The undermentioned to be Staff Nurses. Dated 17th July, 1939 :

Miss Millicent May Murray.

Miss Eva Constance Mackay. Miss Edith Jo Wilson.

Miss Edith Jo Wilson.
Miss Edith Florence Worn.
Miss Janet Mary Reader.
Miss Greita Earle Clifford-Jones.

Miss Isabel MacKinnon. Miss Jessie Iris Martin.

Miss Elizabeth Ann Hadfield.

Miss Susan Isobel Milne. Miss Brenda Gardner.

Miss Caroline May Lucas

Miss Lettice Marian Corsbie. Miss Enid Myrtle Irving. Miss Gladys Doreen Boyd.

Miss Isabella Helen Henderson.

Miss Anna Ferguson Ramsay.
Miss Margaret Elizabeth Campbell.
Miss Marjory Whittle Astley.
Miss Mamie Ethel Kensington.

RESERVE OF OFFICERS.

The Hawke's Bay Regiment.

2nd Lieutenant K. G. Chamberlain is posted to the Retired List with permission to retain his rank and wear the prescribed uniform. Dated 21st July, 1939.

F. JONES, Minister of Defence.

## King's Counsel appointed.

Department of Justice, Wellington, 28th July, 1939.

IS Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to appoint

Wilfrid Joseph Sim, Esquire,

of Christchurch, to be King's Counsel; the Right Honourable the Chief Justice having concurred in such appointment as provided in regulations made by Order in Council dated the 21st day of January, 1907.

H. G. R. MASON, Attorney-General.

Appointments in the Public Service.

Office of the Public Service Commissioner, Wellington, 2nd August, 1939.

THE Public Service Commissioner has made the following appointments in the Bablic Service. appointments in the Public Service :-

## Eric George Rhodes,

to be Registrar at Gisborne of the Supreme Court of New Zealand and Sheriff for the District of Poverty Bay for the Zealand and Sheriff for the District of Poverty Bay for the purposes of the Judicature Act, 1908, Clerk of the Magistrate's Court at Gisborne for the purposes of the Magistrates' Courts Act, 1928, Official Assignee at Gisborne for the Supreme Court District of Gisborne for the purposes of the Bankruptcy Act, 1908, Clerk of the Licensing Committee for the District of Gisborne, and Local Patent Officer at Gisborne for the purposes of section 115 of the Patents, Designs, and Trade-marks Act, 1921–22, as from the 1st day of August, 1930

## Thomas Percival Pain,

to be Registrar at Whangarei of the Supreme Court of New Zealand and Sheriff for the District of North Auckland for zearand and sherm for the District of North Augustald for the purposes of the Judicature Act, 1908, Clerk of the Magistrates' Court at Whangarei for the purposes of the Magistrates' Courts Act, 1928, Clerk of the Warden's Court, Receiver of Gold Revenue and Mining Registrar at Whangarei for the Mining District of Puhipuhi constituted under the Mining Act, 1926, Official Assignee at Whangarei for the Supreme Court District of North Auckland for the purposes of the Bankruptcy Act, 1908, Clerk of the Licensing Committee for the district of Marsden, Local Patent Officer at Whangarei for the district of Marsden, Local Patient Officer at whangarei for the purposes of section 115 of the Patents, Designs, and Trade-marks Act, 1921–22, Registrar of Marriages for the District of Whangarei under the Marriage Act, 1908, Registrar of Births and Deaths for the District of Whangarei under the Births and Deaths Registration Act, 1924, and Registrar of Births and Deaths of Maoris at Whangarei under the Maori Births and Deaths Registration Regulations, 1935, as from the 1st day of August, 1939.

## Kenneth Desmond Kelly,

to be Deputy Registrar of Births and Deaths of Maoris at Mercer, as from the 21st day of July, 1939.

G. T. BOLT, Secretary.

Members of Domain Boards appointed.

Department of Lands and Survey, Wellington, 26th July, 1939.

H IS Excellency the Governor-General has, in pursuance of section 49 of the Public Reserves, Domains, and National Parks Act, 1928, been pleased to make the following appointments :-

Walter Taine,

to be a member of the Karitane Domain Board in place of Irvine Watson Cowie, resigned.

Herbert Bryan Taylor,

to be a member of the Frasertown Domain Board in place of Hedley Robert Phillips, resigned.

Keith Welch Walker.

to be a member of the Rotoiti Domain Board in place of Francis Innes Ledger, deceased.

> Harold James Hall, and James Nicholas Sims.

to be members of the Mamaku Domain Board in place of Robert Henry Daldy and Harold John Goodrick, resigned.

Henry Alfred James Brown,

to be a member of the Waikino Domain Board in place of Charles MacShane Speedy, resigned.

Sydney Jack Weaver,

to be a member of the Wakefield Domain Board in place of Harry Augustus Ricketts, deceased.

> Harold Armytage Cory-Wright, and William Joseph Lopes,

to be members of the Tairua Domain Board in place of John Fredrick Noble and Hector Leslie Gordon, resigned.

John Henry Reid, and Lindsay Allen Tregonning,

to be members of the Taieri Lake Domain Board in place of James Baird, left the district, and William Henry Tregonning,

Alan Kirkland Prince.

to be a member of the Taneatua Domain Board in place of Thomas Mitchell, jun., deceased.

Carlton Eric Vos.

to be a member of the Mairangi Bay Domain Board in place of William Mitchell, resigned.

Winter Cole.

to be a member of the Upper Riccarton Domain Board in place of Albert Freeman, resigned.

William Simmons Henderson,

to be a member of the Eivers Beach Domain Board in place of James Christopher Wadmore, deceased.

William Simmons Henderson.

to be a member of the Whakatane Domain Board in place of James Christopher Wadmore, deceased.

> George Begg, and Richard Burleigh,

to be members of the Kirwee Domain Board in place of Thomas Patrick McGoverin, deceased, and Theodore Paterson,

R. G. MACMORRAN, Under-Secretary for Lands. (L. and S. 1/433.)

Deputy Registrars of Marriages, &c., appointed.

Registrar-General's Office, Wellington, 1st August, 1939.

T is hereby notified that the undermentioned persons have been appointed to be the Particle Production of the Particle Production been appointed to be the Deputies of the Registrars of Marriages and of Births and Deaths for the districts set respectively opposite their names, viz.:—

Name.

District.

Kenneth Desmond Kelly William Arthur Herriot Williams Ivan Horace Mark Blair Herbert John Thompson

Mercer. .. Hunterville. Norsewood.

.. Rangiora.

G. G. HODGKINS, Deputy Registrar-General.