

THE PATENTS, DESIGNS, AND TRADE MARKS CONVENTION ORDER 1994

CATHERINE A. TIZARD, Governor-General

ORDER IN COUNCIL

At Wellington this 21st day of November 1994

Present:

HER EXCELLENCY THE GOVERNOR-GENERAL IN COUNCIL

PURSUANT to section 77 of the Patents Act 1953, section 20 of the Designs Act 1953, and section 72 of the Trade Marks Act 1953, Her Excellency the Governor-General, acting by and with the advice and consent of the Executive Council, and, in relation to Niue, at and with the request and consent of the Cabinet of Ministers of Niue, hereby makes the following order.

ORDER

- 1. Title and commencement—(1) This order may be cited as the Patents, Designs, and Trade Marks Convention Order 1994.
- (2) This order shall come into force on the 28th day after the date of its notification in the *Gazette*.
- 2. Declaration of convention countries for all purposes of the Acts—Each of the countries named in the Schedule to this order is hereby declared to be a convention country for the purposes of all of the provisions of the Patents Act 1953, the Designs Act 1953, and the Trade Marks Act 1953.

- **3. India and Pakistan**—India and Pakistan are hereby declared to be convention countries for the purposes of—
 - (a) All of the provisions of the Patents Act 1953, except section 79; and
 - (b) All of the provisions of the Designs Act 1953.
- **4. Ecuador, Guatemala, and Costa Rica**—Ecuador, Guatemala, and Costa Rica are hereby declared to be convention countries for the purposes of all of the provisions of the Designs Act 1953 and of the Trade Marks Act 1953.
- **5. Application of order to Niue and Tokelau**—This order shall be in force in Niue and Tokelau.
- **6. Revocation**—The Patents, Designs, and Trade Marks Convention Order 1993* is hereby revoked.

*S.R. 1993/237

Cl. 2

SCHEDULE

CONVENTION COUNTRIES FOR ALL PURPOSES OF THE ACTS

Algeria.

Argentina.

Australia (and Norfolk Island).

Austria.

Bahamas.

Bangladesh.

Barbados.

Belarus.

Belgium.

Benin.

Bolivia.

Bosnia and Herzegovina, Republic of.

Brazil.

Bulgaria.

Burkina Faso.

Burundi.

Cameroon.

Canada.

Central African Republic.

Chad.

Chile.

China.

Congo.

Côte d'Ivoire.

Croatia.

Cuba.

Cyprus.

Czech Republic.

Denmark (and Faroe Islands).

Dominican Republic. Egypt, Arab Republic of.

El Salvador.

Finland.

France (including all Overseas Departments and Territories).

Gabon.

Gambia.

Germany, Federal Republic of.

Ghana.

Greece.

Guinea.

Guinea-Bissau.

Haiti.

Holy See (Vatican City).

Honduras.

Hungary.

Iceland.

SCHEDULE—continued

CONVENTION COUNTRIES FOR ALL PURPOSES OF THE ACTS—continued

Indonesia.

Iran, Islamic Republic of.

Iraq.

Ireland.

Israel. Italy.

Japan.

Jordan.

Kazakhstan.

Kenya.

Korea, Democratic People's Republic of. Korea, Republic of.

Latvia.

Lebanon.

Lesotho.

Libyan Arab Jamahiriya.

Liechtenstein.

Luxembourg.

Macedonia, Former Yugoslav Republic of.

Madagascar.

Malawi.

Malaysia.

Mali. Malta.

Mauritania.

Mauritius.

Mexico.

Moldova.

Monaco.

Mongolia.

Morocco.

Netherlands (and Netherlands Antilles).

Niger.

Nigeria.

Norway.

Philippines.

Poland.

Portugal (including the Azores and Madeira).

Romania.

Russian Federation.

Rwanda.

San Marino.

Senegal.

Slovak Republic.

Slovenia.

SCHEDULE—continued

CONVENTION COUNTRIES FOR ALL PURPOSES OF THE ACTS—continued

South Africa.

Spain (and colonies).

Sri Lanka.

Sudan.

Suriname.

Swaziland.

Sweden.

Switzerland.

Syrian Arab Republic.

Tanzania, United Republic of.

Togo.

Trinidad and Tobago.

Tunisia.

Turkey.

Uganda.

Ukraine.

United Kingdom (and Hong Kong and the Isle of Man).

United States of America (and all territories and possessions of the United States, including Puerto Rico).

Uruguay.

Uzbekistan.

Viet Nam.

Zaire.

Zambia.

Zimbabwe.

MARIE SHROFF, Clerk of the Executive Council.

EXPLANATORY NOTE

This note is not part of the order, but is intended to indicate its general effect.

This order, which comes into force on the 28th day after the date of its notification in the *Gazette*, declares the countries which are to be convention countries for the purposes of the Patents Act 1953, the Designs Act 1953, and the Trade Marks Act 1953. It brings up to date and replaces the list presently set out in the Patents, Designs, and Trade Marks Convention Order 1993.

The countries named in the Schedule to the order are declared to be convention countries by reason of their membership of the Paris Union, which was established by the Paris Convention for the Protection of Industrial Property of 20 March 1883. Those countries have adhered to the Hague, London, Lisbon, or Stockholm revisions of the Convention, and are convention countries for all of the purposes of the 3 Acts.

convention countries for all of the purposes of the 3 Acts.

India and Pakistan are convention countries for the purposes specified in clause 3 of the order pursuant to arrangements made with India in 1921.

Ecuador, Guatemala, and Costa Rica are convention countries for the purposes specified in clause 4 of the order pursuant to treaties made with the United Kingdom, being treaties to which New Zealand acceded.

Included in the list of convention countries for the first time are Belarus, Bolivia, the Republic of Bosnia and Herzegovina, El Salvador, Honduras, Latvia, the Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Moldova, and Uzbekistan.

Issued under the authority of the Acts and Regulations Publication Act 1989. Date of notification in *Gazette:* 24 November 1994. This order is administered in the Ministry of Commerce.