Officers ceasing to be seconded to the 2nd New Zealand Expeditionary Force.

Lieutenant R. M. Irwin, M.B., Ch.B., N.Z. Medical Corps.

Dated 15th April, 1942.

2nd Lieutenant (Lieutenant, 2nd New Zealand Expeditionary Force) K. G. K. Cropp, N.Z. Artillery, dated 6th September, 1942, and is posted to the N.Z. Temporary Staff with the rank of Lieutenant (temp.), dated 7th September, 1942.

Officers struck off the Strength of the 2nd New Zealand Expeditionary Force.

Major A. C. B. Biggs, M.C., F.R.C.S. (Eng.), L.R.C.P. (Lond.),

D.P.H. Dated 2nd September, 1942.
Lieutenant M. G. Cuthbert. Dated 2nd September, 1942.
Lieutenant E. R. Percy. Dated 3rd September, 1942.
Lieutenant S. N. S. Crump. Dated 3rd September, 1942.
2nd Lieutenant R. A. Howarth. Dated 29th July, 1942.

F. JONES, Minister of Defence.

 $\begin{tabular}{ll} {\bf Appointments~and~Relinquishment~of~Officers~of~the~Royal~New~Zeal and}\\ {\bf Air~Force.} \end{tabular}$

Air Department, Wellington, 17th September, 1942.

HIS Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to approve of the following appointments and relinquishment of officers of the Royal New Zealand Air Force:—

GENERAL DUTIES BRANCH.

Appointments.

The undermentioned are granted temporary commissions in the rank of Pilot Officer:

As PILOTS.

Dated 27th May, 1942— NZ 405220 Sergeant John Devore Bewley. NZ 41488 Sergeant Ian George Medwin.

Dated 2nd July, 1942— NZ 41472 Flight Sergeant Noel Ainsley CRESSWELL.

Dated 5th July, 1942— NZ 391337 Flight Sergeant Ronald Lavender Baker.

Dated 8th July, 1942— NZ 405337 Flight Sergeant Jack Graham Stewart.

As AIR OBSERVERS.

Dated 6th March, 1942-

NZ 402240 Sergeant Eric William Barr. NZ 40223 Sergeant Morris Bruce Fearn, D.F.M.

Dated 27th May, 1942— NZ 404678 Sergeant Terence Albert Dixon.

Dated 11th June, 1942— NZ 403613 Flight Sergeant Percy Henderson Stewart.

AS AIR NAVIGATOR.

Dated 28th August, 1942-

NZ 416695 Sergeant William Granville Smith.

As AIR GUNNERS.

Dated 27th May, 1942— NZ 404060 Flight Sergeant John McConachie Goddard.

Dated 18th July, 1942— NZ 40929 Flight Sergeant John Henry Charles Wake-FIELD.

Dated 8th August, 1942-

NZ 404074 Flight Sergeant Edward Albert Letchford.

EQUIPMENT BRANCH, SECTION I.

Appointments.

ACCOUNTANT OFFICERS.

The undermentioned are granted temporary commissions in the rank of Pilot Officer:-

Dated 8th August, 1942-

NZ 39783 Flight Sergeant Ian Eastwood ALLAN.

Dated 24th August, 1942— NZ 402023 Acting Flight Sergeant Herbert Maurice BOLTON

> EQUIPMENT BRANCH, SECTION II, GROUP I. Appointments.

The undermentioned are granted temporary commissions in the rank of Pilot Officer. Dated 24th August, 1942:—

As SIGNAL OFFICER.

NZ 37179 Flight Sergeant Bernard George Willis.

AS RADIO OFFICER.

NZ 42144 A.C. 1 John Blake GREGORY.

EQUIPMENT BRANCH, SECTION II, GROUP II.

Appointment.

NZ 391313 Flight Sergeant Albert William DINGLE is granted a temporary commission in the rank of Pilot Officer. Dated 24th August, 1942.

```
ADMINISTRATIVE AND SPECIAL DUTIES BRANCH.
               Appointments.
```

The undermentioned are granted temporary commissions in the rank of Pilot Officer:-

Dated 1st August, 1942-

Corporal Raymond Blair SOMERVILLE.
Acting-Sergeant Thomas Mark O'CONNELL.
Noel Irvine SMITH.

NZ 40143 NZ 38105 NZ 1694

1695

Allan Halsey Winter. George Lefevre Wells. Corporal Harold Raymond Laird. 1696 NZ40130

Reginald Cains Norris.

James Percy Munro Bertram. NZ1697

1698 Acting-Corporal Francis Augustine McCarthy. John Thomson Waugh. 40132

NZ NZ 1699

1700

Clarence Roy Loughhead.
John Griffin Purcell Tapper.
Leicester Waby Peak. $\begin{array}{c} 1701 \\ 1702 \end{array}$

NZ NZ

Frank Noel LAURIE.

1704

 $_{
m NZ}^{
m NZ}$ 1705

NZ1706

NZ NZ 1707

Eric Henry James Preston. Eric Perry Simester. Gerald Peter Cachemaille. Harry Miles McIntosh. Ian Ramsay Donald. 1708 NZ1709

Harold Lewis de la Perrelle. L.A.C. James Dobson Campbell. Elvor James Melrose. NZ 405206

1710 NZ1711

NZ1713

1711 John Hulme GOYDER.
1712 Alfred Neville SMITH.
1713 Albert William GRANT.
1714 Edgar Wallace MOFFATT.
1715 Ernest Edward DEAN. NZ

NZ

Dated 24th August, 1942-

NZ 402142 Sergeant Nicholas Edward WILKINS. NZ 405291 Corporal Gordon Robert LYALL.

Dated 1st September, 1942— NZ 426022 A.C. 2 Aylmer Derrick Westenra.

Dated 15th September, 1942— NZ 1718 Harold Hamon Blampied.

The undermentioned are granted temporary commissions (Works Branch) in the rank of Pilot Officer :— $\,$

Dated 1st July, 1942— NZ 416329 Sergeant Edwin Percy Henshall.

Dated 24th August, 1942— NZ 1716 Albert Selwyn Henry.

NZ 1717 Robert Samuel Foss is granted a temporary commission (Education Branch) in the rank of Pilot Officer. Dated 24th August, 1942.

ADMINISTRATIVE AND SPECIAL DUTIES BRANCH, SECTION II (A.T.C.). Appointment.

Henry Oswald Haigh is granted an Air Training Corps commission in the rank of Pilot Officer. Dated 1st September, 1942.

Relinquishment.

Pilot Officer Eric Henry James Preston relinquishes his commission. Dated 31st July, 1942.

F. JONES, Minister of Defence.

Appointment to the Staff of His Excellency the Governor-General.

Wellington, 10th September, 1942.

HIS Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to appoint Acting Air Commodore Maurice William Buckley, M.B.E., R.N.Z.A.F., to be an Honorary Aide-de-Camp on his staff until the 26th March, 1943, vice Wing Commander John Seabrook, A.F.C., R.N.Z.A.F.

D. G. SULLIVAN, Acting Prime Minister.

Appointment of Honorary Child Welfare Officers under the Child Welfare Act, 1925.

Education Department, Wellington, 16th September, 1942.

In pursuance of section 2 of the Child Welfare Act, 1925, I, Henry Greathead Rex Mason, Minister of Education, do hereby appoint the following persons as Honorary Child Welfare Officers for the purposes of the said Act for the period ending the 31st December, 1942:—

Name.			District.
Hancock, Terence Charles			 Taupo.
Marsh, Ronald			 Wanganui.
Clouston, George Clark			 Opunake.
Keenan, Reverend Robert	Stewart		Methven.
Clark, Albert Burton			 Kaikoura.
Smyth, Miss Jeanie Cullen		• •	 Oamaru.
Hewson, Mrs. Isabella	• •		 Temuka.

H. G. R. MASON, Minister of Education.