EQUIPMENT BRANCH, SECTION I.

Promotions.

The undermentioned Flight Lieutenants to be Acting Squadron Leaders (paid). Dated 1st January, 1943:-

Edward Cedric Ormerod HEATH.

Owen Evans.

Flying Officer (Acting Flight Lieutenant) Cecil William Franks to be Acting Squadron Leader. Dated 1st December, 1942.

The undermentioned Flying Officers to be Acting Flight Lieutenants (paid). Dated 1st January, 1943:—

Murray Foster. Desmond Joseph GAVIN. Garth Edward Button.

Henry Charles Hudson. John Charles Gordon Fair. Alan Burton Wilford George.

The undermentioned Pilot Officers to be Flying Officers (temp.):

Dated 1st January, 1943: James Bruce Dickey.

Dated 9th February, 1943—
Lindo Vernon GLANVILLE,
Albert Samuel CARTER.
Garland Clifford Henry St. PAUL. John Doube.

Dated 23rd February, 1943-Colin Digby Steer.
Ivan Charles Beckbessinger.
John Alfred Henderson. Howard Cottle MULLENGER. Jack Warwick WILSON. Harry Francis Boys. Evin Ross Curtis. Charles Magnus Lennie. Peter George Harle.

Stanley Burnell Browne. Alvar Franklin Read. Norman Hillary Meyers. Alfred Cecil Kellett. John Hill Sutherland. Ian Keir Martin. Henry Aulton Davison. William John Morley. John Martin Molloy.

Pilot Officer Henry Charles Buck to be Acting Flying Officer (paid). Dated 1st January, 1943.

EQUIPMENT BRANCH, SECTION II.

Appointment.

NZ 404142 Sergeant Ian Birrell SLY is granted a temporary commission as Aeradio Officer in the rank of Pilot Officer (on prob.). Dated 18th February, 1943.

Promotions.

The undermentioned Flight Lieutenants to be Squadron Leaders (temp.) Dated 1st January, 1943:—

Herbert Henry Smith. Act. Sqn. Ldr. Noel Alfred Vear.

The undermentioned Flying Officers to be Flight Lieutenants (temp.) Dated 1st January, 1943:—

Edmund Dolbel EDMUNDSON.

Henry Christian Salmon. Act. Flt. Lt. Jack HARDY.

Robert John Johnson.

The undermentioned Flying Officers to be Acting Flight Lieutenants (paid). Dated 1st January, 1943:—

Alfred William Keyes.
Archibald Wauchop Stockwell.

Pilot Officer (on prob.) Douglas George Masson Buist is confirmed in his rank and granted the temporary rank of Flying Officer. Dated 11th February, 1943.

The undermentioned Pilot Officers to be Flying Officers (temp.) :-

Dated 23rd February, 1943: Norman Kenneth Proctor. Dated 25th February, 1943: Gerald Belfield Bradshaw.

The undermentioned Pilot Officers to be Acting Flying Officers (paid). Dated 1st January, 1943 :-

Laurie Frederick William MERCER. Alfred Douglas Desmond JACKSON. John Williams Burtenshaw.

ADMINISTRATIVE AND SPECIAL DUTIES BRANCH.

Promotions.

Flight Lieutenant Robert Goodenough Sherwood Hale to be Acting Squadron Leader (paid). Dated 1st January, 1943.

The undermentioned Flying Officers to be Flight Lieutenants (temp.) Dated 1st January, 1943:—

John Donald McMILLAN.

Harry Nivelle Bundle.

The undermentioned Flying Officers to be Acting Flight Lieutenants (paid). Dated 1st January, 1943:-

Craig Wood GILLIES. Henry Peter RASMUSSEN.

Edward William Alan DRAKE.

The undermentioned Pilot Officers to be Flying Officers (temp.):

Dated 1st February, 1943—Stuart James Wearn.

Edward James Llewellyn FAIRWAY.

Dated 17th February, 1943: Eric Gabriel BUDGE.

Dated 23rd February, 1943-

Noel James Broun.
James Houston AITKEN.
Masson John GELLATLY.

Gordon Rufus Lee. Rawlings William McSkimming.

Clive Allister Morton. Peter Arnaud BARRAUD. John McDonald Kennedy. Robert Charles Brown. Cyril John Roberts. John James Dennis Black. Edward Manthorp. Howard Allison. Jack Forsyth Bristed.
Norman Murray Whyte.
John Frederick Temple.
Douglas Edward Godwin Naish.
Edward Owen Mildura Lyell. Edward Owen Militura Lyell.
James Henry Coddington.
Neil McDougall.
Charles Liverton.
Saxon Wilfred Branson Foster.
Lewis George Thompson.

The undermentioned Pilot Officers to be Acting Flying Officers (paid). Dated 1st January, 1943:—

Joseph Arthur Lynch. Arthur Ernest Hall Knowles. Frank CATTELL.

Noel Irvine Smith. Harry Miles McIntosh.

A. G. OSBORNE, For the Minister of Defence.

Legislative Councillors appointed.

Prime Minister's Office, Wellington, 9th March, 1943.

IS Excellency the Governor-General has, in His Majesty's name, summoned-

The Honourable Mark Briggs, of Palmerston North,
The Honourable Thomas Brindle, of Wellington,
The Honourable Michael Connelly, of Dunedin,
The Honourable James Cotter, of Hinuera,
The Honourable Thomas Francis Doyle, of Bluff,
The Honourable George Robert Hunter, of Christhurch.
The Honourable Frank Edwin Lark, of Auckland,
The Honourable John Alexander McCullough, of Christchurch.
The Honourable Bernard Martin, of Auckland

The Honourable Bernard Martin, of Auckland, The Honourable Rangi Mawhete, of Palmerston North, The Honourable Benjamin Conrad Robbins, of Tauranga,

Honourable Sir Charles Ernest Statham, Kt., of Wellington, and

Thomas Otto Bishop, Esquire, of Lower Hutt,

to the Legislative Council of New Zealand by Writs of Summons under the Seal of the Dominion of New Zealand dated the 9th day of March, 1943.

P. FRASER, Prime Minister.

The Strike and Lockout Emergency Regulations 1939.—Appointment of Emergency Disputes Committee.

In the matter of a dispute between the New Zealand Harbour Boards' Employees' Industrial Union of Workers (Wellington Branch) and the Wellington Harbour Board relating to conditions of employment in connection with fire-salvage work at the King's Wharf:

IN exercise of the powers conferred upon him by the Strike and Lockout Emergency Regulations 1939, the Minister of Labour doth hereby appoint the following persons to be an Emergency Disputes Committee for the purpose of deciding such dispute, and doth refer such dispute to such Committee accordingly:—

Representatives of the Harbour Board.

Reed, F. W. Congdon, M. P. Gardner, W. J.

Representatives of Workers.

Martin, Geo. Emmerson, D. King, W. Russell

Chairman.

Gilmour, J. A. (S.M.).

Dated at Wellington, this 10th day of March, 1943.

P. C. WEBB, Minister of Labour.

Member of Licensing Committee appointed.

Department of Justice, Wellington, 8th March, 1943.

III IS Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to appoint

Charles Raven Holmes, Esquire,

to be a member of the Licensing Committee for the District of Wairarapa, vice C. W. F. Skill, deceased.

H. G. R. MASON, Minister of Justice.