COMMANDS.

Major (temp. Colonel) D. T. Wood, E.D., relinquishes command of the 1st N.Z. Mounted Rifles Brigade and the temporary rank of Colonel, is appointed to command the North Auckland Mounted Rifles, and is granted the temporary rank of Lieutenant-Colonel while so employed. Dated 20th December, 1941.

QUEEN ALEXANDRA'S (WELLINGTON WEST COAST) MOUNTED RIFLES.

2nd Lieutenant (temp.) W. M. Findlay is granted the temporary rank of Lieutenant. Dated 1st November, 1941.

THE AUCKLAND (EAST COAST) MOUNTED RIFLES.

Major J. F. Potter, V.D., from The Waikato Mounted Rifles, to be Major, with seniority from 28th November, 1930, and is appointed to command the Regiment. Dated 22nd December, 1941.

THE WAIKATO MOUNTED RIFLES.

Major J. F. Potter, V.D., relinquishes his appointment in the N.Z. Temporary Staff and is transferred to The Auckland (East Coast) Mounted Rifles. Dated 22nd December, 1941.

THE NELSON-MARLBOROUGH MOUNTED RIFLES.

The undermentioned 2nd Lieutenants (temp.) are granted the temporary rank of Lieutenant. Dated 8th November, 1941 :--

> B. Masefield. A. L. Ryan. H. J. Stace. P. R. W. Adams. A. R. Monson. R. B. E. Story. W. H. Kelman. B. Mills.

N.Z. ARTILLERY.

Major H. N. Webster ceases to be posted to the 2nd Field Regiment, and is posted to the 10th Heavy Regiment, with seniority from 1st December, 1941. Dated 9th December,

Captain (temp.) A. W. Easther ceases to be posted to the 2nd Field Regiment, and is posted to the 10th Heavy Regiment, with seniority from 5th December, 1941. Dated 9th December, 1941.

CORPS OF N.Z. ENGINEERS.

Lieutenant (temp.) J. P. Brodie ceases to be posted to the 2nd Field Company, and is posted to the 3rd Field Company, with seniority from 11th October, 1941. Dated 11th October,

N.Z. Corps of Signals.

Lawrence Keith Morrison to be 2nd Lieutenant (temp.), and is posted to the 2nd Signals Company. Dated 13th December, 1941.

Stuart Gordon Anderson, M.C. (late Captain, Imperial Army), to be Captain (temp.), and is appointed Officer Commanding Army Signals. Dated 22nd December, 1941.

THE RUAHINE REGIMENT.

2nd Lieutenant (temp.) S. K. Siddells, 1st Battalion, is granted the temporary rank of Lieutenant. Dated 6th October, 1941.

THE WELLINGTON REGIMENT (CITY OF WELLINGTON'S OWN). Richard Colin Thornton to be 2nd Lieutenant (temp.), and is posted to the 1st Battalion. Dated 17th December, 1941.

NATIONAL MILITARY RESERVE.

2nd Lieutenant (temp.) W. S. Fanselow, 1st Battalion, is granted the temporary rank of Lieutenant. Dated 1st January, 1942.

The undermentioned to be 2nd Lieutenants (temp.), and are posted to the 16th Company (Blenheim and Picton). Dated 1st December, 1941:—

Llewellyn Alexander Stedman. Kenneth Vernon Maurice.

N.Z. MEDICAL CORPS.

Lieutenant (temp. Major) W. R. Fea, M.B., Ch.B., commanding the 8th Field Ambulance, relinquishes the temporary rank of Major, and is granted the temporary rank of Lieutenant-Colonel while so employed. Dated 16th Decem-

ber, 1941.

Derek Raymond Ryder, M.B., Ch.B., to be Lieutenant, Southern Military District (unattached). Dated 11th Decem-

ber, 1941.

Frederick Boyes Korkis, M.B., Ch.B., D.L.O., F.R.C.S. (Eng.), to be Lieutenant, and is attached to the 9th Heavy Regiment. Dated 12th December, 1941.

N.Z. CHAPLAINS DEPARTMENT.

The Rev. Harold Francis Trehey to be Chaplain, 4th Class (Roman Catholic), Area 5. Dated 23rd December, 1941.

F. JONES, Minister of Defence.

Appointments of Officers of the Home Guard.

Army Department, Wellington, 10th January, 1942.

HIS Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to approve of the following arrange in the pleased **T1** to approve of the following appointments of officers of the Home Guard:—

HOME GUARD.

Sydney Cuthbert Johnston to be Captain (temp.), and is appointed Assistant Group Adjutant, Group No. 1, Auckland.

Dated 1st August, 1941.

Samuel Wilfred Turley to be Captain (temp.), and is appointed Assistant Group Quartermaster, Group No. 1, Auckland.

Dated 1st August, 1941.

The undermentioned to be Captains (temp.), and are posted to Battalions as stated against their names. Dated 1st August, 1941 :-

Sydney Thomas Hopkins Roskilly (Fordell Battalion). Cecil William Stobie, D.C.M. (Golden Bay Battalion). William Henry Gillespie (Eyre Battalion)

The undermentioned to be Lieutenants (temp.), and are osted to Battalions as stated against their names. Dated 1st August, 1941 :-

Roger Wiremu Atmore (Marton Battalion).

Norman Crabb (Marton Battalion). William Charles Taylor (Hastings Battalion).
Raymond Colin Walter Hill (Wairoa Battalion).
John Macalister Grant (Hawke Battalion). William Leonard Rapley (Golden Bay Battalion).

John Samuel Hemy Robertson (Christchurch West Battalion). Edward Oliver Harrison (Rangiora Battalion). John Rollo Wilkie (Ashburton Battalion). William Henry Hunt (Ashburton Battalion).
John William Matthew Parsons (Ashburton Battalion). Roland James Chapman (Ashburton Battalion).

The undermentioned to be Captains (temp.), and are posted to the Waikohu Battalion. Dated 1st August, 1941:—

Leonard Herbert Lionel Maclean. John Orgias. Bernard Ralph Fitzgerald. Gordon John Gregory. George Oswald Donovan. John Leslie Lionel Spence.

The undermentioned to be Lieutenants (temp.), and are ested to the Waikohu Battalion. Dated 1st August, 1941 :--

John Guy Appleton. David Stewart Aitkenhead. John Porteous Barr.
Francis Byers Rowley.
Alfred George Pitcher.
Arthur Telford Richmond.
Thomas Alexander Redpath. Frank Hilliary Tonks.
Harold Llewlyn Knowlton.
George Thomas Hutchins.
Alexander Johnston McTavis. Allan James McIntosh. Charles Stott Corlett. Maurice Harold Fitzgerald.

The undermentioned to be Captains (temp.), and are posted to the Urenui Battalion. Dated 1st August, 1941:—

Francis Henry Kotare Mace. Ernest Samuel Elliott. Arnold Ernest Denne. Hubert Lionel Lewis.

The undermentioned to be Lieutenants (temp.), and are posted to the Urenui Battalion. Dated 1st August, 1941:—

Alexander Stuart Hunter. David Thomas Wiley. Clifford John Quail. Charles Brison Lepper.
James Craig Simpson Wallace.
Milson Chatterton Fenwick. Walter McCaul.
Leslie Clyde Skemp.
Edward Laurence Lye.
Henry John Alexander.
Ronald Andrews. Alfred Charles Smith. Robert Frederick Johnson. Sydney Montgomery Purdie. Walter A. Burton. Darcy Lange. Victor Stuart Larsen.