1417 1999/274



PATENTS, DESIGNS, AND TRADE MARKS CONVENTION ORDER 1999

MICHAEL HARDIE BOYS, Governor-General

ORDER IN COUNCIL

At Wellington this 23rd day of August 1999

Present:

HIS EXCELLENCY THE GOVERNOR-GENERAL IN COUNCIL

PURSUANT to section 77 of the Patents Act 1953, section 20 of the Designs Act 1953, and section 72 of the Trade Marks Act 1953, His Excellency the Governor-General, acting by and with the advice and consent of the Executive Council, and, in relation to Niue, at and with the request and consent of the Cabinet Ministers of Niue, makes the following order.

ANALYSIS

4. Revocations

1. Title and commencement

- 2. Convention countries for all purposes of the Acts
- 3. Application of order to Niue and Tokelau

SCHEDULE Convention Countries

ORDER

1. Title and commencement—(1) This order may be cited as the Patents, Designs, and Trade Marks Convention Order 1999.

(2) This order comes into force on the 28th day after the date of its notification in the *Gazette*.

3. Application of order to Niue and Tokelau—This order is in force in Niue and Tokelau.

- 4. **Revocations**—The following orders are revoked:
- (a) The Patents, Designs, and Trade Marks Convention Order 1996 (S.R. 1996/280):
- (b) The Patents, Designs, and Trade Marks Convention Amendment Order 1997 (S.R. 1997/359).

SCHEDUL	E
---------	---

CONVENTION COUNTRIES

- Algeria Angola Antigua and Barbuda Argentina Armenia Australia (and Norfolk Island) Austria Azerbaijan Bahamas Bahrain Bangladesh Barbados
- Belarus
- Belgium
- Belize
- Benin
- Bolivia
- Bosnia and Herzegovina, Republic of
- Botswana
- Brazil
- Brunei Darussalam
- Bulgaria
- Burkina Faso
- Burundi
- Cambodia
- Cameroon

Cl. 2

Albania

1999/274

SCHEDULE—continued

CONVENTION COUNTRIES—continued

Canada Central African Republic Chad Chile China Colombia Congo Congo, Democratic Republic of Costa Rica Côte d'Ivoire Croatia Cuba Cyprus Czech Republic Denmark (and Faroe Islands) Djibouti Dominican Republic Egypt, Arab Republic of El Salvador Equador Equatorial Guinea Estonia Fiji Finland France (including all overseas departments and territories) Gabon Gambia Georgia Germany, Federal Republic of Ghana Greece Grenada Guatemala Guinea Guinea-Bissau Guyana Haiti Holy See (Vatican City) Honduras

SCHEDULE—continued

CONVENTION COUNTRIES—continued

Hong Kong
Hungary
Iceland
India
Indonesia
Iran, Islamic Republic of
Iraq
Ireland
Israel
Italy
Jamaica
Japan
Jordan
Kazakhstan
Kenya
Korea, Democratic People's Republic of
Korea, Republic of
Kuwait
Kyrgyz Republic
Laos
Latvia
Lebanon
Lesotho
Liberia
Libyan Arab Jamahiriya
Liechtenstein
Lithuania
Luxembourg
Macau
Macedonia, Former Yugoslav Republic of
Madagascar
Malawi
Malaysia
Maldives
Mali
Malta
Mauritania
Mauritius
Mexico

SCHEDULE—continued

CONVENTION COUNTRIES—continued

Moldova Monaco Mongolia Morocco Mozambique Myanmar Namibia Netherlands (and Netherlands Antilles) Nicaragua Niger Nigeria Norway Pakistan Panama Papua New Guinea Paraguay Peru Philippines Poland Portugal (including the Azores and Madeira) Qatar Romania **Russian Federation** Rwanda Saint Kitts and Nevis Saint Lucia Saint Vincent and the Grenadines San Marino Sao Tome and Principe Senegal Sierra Leone Singapore Slovak Republic Slovenia Solomon Islands South Africa Spain (and colonies) Sri Lanka Sudan

SCHEDULE—continued

CONVENTION COUNTRIES—continued

Suriname Swaziland Sweden Switzerland Syrian Arab Republic Tajikistan Tanzania, United Republic of Thailand Togo Trinidad and Tobago Tunisia Turkey Turkmenistan Uganda Ukraine United Arab Emirates United Kingdom (and the Isle of Man) United States of America (and all territories and possessions of the United States, including Puerto Rico) Uruguay Uzbekistan Venezuela Viet Nam Zambia Zimbabwe

> MARIE SHROFF, Clerk of the Executive Council.

EXPLANATORY NOTE

This note is not part of the order, but is intended to indicate its general effect.

This order, which comes into force on the 28th day after the date of its notification in the *Gazette*, specifies the countries that are convention countries for the purposes of the Patents Act 1953, the Designs Act 1953, and the Trade Marks Act 1953. It brings up to date and replaces the list in the Patents, Designs, and Trade Marks Convention Order 1996.

The changes made to the 1996 order are-

 Angola, Antigua and Barbuda, Bahrain, Belize, Botswana, Brunei Darussalam, Cambodia, Djibouti, India, Jamaica, Kuwait, Laos, Macau, Maldives, Myanmar, Namibia, Pakistan, Sao

[•] a reference to Kyrgyzstan is replaced with a reference to the Kyrgyz Republic

Tome and Principe, and Thailand are added to the list of countries that are convention countries for the purposes of all 3 Acts

• India and Pakistan are now convention countries for the purposes of all 3 Acts, rather than just the Patents Act 1953 (except section 79) and the Designs Act 1953.

Issued under the authority of the Acts and Regulations Publication Act 1989. Date of notification in *Gazette:* 26 August 1999. This order is administered in the Ministry of Commerce.