Appointments, Promotions, and Transfers of Officers of the N.Z. Military Forces.

> Army Department, Wellington, 29th March, 1939.

IS Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to approve of the following appointments, promotions, and transfers of officers of the New Zealand Military Forces:—

STAFF AND COMMANDS.

The appointment of Major-General J. E. Duigan, C.B., D.S.O., N.Z. Staff Corps, as Chief of the General Staff, is extended to 31st March, 1940.

Major D. A. Carty, Regiment of N.Z. Artillery, relinquishes command of the 15th Heavy Battery, is promoted to the rank of Lieutenant-Colonel, and is appointed to command the 2nd Heavy Artillery Group. Dated 1st April, 1939.
Major I. D. Syminton, Regiment of N.Z. Artillery, is appointed to command the 15th Heavy Battery. Dated 1st April, 1999.

Captain A. E. Smith, N.Z. Corps of Signals, is appointed to command the Northern Depot, N.Z. Corps of Signals. Dated 1st June, 1938.

REGIMENT OF ROYAL N.Z. ARTILLERY.

Colonel I. T. Standish, C.M.G., D.S.O., A.D.C. to the King, is transferred to the Reserve of Officers, Class I (a). Dated 31st March, 1939.

THE OTAGO MOUNTED RIFLES.

Captain L. W. Neill ceases to be seconded to the 3rd Composite Mounted Rifles Regiment, and is transferred to the Reserve of Officers, Class I (b), Area 11. Dated 31st January, 1939. Lieutenant H. A. S. Orbell, ceases to be seconded to the

3rd Composite Mounted Rifles Regiment, and is transferred to the Reserve of Officers, Class I (b), Area 11. Dated 31st January, 1939.

The undermentioned cease to be seconded to the 3rd Composite Mounted Rifles Regiment. Dated 31st January, 1939 :---

Lieutenant J. Fleming. Lieutenant F. H. Fraser. Lieutenant J. B. McMath.

The undermentioned are seconded to the 3rd Composite Mounted Rifles Regiment. Dated 31st January, 1939:—

Captain A. S. Nicolson. Lieutenant N. L. Berry.

Lieutenant J. E. Brunton, from the Reserve of Officers, to be Lieutenant, with seniority from 25th December, 1935, and is seconded to the 3rd Composite Mounted Rifles Regiment. Dated 31st January, 1939.

REGIMENT OF N.Z. ARTILLERY.

Captain I. D. Syminton, 15th Heavy Battery, to be Major. Dated 1st April, 1939.

THE HAURAKI REGIMENT.

Lieutenant T. G. Holmes, from the Southland Regiment, to be Lieutenant, with seniority from 1st March, 1939, and is posted to the 1st Cadet Battalion. Dated 15th March, 1939.

THE CANTERBURY REGIMENT.

2nd Lieutenant W. F. Haworth, 4th Cadet Battalion, to be Lieutenant. Dated 12th November, 1938.

THE NELSON, MARLBOROUGH, AND WEST COAST REGIMENT. The appointment of 2nd Lieutenant (on probation) C. L. Harper, 2nd Cadet Battalion, is confirmed.

2nd Lieutenant C. L. Harper, 2nd Cadet Battalion, to be Lieutenant. Dated 5th February, 1939.

THE OTAGO REGIMENT.

Captain R. D. B. Paterson, Regimental Depot, is transferred to the New Zealand Scottish Regiment. Dated 22nd March, 1939.

THE SOUTHLAND REGIMENT.

Lieutenant T. G. Holmes, 1st Cadet Battalion, is transferred to the Hauraki Regiment. Dated 15th March, 1939.

THE NEW ZEALAND SCOTTISH REGIMENT.

Captain R. D. B. Paterson, from the Otago Regiment, to be Captain, with seniority from 17th October, 1936, and is posted to the Dunedin Company. Dated 22nd March,

N.Z. ARMY SERVICE CORPS.

Captain A. Gollan, from the Reserve of Officers, to be Captain, with seniority from 1st May, 1936, and is posted to the 2nd Composite Company. Dated 15th February, 1939.

N.Z. CHAPLAINS DEPARTMENT.

The Reverend Harold Geoffrey Norris to be Chaplain, 4th Class (Church of England), Area No. 10. Dated 22nd October, 1938.

F. JONES, Minister of Defence.

Members of Domain Boards appointed.

Department of Lands and Survey, Wellington, 29th March, 1939.

Weinington, 29th March, 1939.

HIS Excellency the Governor-General has, in pursuance of section 49 of the Public Particles. of section 49 of the Public Reserves, Domains, and National Parks Act, 1928, been pleased to make the following appointments:-

Francis Thomas Halligan,

to be a member of the Te Aroha Sports Domain Board in place of William Thomas Weston Hughes, deceased.

George Lewis, and William Charles Jacobsen,

to be members of the Tututawa Domain Board in place of Julius Jacobsen and Ernest Cutfield, left the district.

Allan Cameron MacDonald,

to be a member of the Hirstfield Domain Board in place of George Bambery Purdue, resigned.

John Reginald Grigg, and Arthur Martin,

to be members of the Brightwater Domain Board in place of Neil Reigh Kearns, resigned, and William Stewart Booth, left the district.

> Thomas Francis Johnson, and Thomas Twaddle,

to be members of the Wangaloa Domain Board in place of James Johnson and Hugh Haggart, deceased.

George James Spry McKenzie,

to be a member of the Waikino Domain Board in place of Frederick Harlick, resigned.

William McAllum,

to be a member of the Karitane Domain Board in place of Donald Hamilton Cameron, deceased.

Charles Watson,

to be a member of the Limehills Domain Board in place of George Henry Clark, deceased.

Thomas Henry Jones,

to be a member of the One Tree Hill Domain Board in place of Stephen Gilbert, deceased.

Colin John Riddle,

to be a member of the St. Helen's Domain Board in place of Frederick Charles Davidson, deceased.

Cecil William Bridgen, James Scott Wilson, Thomas Hurley, and Hiri Mariu.

to be members of the Tokaanu Domain Board in place of Ernest Henry Whiteman, left the district, George Rupert Drury, Alexander Smith Laird, resigned, and Takuira Keepa,

John Leishman Ferguson,

be a member of the Ohai Domain Board in place of George Gilbert, resigned.

James Anthony Doherty,

to be a member of the Mairangi Bay Domain Board in place of Tom William Manifold, resigned.

FRANK LANGSTONE, Minister of Lands. (L. and S. 1/345.)