Notice to Mariners No. 27 of 1940.

Marine Department, Wellington, N.Z., 5th August, 1940.

NEW ZEALAND.-NORTH ISLAND.-AUCKLAND. Obstruction Lights on 1YA Mast.

Position of Mast: Lat., 36° 50′ 5 S.; long., 174° 37′ 8 E.

(approx.).

Details: Obstruction lights consisting of 3 groups of 3 red lights are exhibited between sunset and sunrise from the mast of the National Broadcasting Station 1YA at elevations mast of the radional production 1YA at elevations of 221 ft., 380 ft., and 532 ft. respectively, above M.H.W.S. The lower group is visible about 21 miles and the upper groups about 26 miles and will probably be seen seawards of Rakino and Tiri Tiri Islands between bearings 224° and 242°. Authority: Air Department, 29/7/40.

L. B. CAMPBELL, Secretary.

(M. 3/3/268.)

Taranaki Education Board: Election, 17th July, 1940.

HE following is a true record of the voting for one vacancy on the North Ward :-

			VOLUS.
Bailey, John Heys			44
Johnston, William			26
Lee, Francis Arthur James			122
Informal	• •		1
			193
Voting papers returned		••.	50
Total voting papers despatche	d		243

I therefore declare Francis Arthur James Lee duly elected as Member of the Board for the North Ward. The following being the only nominations received for the respective Wards are consequently elected Members of the Board :-

South Ward Barclay, John C. Central Ward ... Valentine, James A. Urban Area of New Plymouth Jones, William H.

H. W. INSULL,

Returning Officer.

Education Board of the District of Canterbury.

## ELECTION OF MEMBERS.

IN pursuance of the provisions of the Education Act, 1914, and regulations made thereunder, I hereby notify that the following persons have been elected as members of the Education Board of the District of Canterbury:—

Christchurch Urban Area—

Baird, Samuel.

Thompson, Clifford Simeon.

Timaru Urban Area-

Benstead, George.

Middle Ward-

Spencer, William Pritchard (unopposed).

North-west Ward-

Ellery, Ernest Vivian (unopposed).

South Ward-

Armitage, George Whitefield (unopposed).

The ballots in the contested elections resulted as follows:-

Christchurch Urban Area—		1	Votes.
Baird, Samuel	 		141
Forsey, Albert Edward	 		24
Thompson, Clifford Simeon	 		137
Total valid papers	 		153
Invalid papers	 	• •	1
Timaru Urban Area—			
Benstead, George	 		18
Lawrence, Albert Edward	 		15

LIONEL E. ROWLEY, Returning Officer.

Christehurch, 24th July, 1940.

Nelson Education Board.

ELECTION OF FOUR MEMBERS.

T is hereby publicly notified that at the election held on 17th July, 1940, the following votes were received by the respective candidates :-

Nelson Urban Area—		Votes.
Barltrop, Harry	 	17
Colvin, Henry Abiel	 	9
Informal	 	Nil.
North Ward—		
Hamilton, Frederick Allan	 	76
Reilly, Claude Page		73
Informal		3
West Ward—		
Gear, Henry Edward	 1.55	27
McIntyre, William Henderson		86
Informal		1

The only nomination received for the vacancy in the East

Ward was that of Frank Herbert Newman.

I therefore declare Harry Barltrop, Frank Herbert Newman,
Frederick Allan Hamilton, and William Henderson McIntyre duly elected.

H. J. THORNTON, Returning Officer.

Nelson, 25th July, 1940.

Education Board of the District of Otago.

ELECTION OF MEMBERS.

N accordance with the Second Schedule to the Education Act, 1914, it is hereby notified that the following persons have been duly elected members of the Education Board of the District of Otago :-

Urban Area

James Wallace and William Dober Sutherland.

North Ward-

William Magnus Cooper.

Central Ward-Charles Edward Richards.

South Ward-

Henry Arthur Brough. The number of votes recorded in favour of the respective candidates for the Central Ward was as follows:—

Richards, Charles Edward 231 King, George Stuart . . Total valid votes . . . . 83 . . 314 Informal votes

Urban Area

James Wallace and William Dober Sutherland were returned unopposed.

North Ward

William Magnus Cooper was returned unopposed.

South Ward-

Henry Arthur Brough was returned unopposed.

G. W. CARRINGTON, Returning Officer.

Education Office, Dunedin, 1st August, 1940.

## Auckland Education Board.

N accordance with the provisions of the Education Act, 1914, it is hereby notified that the undernamed persons have been duly elected members of the Education Board of the District of Auckland:—

For the Auckland Urban Area-Wilfred Henry Fortune. Charles Stephen Morris.

Maurice Priestley.

For the Hamilton Urban Area-

Frederick Augustus Snell (unopposed). For the North Ward of the Rural Area-George Singer Black Morrison.

For the East Ward of the Rural Area-Archibald Burns (unopposed).

For the West Ward of the Rural Area-John Patterson.