EQUIPMENT BRANCH.

Promotions.

Flying Officer (Honorary Flight Lieutenant) Gilbert Alexander Hutchinson to be Flight Lieutenant (tem $porary). \hspace{0.2in}$ Dated 1st July, 1940.

The undermentioned Flying Officers to be Flight Lieutenants (temporary). Dated 1st July, 1940:—

Francis John McWhinnie. Alfred Benjamin Lindop. William Dale Abernethy. John Blundell Price.

Pilot Officer George Kemp Taylor to be Flying Officer. Dated 1st July, 1940.

COMMISSIONED SIGNALS OFFICER.

Flying Officer Reginald James Gibbs to be Flight Lieutenant (temporary). Dated 1st July, 1940.

RESERVE OF OFFICERS

GENERAL DUTIES BRANCH.

Promotions.

Flight Lieutenant Ronald Affleck Kirkup to be Squadron Leader (temporary). Dated 1st July, 1940. Flying Officer Edgar Francis Harvie to be Acting Flight Lieutenant. Dated 1st July, 1940.
Pilot Officer Robert Millar Stewart to be Flying Officer.
Dated 1st July, 1940.

RETIRED LIST.

GENERAL DUTIES BRANCH.

Promotion.

Flying Officer Leslie Harold Brake to be Flight Lieutenant (temporary). Dated 1st July, 1940.

ADMINISTRATIVE AND SPECIAL DUTIES BRANCH.

Promotions.

Flight Lieutenant William James Milne Nancarrow to be Acting Squadron Leader. Dated 1st July, 1940.

Acting Flight Lieutenant Stephen Roy Neal to be Flight Lieutenant (temporary). Dated 1st July, 1940.

Flying Officer John Matthias Gamble to be Flight Lieutenant (temporary). Dated 1st July, 1940.

Appointments.

Appointments.

Herbert Gladstone Hill is granted a temporary commission in the rank of Flight Lieutenant and appointed Bandmaster of the Royal New Zealand Air Force Band and Director of Music to the Royal New Zealand Air Force. Dated 26th June, 1940.

Hubert Wentworth Duffy is granted

Hubert Wentworth Duffy is granted a temporary commission in the rank of Flying Officer (on probation). Dated 17th June, 1940.

Harry Nivelle Bundle is granted a temporary commission in the rank of Pilot Officer (on probation). Dated 27th June, 1940.

Transfer.

Flying Officer George Cyril Vincent Buckley (Territorial Air Force) is transferred to the Administrative and Special Duties Branch in his present rank. Dated 17th June, 1940.

TERRITORIAL AIR FORCE. GENERAL DUTIES BRANCH.

Promotions.

Squadron Leader Esmond Allen Gibson to be Wing Commander (temporary). Dated 1st July, 1940. Flight Lieutenant Ivan Edward Rawnsley to be Squadron

Leader (temporary). Dated 1st July, 1940.
Flying Officer (Honorary Flight Lieutenant) Austin Beart
Ranby to be Flight Lieutenant (temporary). Dated 1st July, 1940.

The undermentioned Flying Officers to Lieutenants (temporary.) Dated 1st July, 1940: to be Flight

Edward Buckland Firth. Guy Mortimer Firth. Lionel Mountjoy Squire. Sidney Richard Meatchem. Francis William Petre. Eric Copland Smart.

The undermentioned Pilot Officers to be Flying Officers. Dated 1st July, 1940:-

> Arthur Cuthbert Baines. Nathan George Leonard Scott. Alfred Louis Cadman. Jack Sandford Nelson. John Roy Butcher. Lloyd Hern Parry.

ADMINISTRATIVE AND SPECIAL DUTIES BRANCH.

Promotions.

Acting Flight Lieutenant Max Wilson Mills to be Flight Lieutenant (temporary). Dated 1st July, 1940.
Flying Officer John te Herekiekie Grace to be Flight
Lieutenant (temporary). Dated 1st July, 1940.

F. JONES, Minister of Defence.

 $Appointments,\ Promotions,\ dec.,\ of\ Officers\ of\ the\ Royal\ New$ $Zealand\ Air\ Force.$

Air Department, Wellington, 8th July, 1940.

ITIS Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to approve of the following arrest approve of the following appointments, promotions, &c., of officers of the Royal New Zealand Air Force:—

GENERAL DUTIES BRANCH.

Appointments.

Squadron Leader James Duff Hewett (Reserve of Officers) is appointed to a temporary commission in the General Duties Branch in the rank of Flight Lieutenant. Dated 21st June, 1940.

The undermentioned are granted temporary commissions in the General Duties Branch in the rank of Pilot Officer (on probation). Dated 28th June, 1940:—

Ralph Sydney Carroll Agar. Frank Albert Andrews. Angus Bruce Baird. Richard Barrett. Basil Gordon Collyns. John Humfrey Deans. William Thorpe Eiby. Clarence William Evans. Vincent David Gain. Robert Michael Goldstone. Hugh Noel James. Boyd Victor le Pine. Norman Andrew Morrison. Kenneth Stanley Peterson. Arthur Patnell Pritchard. Alexander James Ryan. George Ronald Simich. Robert Garth Stark. Bruce Hanan Thomson. Andrew Frederick Henderson Tve. Douglas Mitchell Whitney.

Promotions.

Flying Officer John Noel Collins is granted the acting rank of Flight Lieutenant. Dated 14th May, 1940.

Acting Pilot Officer William Smillie, Reserve of Officers, is granted the rank of Pilot Officer. Dated 10th June,

Relinquishments.

Pilot Officer Leonard Ernle Clark (T.A.F.), relinquishes his commission on appointment to the Royal Air Force Volunteer Reserve. Dated 11th November, 1939. Acting Pilot Officer John Robert Cherry relinquishes his commission. Dated 18th September, 1939.

EQUIPMENT BRANCH.—SECTION II.

Appointments.

Squadron Leader Noel Edgar Chandler, Reserve of Officers, is granted the temporary rank of Flight Lieutenant and is employed as Engineer Officer. Dated 3rd June, 1940.

Administrative and Special Duties Branch.

Appointments.

Squadron Leader John Seabrook, A.F.C. (Reserve of Officers), is appointed to the Administrative and Special Duties Branch in his present rank, with seniority from 4th September, 1939. Dated 4th June, 1940.