aldini

The undermentioned are granted temporary commissions as Acting Pilot Officers while undergoing training with the Royal New Zealand Air Force, and are posted to the Ground Training School, Rongotai. Dated 20th September, 1939:—

Arthur Ashworth. Herbert Gregory Ballantyne. Jack Milton Cave. Rex Donald Daniell. Oakden Parker Davies. Richard Watkins Filmer. William David Finlayson. Arthur Vivian Fisher Charles de Vie Halkett. John Vincent Michael Kean. William Oscar George Krogh. Charles Edward Langdon. Donald Carr MacKenzie. medica ,isl Nelson Reuben Mansfield. Charles William Miller. Harry Wright Morgan. .3338126630 Eric Orgias. Lloyd Edward Friend Parry.
Anthony Joseph William Parker. Warde Phelan. Cuthbert Raymond.
David Rockel. Frederick Nettleship Shallcrass. Winston Selwood Shann.
Peter Knox Sigley.
Allan Beresford Smith.
Robert Lawrence Spindle.
Charles Stewart. Edward Betheridge Topp. Joseph Walters.

Staff Appointment.

Major J. M. Twhigg, N.Z.M.C., is granted a temporary appointment as Assistant Director of Medical Services (Air) and posted to Air Headquarters, Wellington, for duty. Dated 4th September, 1939.

Transfers.

The undermentioned Flight Lieutenants, Retired List, are transferred to the Active List in the ranks and branches

Arthur Colwell Upham, D.F.C., to be Flight Lieutenant, General Duties Branch. Dated 12th October, 1939.

Leslie Harold Brake to be Flying Officer, General Duties

Branch. Dated 27th Sentember, 1939.

Branch. Dated 27th September, 1939.

Jonas William Henry Lett to be Flight Lieutenant, General
Duties Branch. Dated 2nd October, 1939.

Henry Stuart Thorngate Weston to be Flight Lieutenant,

Equipment Branch, Section I. Dated 12th October, 1939.

Flying Officer Arthur Gerald Hill, R.A.F.O., is posted to the General Duties Branch in the rank of Flight Lieu-ténant. Dated 2nd October, 1939.

Promotion.

Pilot Officer Edgar Francis Harvie to be Flying Officer. Dated 3rd October, 1939.

Confirmations.

The undermentioned are confirmed in their rank. Dated 1st October, 1939:-

> Flying Officer William Stanley Simpson, M.B.E. Flying Officer Reginald James Gibbs.

Equipment Branch.

The undermentioned are granted temporary commissions in the Equipment Branch, Section I, in the ranks shown:—

John Harold Gray, in the rank of Flying Officer. Dated 7th October, 1939.

Victor Thorne, in the rank of Flying Officer. Dated 12th October, 1939.

William Robert Esquilant, in the rank of Pilot Officer.

Dated 9th October, 1939. William Temple is granted a temporary commission in the Equipment Branch, Section II, in the rank of Flying Officer. Dated 14th October, 1939.

Relinquishment of Appointment.

Flight Lieutenant Lewis Francis Paul Taylor relinquishes the Presidency of the Royal New Zealand Air Force Band. Dated 10th October, 1939.

Confirmation and Appointment.

Pilot Officer Beaumont Tudor Sheil (Retired List) is Pilot Officer Beaumont Tudor Sheil (Retired List) is posted to the Active List, confirmed in his rank and promoted to the rank of Flying Officer, and is granted the honorary rank of Squadron Leader whilst employed as Publicity Officer attached to Air Headquarters, Wellington. Dated 10th October, 1939.

Flying Officer Beaumont Tudor Sheil (Honorary Squadron Leader) is appointed President of the Royal New Zealand Air Force Band. Dated 10th October, 1939.

TERRITORIAL AIR FORCE.

Appointment.

Edward Hindmarsh Carrick is appointed to a commission in the General Duties Branch in the rank of Pilot Officer (on probation), and is posted for duty to the Christchurch General Reconnaissance Squadron. Dated 9th October, 1939

Thomas James Kirk-Burnnand is granted an honorary commission in the rank of Flying Officer while employed as conductor of the Royal New Zealand Air Force Band. Dated 10th October, 1939.

F. JONES, Minister of Defence.

Commissioner of the Supreme Court appointed.

NOTICE.

JOHN FLETCHER DEY, Esquire, of Sydney, in the State of New South Wales, a Solicitor of the Supreme Court of New South Wales, has this day been appointed by the Right Honourable Sir Michael Myers, G.C.M.G., Chief Justice of New Zealand, a Commissioner of the Supreme Court of New Zealand in the State of New South Wales under the 47th section of the Judicature Act, 1908, for the purpose of administering and taking all such oaths, affidavits, and affirmations as in the said section mentioned.

Dated at Wellington, this 11th day of October, 1939.

G. S. CLARK, Registrar, Supreme Court.

Deputy Registrars of Marriages, &c., appointed.

Registrar-General's Office, Wellington, 17th October, 1939.

T is hereby notified that the undermentioned persons have been appointed to be the Deputies of the Registrars of Marriages and of Births and Deaths for the districts set respectively opposite their names, viz :--

Name.	District.
Adrian Hercules Gray	
Hugh Lindsay Robertson	. Te Anga.
Erle Clyde Rolson	
Thomas Hugh Grant	. Te Anga.
G. G. HODGKINS, Deputy F	Registrar-General.

Deputy Registrar of Births and Deaths of Maoris, appointed.

Registrar-General's Office, Wellington, 17th October, 1939.

T is hereby notified that the undermentioned person has been appointed Deputy Registrar of Births and Deaths of Maoris at the place set opposite her name, viz.:-Place.

G. G. HODGKINS, Deputy Registrar-General.

Additional Member of Domain Board appointed.

Department of Lands and Survey Wellington, 11th October, 1939.

IS Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased, in pursuance of section 46 of the Public Reserves, Domains, and National Parks Act, 1928, to increase the total number of members of the Tainui Domain Board from eight to nine, and to appoint

Samuel Whitehead

as the additional member thereby rendered necessary.

R. G. MACMORRAN, Under-Secretary for Lands. (L. and S. 1/1017.)