Captain (temp.) G. Burns is granted the temporary rank of Major, and is appointed to command a Battalion. Dated 19th December, 1941.

George John Wedgwood Boon to be Major (temp.), and is appointed a Deputy Group Director. Dated 1st August, 1941.

Edward James Leslie Payne to be Captain (temp.), and is appointed a Group Signals Officer. Dated 1st August, 1941.

David Owen Lamont Howden to be Captain (temp.), and is appointed an Assistant Group Adjutant. Dated 1st August, 1941.

August, 1941.
Stephen Robert Veitch to be Captain (temp.), and is appointed an Assistant Group Quartermaster. Dated 1st

appointed an Assistant Group Quartermaster. Dated 1st August, 1941.
Walter Neville McLernon to be Captain (temp), and is appointed a Group Signals Officer. Dated 1st August, 1941.
Daniel McLennan to be Captain (temp.), and is appointed an Assistant Group Quartermaster. Dated 1st August, 1941.
Hugh Edward Dennith Willoox to be Captain (temp.), and is appointed an Assistant Group Adjutant. Dated 1st August, 1941.
Alexander Harvey Scott to be Captain (temp.), and is

Alexander Harvey Scott to be Captain (temp.), and is appointed an Assistant Group Quartermaster. Dated 1st

Donald Victor George Smith to be Captain (temp.), and is appointed an Assistant Group Adjutant. Dated 1st August,

The undermentioned to be Captains (temp.), and are posted to Battalions. Dated 1st August, 1941:—

Stewart Ernest Mair. Robert Edward Bibby, M.C. Walter Robert McCallum. Charles Joseph Henty. Harry Trenowith Penrose Howard Burnett Richworth. David Justin Lundon. Alfred James Swayne. Charles Higginson La Trobe. William Nicholson Robinson. Alexander Bell, M.M. Harry Garlin Carter. Eric Arthur Scott. Colin Brereton Marshall. Patrick Douglas Laurie. John Hutton Grigg.

The undermentioned to be Lieutenants (temp.), and are posted to Battalions. Dated 1st August, 1941:—

Leonard Andrews Charles. Philip Cashmere Curd. Percival Joseph Mowat Reuben Sydney Entwhistle. Vincent Godfrey Boulton. Charles William Vennell. Frank Montgomery Oliver. George Harold Vosper. Willie Webber. Donald Patrick Dillon. Richard Newcombe. James Walter Jeans.
Alexander Francis Meldrum.
Francis Henry Hardy, D.C.M.
Francis Joseph Hodgson.
Cecil Whitworth Kendon. William Lionel de Latour.
Morley Edmund Selous Boyce.
Carl Huntley White.
Percy Ronald Graham.
Clarence Edwards Hargraves. William Henry Allen.
Norman Randall McMurtry.
Frederick Samuel Morriss. Horace Ellen. Arthur Edward Horwell. Major Belcher Richards. Major Beitener Meharus. Richard John Francome Lewis. Jack Charles Oliver Bentley. William Thomas. George Henry Romer Ulrich. Daniel Jason McBeath. Leslie Ray Jordan.
Alan Murdock Robertson.
Peter Sydney Enting. William Duncan.
Sydney Hale Bird.
Robert George Thompson.
Arthur George Howard. Alan Douglas Stewart. Gordon Johnston Walker. James Middleton Mitchell.. Walter Cecil Davies. John Melville Jenkins.
Hector Baden McClatchy.
Arthur Langdon Hudson.
John Ashley England.
Harold Coxhead. Charles Edward Thomson.

Thomas Overbury Fox. Alexander Brown Struthers. Percy Raymond Applegarth. Keith Yeo De Castro. Cecil Walkden Wood. Norrie Charles Martin. George Granville Wilson. Edward Bickmore Ellison Taylor. Henry Arnold Pegg. Arthur James Stewart Richardson. William Gordon Russell. James O'Neill. Murray Daniel Naismith. Thomas Stuart Taylor. Lester Andrew Heyward. Richard James Gluyas.
Douglas William St. John Keenan.
Edgar Lionel Akroyd. Joseph James Pease.
John Emlyn Davies.
George Stanley Todd.
Ernest Alfred Dykstra.
Maurice Hunter Macneil. William Simmons Henderson. Clarence Henry Forbes. Rongo Paerata. George Gilbert Olds. George Edward Lewis Bufton. John Richard De Lambert. David William Herron. John Stephen Shimmin.

Lieutenant (temp.) V. E. Douglas resigns his commission. Dated 27th December, 1941.

Lines of Communication Signals (Railways). Ernest Marshall Gallagher to be Lieutenant (temp.). Dated 22nd December, 1941. Robert Angus Hamilton Russell to be 2nd Lieutenant. Dated 22nd September, 1941.

F. JONES, Minister of Defence.

Appointments and Promotions of Officers in the Royal New Zealand Air Force.

Air Department, Wellington, 29th January, 1942.

HIS Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to approve of the following appointments and promotions of officers to the Royal New Zealand Air Force:—

GENERAL DUTIES BRANCH.

Appointments.

As Pilots.

The undermentioned are granted temporary commissions in the rank of Pilot Officer. Dated 14th January, 1942:—

NZ 403454 Sergeant Garnet Allen KENNEDY. NZ 403441 Sergeant Allan George, D.F.M.

Promotions.

The undermentioned Pilot Officers (on prob.) are confirmed in their rank and are granted the temporary rank of Flying

Dated 18th January, 1942— William Robertson Massey. William Wood Weir Burgess. Jack Huia Register. James Ralph Court. Philip Robert Colfox Clark.
Montague James Rowland.
Robert Francis Watson.
Herbert Keele Horne. William Medworth GOLDEN. Peter Souter. Patrick Louis Stokes.

Dated 8th February, 1942—

John Reginald McGrane.

John Angus Ferguson.

Maurice Edgar von Tunzelman.

Edgar Thomas Kippenbeeger. James Finlay CRUICKSHANK. Maxwell William McCormick. John STRAND. David Laurence BADE.

ADMINISTRATIVE AND SPECIAL DUTIES BRANCH.

Promotions.

Pilot Officer Warwick Ritchie Crawford LAWRENCE to be Flying Officer (temporary). Dated 1st February, 1942.

Pilot Officer (on prob.) Harold Owers is confirmed in his rank and is granted the temporary rank of Flying Officer.

Dated 4th February, 1942.

F. JONES, Minister of Defence,