Appointments and Promotions of Officers of the New Zealand Military Forces.

Army Department, Wellington, 22nd July, 1942.

H IS Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to approve of the following appointments and promotions of officers of the New Zealand Military Forces:—

STAFF.

Colonel V. F. S. Hawkins, M.C., the Lancashire Fusiliers, is granted the local temporary rank of Brigadier. Dated 1st April, 1942.

Lieutenant-Colonel C. S. J. Duff, 2nd N.Z.E.F., to be Colonel (temp.). Dated 20th June, 1942.

N.Z. STAFF CORPS.

Lieutenant-Colonel L. G. Goss to be Brigadier (temp.). Dated 27th March, 1942.

N.Z. TEMPORARY STAFF.

Lieutenant-Colonel (temp.) G. Lyon, M.C., E.D., to be Colonel (temp.). Dated 20th June, 1942.

Eric Hall McCormick to be Lieutenant (temp.). Dated

1st June, 1942.

N.Z. ARTILLERY.

Major (temp. Lieutenant-Colonel) E. J. Phillips to be Colonel (temp.). Dated 20th June, 1942.

RESERVE OF OFFICERS.

Supplementary List.

Horace Greeley Miller to be Hon. Colonel. Dated 21st July, 1942.

The undermentioned to be 2nd Lieutenants (temp.). Dated 7th July, 1942:-

James Dyson. Cecil Harold Schrafft.

Officer ceasing to be seconded to the 2nd New Zealand Expeditionary Force.

Lieutenant-Colonel (temp. Brigadier, 2nd N.Z.E.F.) L. G. Goss, N.Z. Staff Corps. Dated 27th March, 1942.

F. JONES, Minister of Defence.

Appointments of Officers of the Home Guard.

Army Department, Wellington, 17th July, 1942.

H IS Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to approve of the following appointments of officers of the Home Guard with effect as from 19th June, 1942:—

TRAFFIC CONTROL CORPS.

The undermentioned to be Majors (temp.):-Andrew Eric Forsyth. Percy Collinson Watson.

The undermentioned to be Captains (temp.): John Edward Ainsworth. William Barbour Bruce McDowell. Edward Wilson. Claude Derwent Treadgold.

The undermentioned to be Lieutenants (temp.):-

Law Hawkshaw Atkinson. Norman Ernest Jory. John William Coddington. Charles Merritt Pilkington. Joseph Pratt. Joseph Pratt.
Frederick Jones.
Cyril Clive Davenport.
William Wilson.
Donald Edmond Morrow.
Robert Singleton Gardiner.
James Hood Delves.
Victor Robert Kingdon.
Christopher Ignatius Fletcher.
William Albert Boaz. William Albert Boaz. Stewart Hanna. Stewart Hanna.
Hugh Francis Gilligan.
Allan Edward Hodgson.
George Alexander Robertson Ferguson.
John Kennedy Crawford.
Arthur Charles Crawford.
Bryan Russell Hill.
Martin Lohn Hartiman Martin John Hartigan.
Cyril Henry Fippard.
Charles Sydney Nicholson.
Robert Frederick Hynes. James Shearer. Cyril John Robinson. Robert Maurice McKnight.

William Gordon Milne,

Alfred Errol Ansell. Robert Metcalfe. Douglas Brims Robertson. Cyril Ensor Varcoe. Claude Anton Joseph Peterson. John Charles Carew Edwards. Jonathan Taylor Brough. John Abraham Laird. Algar Hamilton Burgess. John William Richards. John William Roworth. Trevor William Stringer. Trevor William Stringer.
William George Letham.
Douglas Mackay.
David Mario Ford.
Leslie Ernest Simmons.
William Prentice Gibson.
Robert Jeffrey Cowie,
Robert Owen Wilkinson.
Condell Carden Watson Clarke.
John Albert Arthur.
James Scott. James Scott. Norman Vectis Marshall.

The undermentioned to be 2nd Lieutenants (temp.): Clarence Graham Bird. Arthur Frederick Firth. Leslie Arthur Ferguson.

Raymond Booth Doggett. Keith Robert Sharpe. James Suffern Hanna. James Suffern Hanna.

Donald Francis Ross.
Thomas Harley Thomassen.
Wallace Edwin Yates.
Clifford Gordon Watson.
Vivian Clarence Chamberlain.
Charles James Peter McLaughlin.
William Oliver Taylor.
Keith Frederick Connell.
Reginald Johns.
George Henry Jenner.
Vernard Wilfred Wright.
John Alexander Ramsay.
Rewi William Dixon.
Walter James Tait.
Neil Ewing Colville.
Reginald Hughes.
Horatio Piripi Jefcoate.
Andrew McPhee.
Eric Henry James Wren.

Eric Henry James Wren. Alexander Francis Dougherty.

F. JONES, Minister of Defence.

Appointments, Reduction in Seniority, and Relinquishment of Officers of the Royal New Zealand Air Force.

Air Department, Wellington, 14th July, 1942.

weimigeon, 14th July, 1942.

II IS Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to approve of the following appointments, reduction in seniority, and relinquishment of officers of the Royal New Zealand Air Force:—

GENERAL DUTIES BRANCH.

Appointments.

The undermentioned are granted temporary commissions in the rank of Pilot Officer:

As PILOT.

Dated 10th June, 1942-NZ 402208 Warrant Officer William Lister MILLER.

AS AIR GUNNER.

Dated 18th May, 1942-NZ 40925 Sergeant Gordon Phillip NEWDICK.

Reductions in Seniority.

Flying Officers James Ralph Court and Philip Robert Colfox Clark were dealt with summarily under section 47 of the Air Force Act and were sentenced to take rank and precedence as if their respective appointments as Flying Officer bore date the 24th June, 1942.

ADMINISTRATIVE AND SPECIAL DUTIES BRANCH.

Appointments.

The undermentioned are granted temporary commissions in the rank of Pilot Officer. Dated 25th May, 1942:—

NZ 40123 Acting-Sergeant Selwyn Milburn Graham.

1670 James Langton White. 1571 Arthur Lennie Bignell. 1572 John Fraser Baragwanath.

NZ NZ

40121

John Fraser Baragwanath.
Acting-Corporal John Thomas Burton.
Acting-Corporal Herbert William Hoare.
Geoffrey Grey Muir.
Arthur Henry Churton. NZ NZ NZ 39769

1573

1574 Percy Kenneth BRYAN. 1575