N.Z. CHAPLAINS DEPARTMENT.

The Rev. Bronlow Osborne Forde Carlisle to be Chaplain, 4th Class (Baptist), Area 6. Dated 19th December, 1941.

APPOINTMENT OF NEW ZEALAND RED CROSS COMMISSIONER. MIDDLE EAST.

William Glenholme Tweedy, M.B.E., is appointed New Zealand Red Cross Commissioner, Middle East, and is granted the honorary rank of Major. Dated 22nd December,

Officers struck off the Strength of the 2nd New Zealand Expeditionary Force.

Zealand Expeditionary Force.

Major J. F. Potter, V.D., The Waikato Mounted Rifles, is struck off the strength of the 2nd New Zealand Expeditionary Force, dated 5th October, 1941, is posted to the New Zealand Temporary Staff in the rank of Major (temp.), and is posted for duty with the Instructional Staff, Armoured Fighting Vehicles School, Waiouru, dated 6th October, 1941.

Major (late Captain, 2nd New Zealand Expeditionary Force) F. W. Horton, The Nelson-Marlborough Mounted Rifles, is struck off the strength of thd 2nd New Zealand Expeditionary Force, dated 5th October, 1941, is posted to the New Zealand Temporary Staff in the rank of Captain (temp.), and is posted for duty with the Instructional Staff, Armoured Fighting Vehicles School, Waiouru, dated 6th October, 1941. October, 1941.

October, 1941.

Major (late Captain, 2nd New Zealand Expeditionary Force) W. R. Pigou, The Nelson-Marlborough Mounted Rifles, is struck off the strength of the 2nd New Zealand Expeditionary Force, dated 5th October, 1941, is posted to the New Zealand Temporary Staff in the rank of Captain (temp.), and is posted for duty with the Instructional Staff, Armoured Fighting Vehicles School, Waiouru, dated 6th October, 1941. October, 1941.

October, 1941.

Captain (late Major, 2nd New Zealand Expeditionary Force) H. T. Jennings, M.B., Ch.B., N.Z. Medical Corps, is struck off the strength of the 2nd New Zealand Expeditionary Force, dated 17th November, 1941, is posted to the New Zealand Temporary Staff in the rank of Major (temp.), dated 18th November, 1941, and is appointed Officer Commanding, N.Z. Medical Corps Training Depot, Trentham, dated 22nd November, 1941.

Captain O. J. Hutchison, 1st Battalion, The Nelson, Marlborough, and West Coast Regiment, is struck off the 2nd New Zealand Expeditionary Force, and is transferred to the Reserve of Officers, Class I (b), Area 9. Dated 26th December, 1941.

December, 1941.
Lieutenant T. A. Mead, Reserve of Officers, The Nelson, Lieutenant T. A. Mead, Reserve of Officers, The Nelson, Marlborough, and West Coast Regiment, is struck off the strength of the 2nd New Zealand Expeditionary Force, dated 26th December, 1941, is posted to the New Zealand Temporary Staff in the rank of Lieutenant (temp.), dated 27th December, 1941, and is appointed Platoon Commander, No. 1 Training Battalion, Mobilization Camp, Trentham, dated 2rd January, 1942.

dated 3rd January, 1942.

2nd Lieutenant A. G. M. Holms, 2nd Signals Company, N.Z. Corps of Signals, is struck off the strength of the 2nd New Zealand Expeditionary Force, and is transferred to the Reserve of Officers, Supplementary List. Dated 26th December, 1941.

2nd Lieutenant A. A. Broad is struck off the strength of the

2nd New Zealand Expeditionary Force, and is posted to the Reserve of Officers, Supplementary List. Dated 29th December, 1941.

F. JONES, Minister of Defence.

Appointment of Officers of the Home Guard.

Army Department, Wellington, 22nd December, 1941.

HIS Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to approve of the following appointments of officers of the Home Guard:—

HOME GUARD.

Gordon Hovey, O.B.E., to be Captain (temp.), and is appointed Assistant Group Adjutant, Group No. 4, Hamilton. Dated 1st August, 1941.

Arthur Bertram Collier to be Captain (temp.), and is appointed Assistant Group Quartermaster, Group No. 4, Hamilton. Dated 1st August, 1941.

Hensleigh Carthew Marryat Norris to be Captain (temp.), and is appointed Group Signals Officer, Group No. 4, Hamilton.

Dated Ist August, 1941.

Ernest William Forrest to be Captain (temp.), and is appointed Assistant Group Adjutant, Group No. 7A, Gisborne.

Dated 1st August, 1941.

Robert William James Edwards to be Captain (temp.), and is appointed Assistant Group Quartermaster, Group No. 7A, Gisborne. Dated 1st August, 1941. William Bury to be Captain (temp.), and is appointed Group Signals Officer, Group No. 7A, Gisborne. Dated 1st August, 1941.

August, 1941.

Frederick Charles Elliott to be Captain (temp.), and is appointed Assistant Group Quartermaster, Group No. 9A, Greymouth. Dated 1st August, 1941.

The undermentioned to be Captains (temp.), and are posted to the Hunterville Battalion. Dated 1st August, 1941:—

Henry Newell Waymouth. Richard John Linton. Alexander Ross. Vincent Ferris Toulmin.

The undermentioned to be Lieutenants (temp.), and are posted to the Hunterville Battalion. Dated 1st August,

Hugh Andrew Paul Slessor. Samuel James Heylands Lowry. Patrick Joseph Murphy. William Potaka. Ernest Gordon Anderson. Angus George Cameron. Alan Diehl.

The undermentioned to be Captains (temp.), and are posted to the Marton Battalion. Dated 1st August, 1941:—

Robert William Turner. Henry Fitzherbert Arkwright. George Herbert Denbow. Robert Ledlie Gibson. Alexander Percy Howard.

The undermentioned to be Lieutenants (temp.), and are posted to the Marton Battalion. Dated 1st August, 1941:-

William Cyril Whittington. William Cyrii Whitington. Hilary Lempriere Grut. Anthony Caccia Birch. Alan Eric Hardy. Jocelyn Dashwood Smith. Clarence Moore Holdaway. Robert Wilson. Leslie Newsome Bradley. Hugh Godfrey Briant. Charles Waters Collins. Malcolm Clement Amadio. Charles Eric Fogelberg. Roger Kirkpatrick Simpson. William Dudley Willis. Laurence Gordon. James Caithness.

John Herbert Williamson to be Major (temp.), and is appointed to command the Greymouth Battalion. Dated 1st August, 1941.

The undermentioned to be Captains (temp.), and are posted to the Hawera Battalion. Dated 1st August, 1941:—

Cyril Ernest Whittington. Michael Patrick Comerford. Edward Francis Lacey. Thomas Hey. William Dunlop.

The undermentioned to be Lieutenants (temp.), and are posted to the Hawera Battalion. Dated 1st August, 1941:—

Arthur Coleman. Rydney Oscar Thomas.
Roderick Syme.
Thomas George Liddington.
Frederick Charles Foden. Alfred George Walker. Wyndham Arthur Fendall. Andrew Vivian Lithgow. Clarence Noel Irvine William James Marsh. John Crow Potter. Alfred Edward Williams Owen Gordon Castle. Harold Walter Dickson. Jacob Randrup Moller.

LINES OF COMMUNICATION SIGNALS (RAILWAYS).

Guy Wilfrid Wyles to be Major (temp.), and is appointed to command Lines of Communication Signals (Railways). Dated 9th December, 1941.

The undermentioned to be Captains (temp.):

Dated 9th December, 1941-Cyrus Roy Lovatt.

Dated 10th December, 1941-William John Wray. John Nairn Munro. Charles Stephen Plank. Stanley George Sargent.