

Korea, Republic of.

Lebanon.

Libya.

Liechtenstein.

Luxembourg.

Madagascar.

Malawi.

Mali.

Malta.

Mauritania.

Mauritius.

Mexico.

Monaco.

Mongolia.

Morocco.

Netherlands (and Netherlands Antilles).

Niger.

Nigeria.

Norway.

Philippines.

Poland.

Portugal (including the Azores and Madeira).

Romania.

Rwanda.

San Marino.

Senegal.

South Africa.

Spain (and colonies).

SCHEDULE—continued

Sri Lanka. Sudan. Suriname. Sweden. Switzerland.

Syrian Arab Republic.

Tanzania. Togo. Trinidad and Tobago. Tunisia. Turkey.

Uganda.

Union of Soviet Socialist Republics.

United Kingdom (and Hong Kong and the Isle of Man).

United States of America (and all territories and possessions of the United States, including Puerto Rico).

Uruguay.

Viet Nam.

Yugoslavia.

Zaire. Zambia.

Zimbabwe.

C. J. HILL, for Clerk of the Executive Council.

EXPLANATORY NOTE

This note is not part of the order, but is intended to indicate its general effect.

This order declares the countries which are to be convention countries for the purposes of the Patents Act 1953, the Designs Act 1953, and the Trade Marks Act 1953. It brings up to date and replaces the list presently set out in the Patents, Designs, and Trade Marks Convention Order 1983.

The countries named in the Schedule to the order are declared to be convention countries by reason of their membership of the Paris Union, which was established by the Paris Convention for the Protection of Industrial Property of 20 March 1883. Those countries have adhered to the Hague, London, Lisbon, or Stockholm revisions of the Convention, and are convention countries for all of the purposes of the 3 Acts.

India and Pakistan are convention countries for the purposes specified in clause 3 of the order pursuant to arrangements made with India in 1921.

Ecuador, Guatemala, and Costa Rica are convention countries for the purposes specified in clause 4 of the order pursuant to treaties made with the United Kingdom, being treaties to which New Zealand acceded.

Barbados, China, Mali, Mongolia, Rwanda, and Sudan are included in the list of convention countries for the first time. The name "Burkina Faso" is substituted for "Upper Volta", and "Viet Nam" for "Vietnam". The reference to the United Kingdom (and Hong Kong) is amended by including the Isle of Man.

Issued under the authority of the Regulations Act 1936. Date of notification in Gazette: 7 November 1985. This order is administered in the Department of Justice.