The Strike and Lockout Emergency Regulations 1939 .-Appointment of Emergency Disputes Committee.

IN pursuance of the powers in that behalf conferred upon me by the Strike and Lockout Emergency Regulations me by the Strike and Lockout Emergency Regulations 1939, I, Hubert Thomas Armstrong, acting for the Minister of Labour, do hereby appoint the following persons to be an Emergency Disputes Committee for the purposes of the said regulations and refer to that committee a dispute which has arisen between the Martha Gold Mining Company (Waihi), Limited, and the Ohinemuri Mines and Batteries Employees' Union :-

Banks, J. H. G. Gilmour, J. L. Lowrie, A. F. Bincham, Joseph Employers' representatives. Bice, William Workers' representatives. Slevin, James Gilmour, James Alexander, Chairman.

Dated at Wellington, this 30th day of October, 1940.

H. T. ARMSTRONG, For the Minister of Labour.

Promotions and Confirmations, &c., of Officers of the Royal New Zealand Air Force.

Air Department, Wellington, 25th October, 1940.

HIS Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to approve of the following promotions, confirmations, and transfer of officers of the Royal New Zealand Air Force:—

GENERAL DUTIES BRANCH.

Promotions.

Squadron Leader Trevor Watts White, E.D. (Reserve of Officers), to be Wing Commander (temporary). Dated 1st October, 1940.

The undermentioned Flight Lieutenants to be Squadron Leaders (temporary). Dated 1st October, 1940:-

Anthony George Lester. Charles Campbell Hunter, S*., w.s. John Reginald Shelton Agar. Eric Maple Lewis. Albert Charles Parson (T.A.F.). George Carter (T.A.F.). Gordon Rutherfurd White (Reserve of Officers).

The undermentioned Flying Officers to be Flight Lieutenants (temporary). Dated 1st October, 1940:—

Edward Silverthorne Henderson (T.A.F.). Maxwell Wilkes (T.A.F.).

John Carthew Ashcroft (T.A.F.).

John Herbert Atwell (T.A.F.).

Wilfred Arthur Hopkins (T.A.F.).

Maurice Howard Clare (Reserve of Officers).

The undermentioned Pilot Officers to be Flying Officers (temporary). Dated 1st October, 1940:—

Robert Porter. Percival Colin Lewis. Morice Hubert McKenzie Ian Reid Salmond (T.A.F.) Edgar Brooke-Taylor (T.A.F.). Cliford Grainger Andrews (T.A.F.). Kenneth Godfrey King (T.A.F.).

Confirmation.

Flying Officer (Acting Flight Lieutenant) Edgar Francis Harvie (Reserve of Officers) is confirmed in the rank of Flight Lieutenant (temporary). Dated 1st October, 1940.

EQUIPMENT BRANCH.—SECTION 1.

Promotions.

Flight Lieutenant Gilbert Alexander Hutchinson to be Squadron Leader (temporary). Dated 1st October, 1940.

The undermentioned Flying Officers to be Flight Lieutenants (temporary). Dated 1st October, 1940:—

Gerald Sinclair Evatt. Gordon Henry Douglas. George Michael Ivo Adams George Michael Ivo Adams.
Edward Cedric Ormerod Heath,
Alfred John Ladbrook Jackson.
Allan Edward Upchurch.
Arnold Eric Cockburn.
Bruce Roden Furkert. Maurice Beehan Furlong, Owen Evans. John Paul Vallis.

The undermentioned Flying Officers to be Acting Flight Lieutenants. Dated 1st October, 1940:—

Louis William Garrard. Arthur John Baber.

Lionel Esmond Cooke (Reserve of Officers).

Confirmation.

Squadron Leader (Acting Wing Commander) Thomas James Denton is confirmed in the rank of Wing Commander (temporary). Dated 1st October, 1940.

EQUIPMENT BRANCH.—SECTION II. Promotions.

Flight Lieutenant Alfred Morton Seafield Manhire to be

Squadron Leader (temporary). Dated 1st October, 1940. Flying Officer Hugh Tempello Grigg to be Flight Lieutenant (temporary). Dated 1st October, 1940.

The undermentioned Flying Officers to be Acting Flight Lieutenants. Dated 1st October, 1940:—

Albert Tom Giles, M.B.E. Alwyn Palmer. Noel Alfred Vear.

ADMINISTRATIVE AND SPECIAL DUTIES BRANCH.

Promotions.

Flight Lieutenant (Acting Wing Commander) Alexander John Mackay Manson, M.C., E.D., to be Squadron Leader (temporary) (Acting Wing Commander). Dated 1st October, 1940.

The undermentioned Flight Lieutenants to be Squadron Leaders (temporary). Dated 1st October, 1940:—

Edward Gordon Gedge, M.C. George Alfred Nicholls (Reserve of Officers). Alexander Cleveland McArthur (Reserve of Officers.

Flying Officer Thomas Leslie Harland to be Flight Lieutenant (temporary). Dated 1st October, 1940.

Transfer.

Flying Officer Frank Douglas Mill (Reserve of Officers) is transferred from the General Duties Branch to the Administrative and Special Duties Branch and is promoted to the rank of Flight Lieutenant (temporary). Dated 1st October, 1940.

F. JONES, Minister of Defence.

Appointments of Officers of the Royal New Zealand Air Force.

Air Department, Wellington, 23rd October, 1940.

H IS Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to approve of the following appointments of Officers of the Royal New Zealand Air Force:—

GENERAL DUTIES BRANCH.

Appointments.

The undermentioned are granted temporary commissions in the rank of Pilot Officer (on probation). Dated 26th

William Keith Anderson, Robert Hamish Balfour, Lindsay Stuart Black, Harold Roger Blake, Dennis Keeble Carey, Tom Dunn, Raymond Gordon Eccles, Athol Foster, Colin Trevenna Guild, James Thomas Adams Harris, Cyril Griffith William Henderson, Cyri Grimin William Henderson Erwin James Henry, Dennis Trevelyan Herrick, Douglas Walter Grove Keesing, Mervyn Sydney Lund, Patrick Stewart McBride, Keith James Macdonald, Robert Sidney Masters, Raymond John Newton. Frank Warrington John Oakden, Brian Elliott Oliver, Edgar Alexander Pevreal, John William Purcivall, Robert Paterson Reid, Peter Holden Sinclair, Roye Harold Watson Stevens, Frederick Norman Rhys Thomas, Mortimer Tuke Vanderpump, and Albert Gordon Boswall Williams.

EQUIPMENT BRANCH.—SECTION II.

Appointment.

Warrant Officer Reginald Hedley Kinzett is granted a temporary commission in the rank of Flying Officer. Dated 1st October, 1940.

F. JONES, Minister of Defence,