#### Polling-places for the Auckland West Electoral District appointed.

### GALWAY, Governor-General.

IN pursuance and in exercise of the powers conferred upon me by the Electoral Act, 1927, I, George Vere Arundell, Viscount Galway, Governor-General of the Dominion of New Zealand, do hereby abolish all existing polling-places, and do hereby appoint the places mentioned in the Schedule hereto to be the polling-places in the said Electoral District of Auck-land West.

## SCHEDULE.

Auckland West Electoral District-

766

Beresford Street, the Public School. Cowan Street, All Saints' Schoolroom. Franklin Road, the Schoolroom. Gundry Street, the Epiphany Hall. Herne Bay Road, the Mission Hall. Jervois Road, St. Stephen's Church Schoolroom. Off Ponsonby Road, Leys' Institute (principal). Pollen Street, Church of Christ Hall. Bichmond Road, the Ponsonby Manual Training School. School

Union Street, the St. Thomas's Parish Hall.

As witness the hand of His Excellency the Governor-General, this 22nd day of April, 1940.

> P. FRASER, Minister in Charge of Electoral Department.

#### Vesting the Control of a Scenic Reserve in the Kirk's Bush Scenic Board.

#### GALWAY, Governor-General.

IN pursuance and exercise of the powers and authorities conferred upon him by section thirteen of the Scenery Preservation Act, 1908, His Excellency the Governor-General of the Dominion of New Zealand doth hereby vest the control of the reserve described in the Schedule hereto (being land reserved under the said Act), for the period of five years from the date hereof (unless previously altered or revoked under the said Act), in the undermentioned persons, namely,—

The Commissioner of Crown Lands for the North Auckland Land District, ex officio, Bernard Charteris Carpenter, Alfred Willis, David John Graham, Ernest Hosking, and Arthur Mortimer Butterworth,

who are hereby constituted for that purpose a special Board by the name of the Kirk's Bush Scenic Board (herein referred to as "the Board"), in trust, for the preservation of scenery, and with the powers and subject to the conditions hereinafter contained, that is to say,

1. The first meeting of the Board shall be held on Thursday, the second day of May, one thousand nine hundred and forty, at half past two o'clock p.m., at the residence of Mr. A. M. Butterworth, Great South Road, Papakura; and thereafter the Board shall meet for the transaction of business on the first Monday in each quarter at the time and place aforesaid, or at such other time or place as may from time to time be fixed by the Board.

2. The Commissioner of Crown Lands shall be the Chairman of the Board. He may join in the discussion, and shall have an original as well as a casting vote.

3. Special meetings may be convened by the Chairman, provided that two days' notice of such meeting is given to each member, specifying the business to be transacted at such special meeting; and no other business than that so specified shall be transacted at such meeting.

No. 36

4. Any four members of the Board shall form a quorum. Any meeting may be adjourned from time to time

5. All questions shall be determined by the majority of votes of the members of the Board present at the meeting.

6. If at any meeting the Chairman is not present at the time appointed for holding the same, the members present shall choose one of their number to be Chairman for such meeting.

7. If, by resignation, death, incapacity, or otherwise, the seat of any member shall be or become vacant, or if any member absents himself, without reasonable cause, from three consecutive meetings of the Board, the Governor-General shall have power to appoint any other person to be a member of the Board in his stead.

8. The Board shall prepare and submit at an annual meeting to be held in the month of April in each year a report of the proceedings of the Board for the previous year areport of the proceedings of the Board for the previous year ending on the thirty-first day of March, together with a statement of the receipts and expenditure of the Board for such year. A copy of every such report and statement, certified by the Chairman to be correct, shall be sent to the Minister in Charge of Secret Proceedings of Scenery Preservation as soon as possible after each annual meeting.

9. The Board shall control the said reserve in accordance with the provisions of the said Act and of the regulations made thereunder.

#### SCHEDULE.

KIRK'S BUSH SCENIC RESERVE.-NORTH AUCKLAND LAND DISTRICT.

ALL that area containing by admeasurement 11 acres 0 roods 30.7 perches, more or less, being Lots 1 to 6 and 15 to 23, D.P. 15387, being parts Allotments 8 and 11, and part of closed road, Opaheke Parish, Block IV, Drury Survey District.

witness the hand of His Excellency the Governor-As General, this 16th day of April, 1940.

FRANK LANGSTONE,

Minister in Charge of Scenery Preservation.

(L. and S. 4/336.)

(L. and S. 4/448.)

Honorary Inspectors of Scenic Reserves appointed.

# GALWAY, Governor-General.

N pursuance and exercise of the powers conferred by In pursuance and exercise of the powers contented by section four of the Scenery Preservation Act, 1908, I, George Vere Arundell, Viscount Galway, Governor-General of the Dominion of New Zealand, do hereby appoint

Henry Ernest Allen, Lionel Hector Wightman, Alexander Crabb, Robert Donald Munro, William John Cooper, Eric Charles Day, and James Joseph O'Kane

to be Honorary Inspectors under the said Act.

As witness the hand of His Excellency the Governor-General, this 17th day of April, 1940.

FRANK LANGSTONE, Minister in Charge of Scenery Preservation.