N.Z. MEDICAL CORPS.

Lieutenant D. E. Orchard, M.B., 3rd Field Ambulance, is transferred to the Reserve of Officers, Southern Military District. Dated 27th June, 1939.

N.Z. CHAPLAINS DEPARTMENT.

The Reverend H. L. R. Isherwood, Chaplain, 4th Class (Church of England), is transferred to the Reserve List, Class I, Area 1. Dated 5th July, 1939.

N.Z. ARMY NURSING SERVICE.

The undermentioned Sister, from the Reserve List, to be Matron. Dated 22nd June, 1939:—

Miss E. J. Young.

The undermentioned Staff Nurses, from the Reserve List, to be Sisters. Dated 18th May, 1939:—

Miss H. M. Comrie. Miss D. I. Brown.

RESERVE OF OFFICERS.

The Auckland Regiment (Countess of Ranfurly's Own).

Hon. Lieutenant A. J. Clareburt is posted to the Retired List with permission to retain his rank and wear the prescribed uniform. Dated 7th July, 1939.

N.Z Chaplains Department.

The Reverend J. Hay, Chaplain, 4th Class (Church of England) is posted to the Retired List with permission to retain his rank and wear the prescribed uniform. Dated 10th February, 1939.

F. JONES, Minister of Defence.

Royal New Zealand Air Force.—Appointments, Transfers, &c., of Officers.

Air Department, Wellington, 18th July, 1939.

H IS Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to approve of the following appointments, transfers, &c., of officers of the Royal New Zealand Air Force, and amendment to the New Zealand Gazette No. 7, dated 9th February, 1939:—

REGULAR AIR FORCE.

Promotions.

Flight Lieutenant Cyril Eyton Kay, O.B.E., to be Squadron Leader. Dated 1st July, 1939.
Flight Lieutenant Ronald Joseph Cohen to be Squadron Leader. Dated 1st July, 1939.

Appointments.

The undermentioned are granted temporary commissions as Acting Pilot Officers while undergoing training with the Royal New Zealand Air Force, and are posted to the R.N.Z.A.F. Station, Wigram. Dated 14th June, 1939.

Lawrence David Loasby.
Duncan Harold McArthur.
Charles Aylmer Pownall.
Graham Noel Parker.
Roy Charles Edwin Scott.
Robert Maxwell McKay.
Frank Henderson Denton.
John Henry Arkwright.
George Robert Brabyn.
Harold Aitken Outram.
Percival Guy Haig Newton.
Eric Vernon Best.
Edwin Colin Joseph Cameron.
James Duigan.
Malcolm Hugh MacFarlane.
Douglas Veale Gilmour.
Michael Edward Fulton Barnett.
Arthur George Lee Humphreys.
John Sidney Shorthouse.
Desmond Malcolm Rolph-Smith.
John Edward Stewart Morton.

Transfer.

Acting Pilot Officer William Smillie to the Reserve of Officers, Section I, Class B. Dated 25th June, 1939.

RESERVE OF OFFICERS.

Amendment.

The notice published in Gazette No. 7 dated 9th February, 1939, relative to the undermentioned officer is hereby cancelled and the following substituted:—

Cheviot Wellington Dillon Bell (late Lieutenant, Regular Army Reserve of Officers) to be Flight Lieutenant and is posted to the Royal New Zealand Air Force Reserve of Officers, Section I, Class B, with seniority from 14th June, 1923. Dated 12th July, 1939.

Confirmation of Appointments.

The undermentioned Officer is confirmed in his appointment as from the date shown:—

Flight Lieutenant Cecil Leslie Monckton. Dated 5th July, 1939.

F. JONES, Minister of Defence.

Royal New Zealand Air Force.—Special appointment.

Air Department, Wellington, 18th July, 1939.

IS Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to approve of the following special appointment to the Royal New Zealand Air Force:—

REGULAR AIR FORCE.

Special Appointment.

Lionel Mountjoy Squire (Flying Officer, Territorial Air Force) is granted a temporary commission in his present rank. Dated 3rd July, 1939.

F. JONES, Minister of Defence.

Member of North Auckland Land Board appointed.

Department of Lands and Survey, Wellington, 25th July, 1939.

NOTICE is hereby given that His Excellency the Governor-General has, pursuant to section 47 of the Land Act, 1924, been pleased to appoint

Robert Thomas Tilson

to be a member of the Land Board of the North Auckland Land District for a term of two years as from 20th July, 1939.

THOS. POUND, Assistant Under-Secretary.

(L. and S. 22/748/A.)

Members of Land Boards reappointed.

Department of Lands and Survey, Wellington, 25th July, 1939.

NOTICE is hereby given that His Excellency the Governor-General has, pursuant to section 49 of the Land Act, 1924, been pleased to reappoint

Charles Cowper Smith

to be a member of the Land Board of the Land District of Hawke's Bay for a further term of two years from the $24 \rm th$ day of August, 1939;

Ernest Arthur Kirby

to be a member of the Land Board of the Land District of Westland for a further term of two years from the 30th day of August, 1939; and

Donald James Ross

to be a member of the Land Board of the Land District of Otago for a further term of two years from the 12th day of August, 1939.

THOS. POUND, Assistant Under-Secretary.

(L. and S. 22/748/2, 7, and 9.)