Establishment of Armed Forces Appeal Boards.

National Service Department, Wellington, 13th January, 1941.

H IS Excellency the Governor-General, in pursuance and exercise of the powers vested in him by the National Service Emergency Regulations 1940, has been pleased to direct the establishment of the following Armed Forces Appeal Boards, namely :-

- No. 1 Armed Forces Appeal Board, with headquarters at Auckland; and to appoint as the members thereof Charles Rutherford Orr Walker, Stipendiary Magistrate
  - (to be Chairman), Thomas Percival McCready, and
  - Albert Moeller Samuel;
- and to appoint as the deputy members thereof Herbert Elvin Hewlett, and
  - John O. Liddell.
- No. 2 Armed Forces Appeal Board, with head quarters at Hamilton ; and to appoint as the members there of
  - Stanley Logan Paterson, Stipendiary-Magistrate (to be Chairman),
  - Robert Coulter, and Arthur Edward Manning;
- and to appoint as the deputy members thereof
- Daniel Vickery Bryant, and John William Neate.
- No. 3 Armed Forces Appeal Board, with headquarters at Wanganui; and to appoint as the members thereof
  - Alfred Coleman, Stipendiary Magistrate (to be Chairman),
- Thomas Henry Biddlecombe Ewens, and Thomas Rowley Lees; and to appoint as the deputy members thereof
- Francis Strachan Goldingham, and Thomas E. Trask.
- No. 4 Armed Forces Appeal Board, with headquarters at Wellington; and to appoint as the members thereof
- Wilfred Fosberrey Stilwell, Stipendiary Magistrate (to
  - be Chairman), James Walsingham Godkin Brodie, and Andrew Parlane;
- and to appoint as the deputy members thereof
  - Jack Colman, and Percy Taylor Coyle.
- No. 5 Armed Forces Appeal Board, with headquarters at Christchurch ; and to appoint as the members thereof
  - Frank Felix Reid, Stipendiary Magistrate (to be Chairman), George Mathew Hall, and Albert Henry McKane;
- and to appoint as the deputy members thereof
  - Thomas Murray Charters, and John Edward Jones.
- No. 6 Armed Forces Appeal Board, with head quarters at Dunedin ; and to appoint as the members there of
  - James Rankin Bartholomew, Stipendiary Magistrate (to be Chairman), Bertrand Stanislaus Connor, and
  - James Price;
- and to appoint as the deputy members thereof
  - Harry Hodgson, and John William Smith.
- Such persons respectively to hold office during pleasure. D. WILSON,
  - For the Minister of National Service.

Date of Election by Fire Insurance Companies to fill Extraordinary Vacancy on the Dunedin Metropolitan Fire Board.

## Department of Internal Affairs, Wellington, 14th January, 1941.

**D**URSUANT to the Fire Brigades Act, 1926, and the rules made thereunder, the Minister charged with the administration of the said Act doth appoint Friday, the 31st day of January, 1941, to be the date for holding the election of one member of the Dunedin Metropolitan Fire Board by the fire-insurance companies concerned, such election being held to fill the extraordinary vacancy caused by the resignation of Mr. L. G. Wilson.

W. E. PARRY, Minister of Internal Affairs. (I.A. 76/4/65.)

Redefining Boundaries of the Omataroa Riding of the County of Whakatane.

Wakatana. Department of Internal Affairs, Wellington, 11th January, 1941. WHEREAS in pursuance of section one hundred and thirty-seven of the Municipal Corporations Act, 1933, the boundaries of the Borough of Whakatane were altered by Order in Council made under the Municipal Corporations Act, 1933, dated 10th day of July, 1940, and published in *Gazette* No. 72 of the 11th day of July, 1940; And whereas, in pursuance of the provisions of section 147 of the Municipal Corporations Act, 1933, the boundaries of the Borough of Whakatane, the County of Whakatane affected by the said Order in Council were defined by notice dated 24th day of October, 1940, and published in *Gazette* No. 109 of the 31st October, 1940. And whereas it is necessary to redefine the boundaries of the Omataroa Riding of the County of Whakatane affected by the said Order in Council : In pursuance of the provisions of the said section 147 of the Municipal Corporations Act, 1933, the boundaries of the Municipal Corporations Act, 1933, the boundaries of the omataroa Riding of the County of Whakatane affected by the said Order in Council : In pursuance of the provisions of the said section 147 of the Municipal Corporations Act, 1933, the boundaries of the omataroa Riding of the County of Whakatane are hereby defined as set out in the Schedule hereto.

## SCHEDULE.

ALL that area in the Auckland Land District, Whakatane County, bounded towards the north generally by the high-water mark of the Bay of Plenty, commencing at the north-west corner of Allotment 28, Rangitaiki Parish; thence in an easterly direction along said high-water mark to a point on the left bank of the month of the Whakatane River; thence generally in a southerly direction along the left bank of the Whakatane River to the south-east corner of Allotment 31, Rangitaiki Parish; thence westerly along the southern boundary of Allotment 31 aforesaid to its south-west corner; thence in a northerly direction along the eastern boundary of Rangitaiki Riding as described in *Gazette*, 1925, page 3408, to the point of commencement.

W. E. PARRY, Minister of Internal Affairs.

(I.A. 103/5/32.)

Notice under the Shops and Offices Act, 1921–22, and its Amendments, fixing the Closing-hours of Tobacconists' Shops within the Borough of Foxton.

WHEREAS a requisition in writing has been forwarded to me from the occupiers of tobacconists' shops within

the Borough of Foxton, pursuant to section 32 of the Shops and Offices Act, 1921–22: And whereas, I, Patrick Charles Webb, Minister of Labour, am satisfied that the signatures to such requisition represent a majority of the occupiers of all the said shops within the said borough :

said borough: Now, therefore, in pursuance of the said section 32, I do hereby direct that on and after the 27th day of January, 1941, all the said shops within the said borough shall be closed in the evening of working-days as follows: Subject to closing at not later than the prescribed hour on the day observed as the statutory closing-day, on Mondays, Tuesdays, Wednesdays, Thursdays, and Saturdays at 8 p.m. and on Fridays at 9 p.m., with the following exception: Should the occupier of any shop affected by this notice observe, pursuant to section 21 (b) of the Shops and Offices Act, 1921–22, Friday as the statutory closing-day, then and in such case the closing-

to section 21 (9) of the Shops and Offices Act, 1921–22, Friday as the statutory closing-day, then and in such case the closing-hour on Saturday shall be 9 p.m. The notice gazetted 22nd August, 1935, fixing the closing-hours of tobacconists' shops in the Borough of Foxton, and the notice gazetted on the 22nd August, 1935, prohibiting the sale within the Borough of Foxton of certain goods comprised in the trade of a tobacconist, shall be and are baraby another to a from the data of the acmiration for the sale within the Borough of Foxton of certain goods hereby cancelled as from the date of the coming into operation of this notice

Dated at Wellington, this 14th day of January, 1941. P. C. WEBB, Minister of Labour.

Notice under the Shops and Offices Act, 1921–22, prohibiting the Sale within the Borough of Foxton of certain Goods com-prised in the Trade of a Tobacconist.

WHEREAS a petition in writing, signed by a majority of the occupiers of all the tobacconists' shops within the Borough of Foxton, has been forwarded to me desiring that the sale of certain goods comprised in the testing tobacconist—namely, tobacco and cigarettes—be prohibited during such time as the said shops are required to be closed in pursuance of the Shops and Offices Act, 1921–22: