Appointments to and Relinquishment of Commissions of Officers of the Royal New Zealand Air Force.

Air Department, Wellington, 12th February, 1942.

HIS Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to approve of the following approved to approve of the following appointments to and relinquishment of commissions of officers of the Royal New Zealand Air Force :-

GENERAL DUTIES BRANCH.

## Appointments.

The undermentioned are granted temporary commissions in the rank of Pilot Officer:

## As Pilots.

Dated 30th January, 1942— NZ 402231 Sergeant John Mervyn Warnock. NZ 404359 Sergeant Kenneth Fenton Heald.

Dated 1st February, 1942

NZ 401395 Sergeant Wilfred Charles Finch LEICESTER.

#### AS AIR OBSERVERS.

Dated 23rd January, 1942

Sergeant William Robert Esquilant. Sergeant Eric William Ernest BUTCHER. NZ 412471 NZ 405054

Sergeant Verdun Edward FROST. Sergeant David Ian McNAREY. NZ 41893 NZ 405299 NZ 41357 Sergeant Dugald Louis POPPELWELL.

NZ 404953 NZ 41522

Sergeant Harold John Sheild.
Sergeant Edric James Medwin.
Sergeant William John Robert Scollay.
Sergeant George Alfred Patrick.
Sergeant Frederick Hillon. NZ 41497 NZ 411442

NZ 41330 NZ 405288 Sergeant Augustus Richard LOADER.

#### As AIR GUNNERS.

Dated 30th January, 1942-

NZ 401440 Sergeant James Day McKeown. NZ 40734 Sergeant Reginald Leonard Clarke.

#### Transfer.

NZ 402235 Pilot Officer Derek Hanmer ATKINSON is transferred from the Reserve of Officers, Section I, Class A, to the General Duties Branch with seniority for purposes of pay and seniority as from 7th July, 1941. Dated 7th February,

#### EQUIPMENT BRANCH, SECTION I.

## Relinquishment.

Squadron Leader (Acting Wing Commander) Frederick Arnold Davis relinquishes his temporary commission on completion of his duty overseas. Dated 1st February, 1942.

F. JONES, Minister of Defence.

## Probation Officer appointed.

Prisons Department, Wellington, 12th February, 1942.

HIS Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to appoint to appoint

# Grace Brown

to be a Probation Officer under the Offenders Probation Act, 1920, for the City of Invercargill.

H. G. R. MASON, Minister of Justice.

# Police Gaoler appointed.

Prisons Department, Wellington, 12th February, 1942.

HIS Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to appoint to appoint

Constable Alexander McLennan

to be Police Gaoler at Coromandel, vice Constable A. E. H. Hinton, transferred.

H. G. R. MASON, Minister of Justice.

#### Coroner resigns.

Department of Justice, Wellington, 18th February, 1942.

IT IS Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to accept the resignation by to accept the resignation by

William Arthur Nelson, Esquire, of Kaikoura, of his appointment as a Coroner.

H. G. R. MASON, Minister of Justice.

Member of Board of Examiners under the Coal-mines Act, 1925, appointed.

Mines Department, Wellington, 11th February, 1942.

IS Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to appoint to appoint

James William Glendenning, Esquire,

to be a member of the Board of Examiners under the Coalmines Act, 1925, for a period of three years as from the 1st February, 1942.

P. C. WEBB, Minister of Mines.

(Mines N. 17/31.)

Appointment of Member of the Canteen Board.

Office of the Canteen Board, Internal Marketing Division, Wellington, 12th February, 1942.

T is hereby notified that His Excellency the Governor-General has in pursuance of the General has, in pursuance of the provisions of the Defence Canteen Emergency Regulations 1939, appointed

Wing Commander Francis Esme Theodore Hewlett, D.S.O.,

to be a member of the Canteen Board, in place of Group-Captain Arthur de Terrotte Nevill, C.B.E., who has resigned.

F. JONES, Minister of Defence.

#### Members of Domain Boards appointed.

#### Department of Lands and Survey, Wellington, 11th February, 1942.

HIS Excellency the Governor-General has, in pursuance of section 49 of the Public Parts. of section 49 of the Public Reserves, Domains, and National Parks Act, 1928, been pleased to make the following appointments:

# William Mitchell and Keith Arnold White

to be members of the Hillsborough Domain Board in place of Henry Vincent, deceased, and Harry Nuttridge, resigned.

> Arthur James Cotton, Allen Aylesford Clissold Stratford, and Harold Stanton

to be members of the Enner Glynn Domain Board in place of David Polglase, John Benjamin Darcie Kemp, and Bartlett Bladin Ingram, left the district.

### Robert Solley

to be a member of the Tahuna Domain Board in place of Robert Newton, resigned.

William Norman Gough Dunlop and Harold Gooding Stanlake

to be members of the West Melton Domain Board in place of Raymond Arthur Boag, left the district, and John Donaldson, resigned.

Richard Keall Dellow and Gordon Noel Harrison

to be members of the Mayfield Domain Board in place of George Glassey and Linley Richard Harrison, resigned.

## John Willson Law

to be a member of the Simson Park Domain Board in place of Harry Ernest Worsp, deceased.

# Ernest Eric Chapman

to be a member of the Warea Domain Board in place of Frank Gore Sole, resigned.  $\,$ 

# Olaf Trygvason

to be a member of the Moeraki Domain Board in place of Alexander Mowett Cormack, resigned.

#### Gerald Wade

to be a member of the Katikati Domain Board in place of Albert Edward Putt, resigned.

## Charles O'Brien and Benjamin Carter

to be members of the Orewa Domain Board in place of the President of the Auckland Automobile Association, ex officio, absent from three consecutive meetings, and Sydney James Elliott, resigned.

R. G. MACMORRAN, Under-Secretary.