1971/185



# THE PORIRUA LICENSING TRUST ORDER 1955, AMENDMENT NO. 1

# ARTHUR PORRITT, Governor-General

ORDER IN COUNCIL

At the Government House at Wellington this 30th day of August 1971

#### Present:

HIS EXCELLENCY THE GOVERNOR-GENERAL IN COUNCIL

PURSUANT to section 4 of the Licensing Trusts Act 1949, as amended by section 2 of the Licensing Trusts Amendment Act 1955, His Excellency the Governor-General, acting by and with the advice and consent of the Executive Council, hereby makes the following order.

#### ORDER

- 1. Title—This order may be cited as the Porirua Licensing Trust Order 1955, Amendment No. 1, and shall be read together with and deemed part of the Porirua Licensing Trust Order 1955\* (hereinafter referred to as the principal order).
- 2. Division of Trust district into wards—For the purposes of elections of members of the Trust, the Porirua Licensing Trust District (as defined in the Porirua Licensing Trust District Order 1955†) is hereby divided into 3 wards, being the wards numbered and described in the Schedule hereto.
- 3. Elective members of Trust—Subject to this order, the Trust shall hereafter consist of 9 elective members, of whom—
  - (a) Six shall be elected for Ward 1:
  - (b) Two shall be elected for Ward 2:
  - (c) One shall be elected for Ward 3.
- 4. Terms of office of first elective members—The terms of office of 5 of the members of the Trust elected at the first general election of members held pursuant to section 11a (1) of the Licensing Trusts Act 1949 shall expire, in accordance with section 5 (3a) of that Act, on the day appointed pursuant to that Act for the second election of members after the making of this order.

\*S.R. 1955/116 †S.R. 1955/18

- 5. Quorum—At any meeting of the Trust, as reconstituted by this order, 5 members shall form a quorum.
- 6. Revocation and savings—(1) Clauses 3, 4, and 5 of the principal order are hereby consequentially revoked.
- (2) Notwithstanding anything in the foregoing provisions of this order, the members of the Trust holding office on the date of the making of this order shall, unless they sooner vacate their offices pursuant to any other enactment, continue to hold office until their successors are elected at the first general election of members held after the making of this order.

#### SCHEDULE

# Wards of Porirua Licensing Trust District

### Ward 1 (6 members)

ALL that area comprising those parts of the Trust district which on the date of the making of this order form the whole or part of-

(a) The City of Porirua:(b) The Borough of Tawa:

(c) That part of the Makara Riding of the Hutt County bounded by the City of Porirua, the Trust district boundary, and the sea coast.

# Ward 2 (2 members)

ALL that area comprising those parts of the Trust district which on the date of the making of this order form the whole or part of the Hutt County Ridings of—

(a) Horokiri:

- (b) Rimutaka:
- (c) Pukerua Bay:
- (d) Taupo.

# Ward 3 (1 member)

ALL that area comprising those parts of the Trust district which on the date of the making of this order form part of—

- (a) The Borough of Petone:(b) The City of Lower Hutt:
- (c) The City of Upper Hutt:
- (d) The Heretaunga Riding of the Hutt County:
  (e) The Epuni Riding of the Hutt County:

(f) That part of the Makara Riding of the Hutt County which is not comprised in Ward 1.

> P. J. BROOKS, Clerk of the Executive Council.

#### EXPLANATORY NOTE

This note is not part of the order, but is intended to indicate its general effect.

This order divides the Porirua Licensing Trust District into 3 wards, as described in the Schedule to the order, for the purposes of elections of members of the Trust.

The order also increases the number of members from 6 to 9, specifies the number to be elected for each ward, alters the quorum from 3 to 5, and makes provision for rotation of office.

The first election under the new system is to be held on a date (intended to be 9 October 1971) to be fixed by notice in the Gazette. In the meantime the existing members will retain office.

Issued under the authority of the Regulations Act 1936. Date of notification in *Gazette*: 2 September 1971. This order is administered in the Department of Justice.