Declaring Lands in the Canterbury Land District to be subject to the Provisions of Section 23 of the Reserves and other Lands Disposal Act, 1939.

GALWAY, Governor-General. [L.S.]

A PROCLAMATION.

WHEREAS by section twenty-three of the Reserves and other Lands Disposal Act, 1939, it is enacted that the Governor-General may by Proclamation declare any lands of the Crown to be subject to the provisions of that section to enable certain readjustment of leases and licenses to be carried into effect. carried into effect:

And whereas it is deemed expedient that the lands described in the Schedule hereto should be subject to the provisions of the said section:

Now, therefore, in pursuance and exercise of the power and authorities so conferred upon me by subsection one of the aforesaid section twenty-three, I, George Vere Arundell, Viscount Galway, Governor-General of the Dominion of New Zealand, do hereby proclaim and declare, that from and after the date of gazetting hereof, the lands described in the Schedule hereto shall be subject to the provisions of the said section twenty-three of the Reserves and other Lands Disposal Act, 1939.

SCHEDULE:

CANTERBURY LAND DISTRICT.

Section.	Settlement.		Area:		Title Reference Canterbury Registry.
			A.	R. P.	
2	Pareora No. 2		162	$2 \cdot 8$	189/121
8	Pareora No. 2		187	3 15	196/38
4	Kapua	٠.,	42	3 33	163/46
5 .	Kapua		50	0 0	163/54
6	Kapua		50	0 0	170/131
7	Kapua		50	0 0	163/55
10	Kapua		50	0 0	163/52
1 and 2	Waimate	٠.,	721	2 0	457/105
	. T . T TO TO 1004	TO 1	1 77		37777 337 1

And part Lot 1, D.P. 1274, Blocks XIII and XIV, Waimate Survey District: Area, 275 acres 1 rood 30 perches. Title reference, Canterbury Registry, 220/90 (Lease 10035).

Given under the hand of His Excellency the Governor-General of the Dominion of New Zealand, and issued under the Seal of that Dominion, this 23rd day of October, 1940.

> W. LEE MARTIN. For the Minister of Lands.

GOD SAVE THE KING!

(L. and S. 36/961/3.)

Crown Land set apart as a Permanent State Forest.

[L.S.] GALWAY, Governor-General.

A PROCLAMATION.

BY virtue and in exercise of the powers and authorities conferred upon me by section eighteen of the Forests Act, 1921-22, I, George Vere Arundell, Viscount Galway, Governor-General of the Dominion of New Zealand, do hereby set apart the Crown land described in the Schedule hereto as a permanent State forest.

SCHEDULE.

Wellington Land District.—Wellington Forest-conservation Region.

ALL that area in the Wellington Land District, Kiwitea County, containing by admeasurement 100 acres, more or less, and being Lot 2 of Section 20, Block I, Umutoi Survey District. As the same is more particularly delineated on plan No. 78/8, deposited in the Head Office of the State Forest Service, at Wellington, and thereon bordered red. (S.O plan 206/4.)

Given under the hand of His Excellency the Governor-General of the Dominion of New Zealand, and issued under the Seal of that Dominion, this 25th day of October, 1940.

FRANK LANGSTONE. Commissioner of State Forests.

GOD SAVE THE KING!

Declaring certain Crown Land to be subject to Part I of the Native Land Amendment Act, 1936.—(Tokaanu Development Scheme.)

GALWAY, Governor-General. [L.S.]

A PROCLAMATION.

PURSUANT to section five of the Native Purposes Act, 1939, I, George Vere Arundell, Viscount Galway, Governor-General of the Dominion of New Zealand, do hereby declare the Crown land described in the Schedule hereto to be subject to Part I of the Native Land Amendment Act, 1936.

SCHEDULE.

WELLINGTON LAND DISTRICT.

ALL that area of land situated in the Taupo County, containing by admeasurement 498 acres 2 roods 27.4 perches, more or less, being part of the Ohuanga North No. 5A Block, as the same is more particularly delineated on the plan lodged at the office of the Chief Surveyor at Wellington under No. 20539, and thereon bordered red.

Given under the hand of His Excellency the Governor-General of the Dominion of New Zealand, and issued under the Seal of that Dominion, this 23rd day of October, 1940.

W. LEE MARTIN,

For the Native Minister.

GOD SAVE THE KING!

(N.D. 1/3/24.)

Appointing Members of the First and Second Divisions of the Court of Appeal.

GALWAY, Governor-General. ORDER IN COUNCIL.

At the Government House at Wellington, this 24th day of October, 1940.

Present:

HIS EXCELLENCY THE GOVERNOR-GENERAL IN COUNCIL.

WHEREAS by section five of the Judicature Amendment Act, 1913, it is enacted that the Court of Appeal shall consist of two divisions, to be called respectively the First Division and the Second Division of the Court of Appeal; and that each division shall consist of five Judges of the Supreme Court, to be appointed to that division by the Governor-General in Council:

And whereas the power conferred by the said Act upon the Governor-General in Council of appointing Judges as

the Governor-General in Council of appointing Judges as members of either division, or of revoking any such appointment, shall be exercisable on the recommendation of not less than three Judges of the Supreme Court (of whom the Chief Justice shall be one), and not otherwise:

And whereas the Right Honourable the Chief Justice, the Honourable Mr. Justice Blair, the Honourable Mr. Justice Kennedy, the Honourable Mr. Justice Callan, and the Honourable Mr. Justice Northcroft have recommended that the two divisions of the Court of Appeal for the year one the two divisions of the Court of Appeal for the year one thousand nine hundred and forty-one shall be constituted as

Now, therefore, His Excellency the Governor-General of the Dominion of New Zealand, in exercise of the powers conferred by the said Act, and acting by and with the advice and consent of the Executive Council of the said Dominion, doth hereby appoint

The Right Honourable Sir Michael Myers, G.C.M.G., Chief Justice,
The Honourable Archibald William Blair, Judge,

The Honourable Robert Kennedy, Judge,
The Honourable John Bartholomew Callan, Judge, and
The Honourable Erima Harvey Northcroft, Judge,

to be the members of the First Division of the Court of Appeal; and

The Right Honourable Sir Michael Myers, G.C.M.G., Chief Justice,
The Honourable Sir Henry Hubert Ostler, Kt., Judge,

The Honourable David Stanley Smith, Judge, The Honourable Harold Featherston Johnston, Judge, and The Honourable Arthur Fair, Judge,

to be the members of the Second Division of the Court of Appeal for the year one thousand nine hundred and forty-one.

T. R. AICKIN, Acting Clerk of the Executive Council.