The undermentioned to be Lieutenants (temp.). Dated 10th December, 1941:

> Thomas Gallagher. David Henry Jones. Lot Fahy. Ernest Henry Pritchard. John O'Connor. Robert Darroch. Michael James Gallagher. Donald Cuthbert Curtis.

The undermentioned to be 2nd Lieutenants (temp.). Dated 10th December, 1941:

> Frederick Hantom. Harold William Springer. Harold William Springer.
> Richard George Myerscough.
> George Errington Cooper.
> Joseph Walker Jebb.
> William Paterson.
> Albert Frank Warren. Gordon Noble Fahey.

> > F. JONES, Minister of Defence.

Appointments of Officers of the Home Guard.

Army Department, Wellington, 22nd December, 1941.

HIS Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to approve of the following appointments of officers of the Home Guard:—

HOME GUARD.

Wynne Peyton Gray, M.C., to be Major (temp.), and is appointed Deputy Group Director, Group No. 4, Hamilton. Dated 1st August, 1941.

The undermentioned to be Captains (temp.), and are posted to the Ngatiporou Battalion. Dated 1st August, 1941:—

Harold Membrey Thomas. Wilfred Henry Jackson. Alfred Ernest Kemp. Herbert Vincent Fairlie. Philip Waldon Barrett.

The undermentioned to be Lieutenants (temp.), and are posted to the Ngatiporou Battalion. Dated 1st August, 1941 :-

James Trevor Wood. Moana Ngata.
Ranji Wilcox Ford.
Francis Walter Neal.
Cecil Gladstone Downey. Hirina Waititi. James Callaghan. Henry John Dewes Herbert Roy Gasson. Norman Harold Charles Anderson. James Reginald Arnold. Tutaawa Arapo Pewhairangi.

The undermentioned to be Captains (temp.), and are posted to the Tairawhiti Battalion. Dated 1st August, 1941:—

George Wanoa Stainton. Melville Quantrille Gudgeon. Wallace Atkins. Reginald William James. Thomas Gilvray. Tawhai Tamepo.

The undermentioned to be Lieutenants (temp.), and are posted to the Tairawhiti Battalion. Dated 1st August,

Frederick Jackson. Alfred Napoleon Wilkins. Reginald Wilfred Chaplin. Eric Omundsen. Parekura Herewini. George Wynyard Henare. James Edward Omundsen. Charles Goldsmith. George William Mackey. Tipi Kaa. George Nepia. George Samuel Wootton. Daniel Grace. Wiremu Ruwhiu. Pine Tibble.
Pare Pewhairangi. Thomas Edge. Tuakana Huhu.

The undermentioned to be Captains (temp.), and are posted to the Rangiora Battalion. Dated 1st August, 1941:—

George Alexander McAlpine. William Briggs. Leonard John Stokes,

The undermentioned to be Lieutenants (temp.), and are posted to the Rangiora Battalion. Dated 1st August, 1941:—

Walter Cook Prosser. Lionel Bews Ord. William Macann. Robert McIntyre.
Gerald Craig Beattie.
Francis James Farquhar.
Harold Dean Greenwood.
George Alexander McLean. Walter Stanley Wright.

The undermentioned to be Captain (temp.), and is posted to the Ashburton Battalion. Dated 1st August, 1941:—

William Leonard Harrison.

The undermentioned to be Lieutenants (temp.), and are posted to the Ashburton Battalion. Dated 1st August, 1941:—

Frederick Johnston Alexander. Herbert Rickett Hollis. Duncan McRae.

F. JONES, Minister of Defence.

Appointment of Officers of the Home Guard.

Army Department, Wellington, 24th December, 1941.

IS Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to approve of the following appointments of officers of the Home Guard .-

HOME GUARD.

Alexander Ritchie Strang to be Captain (temp.), and is appointed Assistant Group Adjutant, Group No. 8, New Plymouth. Dated 1st August, 1941.

Philip Franklin Atkinson to be Captain (temp.), and is appointed Assistant Group Quartermaster, Group No. 8, New Plymouth. Dated 1st August, 1941.

Lieutenant A. T. Carroll, Wairoa Battalion, is granted the temporary rank of Captain. Dated 1st September, 1941.

The undermentioned to be Captains (temp.), and are posted to the Okato Battalion. Dated 1st August, 1941:—

Charles Wilfred Looney. George Leslie Grey. Gilbert Samuel Kirker. William James Wright.

The undermentioned to be Lieutenants (temp.), and are posted to the Okato Battalion. Dated 1st August, 1941:—

Henry Owen Donnelly. Francis Elliot Wallis. Ernest Bowyer Corbett. Clemence Michael Jans. Albert Richmond Bayly. Arthur Bryan Gold. Gerald Douglas Dawson. Edward Corbett. Stephen Ingram Digby Roebuck. Clement George Cocksedge. Archibald John Heibner. Thomas Leonard Walsh. Edward Leslie Hughes. Russell Alexander Wilcox. David Martin Harvey. James Arnold Moore Snell. George West Watt. Albert Gordon Jarman. Frank Baker. Victor William Henry Dawson.

The undermentioned to be Captain (temp.), and is posted to the Cook Battalion. Dated 1st August, 1941:—

Ernest Harries.

The undermentioned to be Lieutenants (temp.), and are posted to the Cook Battalion. Dated 1st August, 1941:—

Frank Ames. Oswald George James. Henry Charles Fraser. Francis John Herbert. Robert Brown.

The undermentioned to be Captains (temp.), and are posted to the Levin Battalion. Dated 1st August, 1941:—

Francis John William Stallard, M.C. George William Wilson. Thomas Gaius Vincent. Valentine Gordon Hunter, D.C.M. Charles Edward Catlow Webb. Stanley Hugh Roberts,