Dated 22nd February, 1942— Hugh Shields McCarrol Arthur Benjamin Cox, M.M.

Dated 7th April, 1942-Herbert Boyer Timmings.

The undermentioned to be Lieutenants (temp.):-

Dated 1st August, 1941-John Frederick Hamilton. John Robert Thomson. Varner James Cook. Francis Allen Long Montague O'Dowda. John Sloan. James Campbell. James Speden Dickie. William George Nelson Boyd.

Dated 1st December, 1941-Leslie Richard Howe. Eric Johnson Trigg. James McCleary. Noel James Barrow. Noel James Darrow. Hector Vaughan Johnston. Keith Stanley Brabant. Cyril McGregor Asher. Henry Augustus Sillifant. Harold Easterbrook Smith. William Roy Stanners.
Laurance Alan Webster.
Robert William England. Avon Cecil Tatton.

Dated 12th December, 1941— Lawrence Howard Yorke.

Dated 1st January, 1942— Charles Braid. Richard Carr.

Dated 21st January, 1942— David Blair Cockerell.

Dated 29th January, 1942-Edwin Arthur Williams.

Dated 6th February, 1942-George Frederick Horsfall.

Dated 9th February, 1942-John Shaw.

Dated 14th February, 1942— William Ewart Bromley-Smith. Jack Gandy.

Dated 16th February, 1942— Wilfred Arthur Turley. Andrew Kirke Gilmour.

Dated 17th February, 1942-Mervyn Preston Player. Albert Wadkin Moverley.

Dated 20th February, 1942— Theodore Mardoc Ellis.

Dated 22nd February, 1942—William Josiah Dell. Joseph Hall. Thomas William Weston-Arnold. Thomas William Knightbridge. Eric Hugo Bagnall. George Alfred Alexander. William McKean, D.C.M., M.M. Henry John Brooks. Frederick James Foote.

Dated 23rd February, 1942-Harold James Horn. Sidney Lancelot Edward Denton.

Dated 27th February, 1942-William Charles Brydon.

Dated 1st March, 1942-Cecil Coupland Dix. Eric Allan March. John William Douglas. George Ivan Martin. Edward Noah Rowe.

Dated 2nd March, 1942— Ralph Woolerton. James Arthur Tarr. James Scott Macky.

Dated 3rd March, 1942 Gilbert George Cottle.

Dated 6th March, 1942-Kenneth Horsfield Parker. William Alexander Pringle.

Dated 7th March, 1942-William Francis Barber.

Dated 11th March, 1942— William Edwin Flowers. Samuel Maurice Shuttleworth. Dated 13th March, 1942-Richard Douglas Elliott. Allan Leslie Lockhart.

Dated 14th March, 1942-Ian Lionel Crowley.

Dated 15th March, 1942-George William Soal.

Dated 18th March, 1942— John Seddon. Charles Henderson. Samuel Dunn. Albert Henry Berry. Ian Deans Low.

Dated 25th March, 1942-Selwyn Norreys Von Sturmer.

Dated 26th March, 1942 Kenneth Ancel McDougall.

Dated 28th March, 1942-Huddart Richards Sampson.

Dated 30th March, 1942— Ernest Pearson Mulvanah.

Dated 31st March, 1942-Ernest Job Herbert. Clifford Charles Bowater. Henry Samuel Milford.

Dated 1st April, 1942-Trevor Read Bloomfield. Alan Rollo Gillespie. James Wilfred Mexted. Luke Desimir Nola. Leslie George Moss.

Dated 8th April, 1942— Arthur Hirst.

Dated 11th April, 1942-Thomas Ernest Rowlands.

Dated 30th April, 1942-Herbert Arthur Robertson.

The undermentioned Lieutenants (temp.) to be Captains (temp.):

Dated 12th March, 1942— R. G. G. Westenra.

Dated 7th April, 1942— G. I. McGregor.

Dated 11th April, 1942-T. Learmont.

Captain (temp.) P. D. Laurie relinquishes his commission on transfer to the Territorial Force. Dated 5th March, 1942. Captain (temp.) E. H. Thompson relinquishes his commission on appointment to the N.Z. Temporary Staff. Dated 7th April, 1942.

Lieutenant (temp.) C. L. Saxton relinquishes his commission on transfer to the Territorial Force. Dated 1st February,

Lieutenant (temp.) T. M. McKenzie relinquishes his commission on transfer to the Territorial Force. Dated 22nd

February, 1942. Lieutenant (temp.) R. A. McGregor relinquishes his com-

mission on appointment to a commission in the N.Z. Temporary Staff. Dated 23rd February, 1942.

Lieutenant (temp.) D. W. Pountney relinquishes his commission on transfer to the Territorial Force. Dated 16th March, 1942.

The undermentioned resign their commissions:-

Major (temp.) B. J. Holdsworth. Dated 12th March, 1942.

Major (temp.) T. M. Charters. Dated 13th March, 1942.
Major (temp.) R. L. Pearless, on transfer to the Territorial Force. Dated 11th April, 1942.
Captain (temp.) W. A. Knaggs. Dated 2nd March, 1942.
Captain (temp.) C. D. Hayhurst. Dated 2nd April, 1942.
Lieutenant (temp.) M. B. Richards. Dated 9th February, 1942. 1942.

1942. Lieutenant (temp.) J. C. Corbishley. Dated 10th February, 1942. Lieutenant (temp.) S. H. Bird. Dated 9th March, 1942. Lieutenant (temp.) F. Haar. Dated 10th March, 1942. Lieutenant (temp.) J. S. H. Robertson. Dated 17th March, 1942.

Lieutenant (temp.) H. Coxhead. Dated 30th March, 1942.

Lieutenant (temp.) T. P. McCarthy, on transfer to the Territorial Force. Dated 13th April, 1942.

The notice published in New Zealand Gazette No. 45, dated 30th April, 1942, relative to the resignation of Captain W. W. Webb, is hereby cancelled.

F. JONES, Minister of Defence.