The undermentioned Captains (temp.) relinquish their commission on appointment to the N.Z. Temporary Staff:—

Dated 12th July, 1942-

A. G. Stevenson.

Dated 20th July, 1942

H. J. Henderson. N. G. Harding. D. R. Conway.

J. J. Crotty.

Dated 3rd August, 1942-T. N. Hay-Campbell.

The undermentioned Lieutenants (temp.) relinquish their commissions on appointment to the N.Z. Temporary Staff:—

Dated 11th July, 1942-

M. B. Hirst. C. D. Corliss.

Dated 20th July, 1942— J. G. Hawkins.

Dated 28th July, 1942-M. S. Campbell.

The undermentioned Lieutenants (temp.) relinquish their commissions on appointment to the Territorial Force:—

Dated 9th June, 1942-

E. B. E. Taylor.

Dated 28th July, 1942-G. Gilchrist.

H. J. Thomas. N. T. Baker.

Lieutenant (temp.) J. T. Wood relinquishes his commission on appointment to the Royal N.Z. Air Force. Dated 20th June, 1942.

Captain (temp.) F. College resigns his commission. Dated 8th

June, 1942.
Lieutenant (temp.) N. C. Blackburne resigns his commission.
Dated 11th July, 1942.

F. TONES. Minister of Defence.

F. JONES, Minister of Defence.

Appointments, Promotions, and Resignations of Officers of the Home Guard.

> Army Department, Wellington, 22nd August, 1942.

HIS Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to approve of the following appointments, promotions, and resignations of officers of the Home Guard:—

HOME GUARD.

William Ransom Stuckey to be Captain (temp.). Dated 7th August, 1942.

The undermentioned to be 2nd Lieutenants (temp.), and are granted the temporary rank of Captain:—

Dated 3rd February, 1942— John William Macleod.

Dated 1st May, 1942— Robert Armstrong.

Dated 9th June, 1942— Thomas Ralph Bridsall.

Dated 15th June, 1942-

Henry Thomas Jones.
John Murray McLauchlan.
Charles Hugh Bleach.
Arthur Turner Free.

John Edward James, M.M.

The undermentioned to be 2nd Lieutenants (temp.), and are granted the temporary rank of Lieutenant. Dated 15th June, 1942 :-

Herbert Vivian Goodsir. Clarence Pilling.
James Mitchell Marshall.
William Cecil Clifford Moncur.

The undermentioned to be 2nd Lieutenants (temp.). Dated 15th June, 1942:

Allan Nicol Mitchell. Felix Michael Culling. Charles Andrew Baird. Ernest James Mason.
Walter Wood.
John Longstaff Baines.
John Sharkie. Arthur James Spencer. James Watt. William John Wittich Campbell. Cecil Bedford Atkinson. Bernard Roderick Mathieson.
Arthur James Stewart.
Alexander James Cameron.
Leonard Wilfred Harvey.
William David Forrest Miller. John Black. Frederick Richard Tucker.
James Alexander Kirkland. Alexander George Peat.

Lieutenant (temp.) J. F. Johnson to be Captain (temp.). Dated 16th February, 1942.

Lieutenant (temp.) G. Smith to be Captain (temp.). Dated 1st August, 1942.

The undermentioned Lieutenants (temp.) relinquish their commissions on appointment to the N.Z. Temporary Staff:—

V. E. Douglas. Dated 1st June, 1942. W. R. Harry. Dated 8th July, 1942. C. J. E. Smith. Dated 3rd August, 1942. T. S. D. Hayton. Dated 3rd August, 1942.

Lieutenant (temp.) W. J. T. Cavanagh relinquishes his commission on appointment to the Territorial Force. Dated 27th June, 1942.

The undermentioned Lieutenants (temp.) resign their commissions :-

G. R. B. B. Berney. Dated 29th June, 1942.
 A. F. Wells. Dated 9th July, 1942.

F. JONES, Minister of Defence.

Appointments, Promotions, and Transfer of Officers of the Royal New Zealand Air Force.

Air Department, Wellington, 18th August, 1942.

H IS Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to approve of the following appointments, promotions, and transfer of officers of the Royal New Zealand Air Force:—

GENERAL DUTIES BRANCH.

Appointments.

The undermentioned are granted temporary commissions in the rank of Pilot Officer:-

As Pilots.

Dated 1st May, 1942— NZ 401368 Sergeant Charles Anthony Armstrong, D.F.M.

Dated 3rd July, 1942— NZ 401955 Flight Sergeant Frederick James Malcolm PALMER.

As AIR OBSERVERS.

Dated 4th June, 1942— NZ 403606 Flight Sergeant Frank Colwyn Jones.

Dated 15th August, 1942-

NZ 401198 Sergeant Oliver Kiwa Barnett. NZ 401262 Sergeant Bruce Telford Drummond.

Promotions.

The undermentioned Flying Officers to be Flight Lieutenants (temp.). Dated 27th July, 1942:—

Alan Murray Hobbs, D.F.C. Graham Howe Francis, D.F.C. Richard Arthur Rumbold White.

The undermentioned Pilot Officers to be Flying Officers (temp.) :=

Dated 23rd July, 1942— George Maxwell Davies. Renton Stewart RUTHERFORD. Eric John Robert YATES.

Dated 26th July, 1942— Donald Arthur Adams. Derek Vaughan Bullock. Robert Thomson Fleming.

Dated 31st July, 1942— Richard Webb Sampson. Hector Arthur McKenzie.

Transfer.

 $\rm NZ\,1655~Pilot$ Officer Ronald James Walton is transferred from the Reserve of Officers, Section II, Class A, to the General Duties Branch in the rank of Pilot Officer. Dated 25th July, 1942.

EQUIPMENT BRANCH, SECTION II.

Appointment.

NZ 437003 Warrant Officer Joseph Frederick Band is granted a temporary commission in the rank of Pilot Officer. Dated 1st August, 1942.

ADMINISTRATIVE AND SPECIAL DUTIES BRANCH.

Appointments.

NZ 1656 Pilot Officer David CLARK (ex R.A.F.V.R.) is granted a temporary commission in the rank of Pilot Officer with seniority 1st July, 1941. Dated 13th May, 1942.

NZ 1657 Leo Lemuel White is granted a temporary commission in the rank of Pilot Officer. Dated 15th August, 1942.

Promotion.

Pilot Officer David CLARK to be Flying Officer (temp.). Dated 1st July, 1942.