N.Z. Chaplains Department.

The Rev. D. R. McDonald, Chaplain, 4th Class, to be Chaplain, 3rd Class (temp.). Dated 16th January, 1942.

The undermentioned to be Chaplains, 4th Class:-

Guy Graham Gooday (Salvation Army). Dated 12th January, 1942. Bramwell Milner Harewood (Salvation Army). Dated

13th January, 1942.

13th January, 1942.

The Rev. Bernard McGregor Chrystall (Methodist).
Dated 16th January, 1942.

The Rev. Gordon Blandy Stote-Blandy (Church of England). Dated 20th January, 1942.

The Rev. William Henry Darien Hartley (Church of England). Dated 21st January, 1942.

The Rev. Bernard Kavanagh (Roman Catholic). Dated 26th January, 1942.

RESERVE OF OFFICERS.

Captain G. A. Thompson resigns his commission on appointment to a commission in the Royal N.Z. Air Force. Dated 8th January, 1942.

NATIONAL MILITARY RESERVE.

2nd Lieutenant (temp. Captain) J. McK. Gordon, M.M., to Lieutenant (temp.). Dated 12th December, 1941.
Lieutenant (temp. Captain) S. F. Burgess to be Major (temp.). Dated 8th January, 1942.
Captain S. L. Smith to be Major (temp.). Dated 10th

January, 1942.

Lieutenant W. Middleton to be Major (temp.). Dated 10th

January, 1942.
2nd Lieutenant (temp.) L. M. Abraham to be Major (temp.).
Dated 12th December, 1941.
2nd Lieutenant (temp.) C. Freyberg to be Captain (temp.).

Dated 12th December, 1941.

The undermentioned 2nd Lieutenants (temp.) to be Lieutenants (temp.):-

H. R. Surman. Dated 1st January, 1942. J. W. Mitchell. Dated 2nd January, 1942. W. Fortune. Dated 3rd January, 1942.

2nd Lieutenaut Harold Bosley Bennett (Retired List) to be 2nd Lieutenant (temp.). Dated 1st August, 1941.

The undermentioned to be 2nd Lieutenants (temp.):-

Dated 23rd December, 1941-William Vickery Blake. Herbert Eric Phillips. Victor Leonard Westerman.

Dated 1st January, 1942-George Franklin Marshall White. Henry Joesph Edwards. William Alfred Sandman. William Joseph Fix. Robert Todd Caldwell. John McKinnon. William Norman West. Bruce Wilson Mackie. Walter Webb.

Dated 10th January, 1942-Neil Gow.

Dated 11th January, 1942— William Harold Woodward.

Dated 12th January, 1942-Bernard Linn.

Dated 13th January, 1942 Francis Stanley Grayling.

Dated 14th January, 1942-Fred Coleman.

Dated 15th January, 1942— Alexander Fleming.

Dated 16th January, 1942— Norman Frederick Chamberlain.

Dated 17th January, 1942-George Fitzgerald Petheram.

2ND NEW ZEALAND EXPEDITIONARY FORCE. Officers ceasing to be seconded.

Lieutenant (temp. Major) T. P. Laffey, N.Z. Staff Corps.

Dated 25th January, 1942.

Lieutenant (temp. Captain) R. H. Perrett, N.Z. Staff Corps.

Lieutenant (temp. Captain) R. H. Perrett, N.Z. Staff Corps. Dated 25th January, 1942.

Captain and Quartermaster (temp.) W. F. Sellen, N.Z. Permanent Staff. Dated 27th December, 1941.

Lieutenant and Quartermaster J. J. Corkill, N.Z. Permanent Staff. Dated 26th January, 1942.

Lieutenant (temp. Captain) I. H. Galbraith, N.Z. Temporary Staff. Dated 15th September, 1941.

Major S. W. Crawford, M.D., Ch.B., N.Z. Medical Corps. Dated 21st January, 1942.

Major A. W. Reynolds, The Hawke's Bay Regiment. Dated 25th January, 1942.

Captain N. de B. Noakes, B.D.S., N.Z. Dental Corps. Dated 31st January, 1942.
Lieutenant (late Captain, 2nd N.Z.E.F.) J. R. G. Thompson. M.B., Ch.B., N.Z. Medical Corps. Dated 21st January, 1942.
Lieutenant T. L. Danks, Reserve of Officers, The Canterbury Regiment. Dated 31st January, 1942.
2nd Lieutenant (late Lieutenant, 2nd N.Z.E.F.) E. E. Lewer, M.C., The Canterbury Regiment. Dated 31st January, 1942.

2nd Lieutenant (late Lieutenant, 2nd N.Z.E.F.) L. D. M. Edie, The Otago Regiment. Dated 31st January, 1942. Sister V. B. Hutchinson, N.Z. Army Nursing Service. Dated 22nd January, 1942.

Sister A. Vallance, N.Z. Army Nursing Service. Dated 31st January, 1942.

Officers struck off the Strength of the 2nd New Zealand Expeditionary Force.

Hon. Major A. G. Harper, and relinquishes his commission.

Dated 24th December, 1941.
Captain J. H. Shelker. Dated 22nd January, 1942.
Captain G. H. Forsythe, M.B.E. Dated 25th January, 1942

Captain H. P. Te Punga. Dated 31st January, 1942. Lieutenant D. M. Patterson. Dated 31st January, 1942.

F. JONES, Minister of Defence.

Appointments, Promotions, and Resignations of Officers of the New Zealand Military Forces.

Army Department, Wellington, 17th February, 1942.

HIS Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to approve of the following except to approve of the following appointments, promotions, and resignations of officers of the New Zealand Military Forces :-

N.Z. TEMPORARY STAFF.

Captain (temp. Major) W. J. B. Hunter, The Taranaki Regiment, to be Captain (temp.). Dated 5th January, 1942. Captain C. T. Kelleway, The Auckland Regiment (Countess of Ranfurly's Own), to be Captain (temp.). Dated 26th January, 1942.

Lieutenant J. Rutherford, The Auckland Regiment (Countess of Ranfurly's Own), to be Captain (temp.). Dated 26th January, 1942.

James Anderson Henderson to be Captain (temp.). Dated

26th January, 1942. Lieutenant W. L. Free to be Captain (temp.). Dated 26th January, 1942. Lieutenant E. J. Cornes, B.Sc., to be Captain (temp.).

Dated 26th January, 1942.
Lieutenant C. S. Swan to be Captain (temp.). Dated 2nd February, 1942.
Lieutenant J. R. McGruther, Reserve of Officers, Supplementary List, to be Lieutenant (temp.). Dated 27th January, 1942.

Rainey Francis is granted the honorary rank of Lieutenant. Dated 10th February, 1942.

George Rattray McNab to be 2nd Lieutenant (temp.). Dated 17th January, 1942.

Richard George Bunckenburg to be 2nd Lieutenant (temp.).

Dated 20th January, 1942.

Arthur Blair to be 2nd Lieutenant (temp.). Dated 29th January, 1942.

TERRITORIAL ARMY.

N.Z. Armoured Corps,

Otago Mounted Rifles.

Captain E. J. Anderson, M.C., to be Major (temp.). Dated 24th December, 1941.

Manawatu Mounted Rifles.

The undermentioned Lieutenants (temp.) to be Captains (temp.). Dated 1st November, 1941:-

E. A. Clarke. A. J. Galpin. R. H. Spicer.

Wellington East Coast Mounted Rifles.

The undermentioned to be 2nd Lieutenants (temp.). Dated 1st January, 1942:—

Robert James Stevens. John Grant Ross. Harold Luxton Renall. Charles Robert Wadman. Douglas Gordon McHardy. William Henry Adair.