Dated 3rd October, 1942: Ronald William BIGGAR.

Dated 4th October, 1942— John Antony Coulson Fowler. Desmond Xavier O'Halloran.

Dated 7th October, 1942: Alfred William Gordon Cochrane, D.F.C.

Dated 24th October, 1942— Charlie Eddy. Gordon Farquhar Forbes.

Dated 30th November, 1942: Ivor John McLachlan, D.F.M.
Dated 3rd December, 1942: Maurice Raymond Andrews.
Dated 9th December, 1942: William Herbert Gould.
Dated 12th December, 1942: Donald Francis Ignatius Hard-

Dated 19th December, 1942: William Paul Nevill Clarke.

Dated 22nd December, 1942—
Barclay Christopher McGuire Harrington.
Brian Mark Livingstone Tapley.
James Menzies Smith.

Dated 26th December, 1942—Frank Desmond Win.

Harold Grev Doherty.

EQUIPMENT BRANCH, SECTION I.

Appointments.

The undermentioned are granted temporary commissions in the rank of Pilot Officer. Dated 1st January, 1943:—

As Accountant Officers-

NZ 42210 Corporal Walter Prentice Bradley.
NZ 38216 Sergeant Lester Walker Smith.
NZ 39602 Sergeant Richard Howard Grugeon.
NZ 42978 Acting-Corporal Mervyn Lawrence Wickliffe.
NZ 403161 Corporal Richard Melville Ford.

EQUIPMENT BRANCH, SECTION II.

Appointments.

The undermentioned are granted temporary commissions in the rank of Pilot Officer:-

As Engineer Officers-

Dated 1st January, 1943—

NZ 39172 Flight Sergeant Keith Rex Orsborn.

NZ 36133 Warrant Officer James Campbell RITCHIE.

NZ 37225 Flight Sergeant Alan Norman TRUSTRUM.

NZ 30127 Warrant Officer Ronald Robert SMITH.

NZ 391727 Warrant Officer Fred Brooks.

As Signals Officers-

Dated 1st January, 1943— NZ 39888 Flight Sergeant Eric WHITELEY.

NZ 37175 Flight Sergeant Allan Bernard STICHBURY.

As Radio Officers-

Dated 20th October, 1942— NZ 414197 Corporal Stanley Roy Anstice.

ADMINISTRATIVE AND SPECIAL DUTIES BRANCH.

Appointments.

The undermentioned are granted temporary commissions (Education Branch) in the rank of Pilot Officer:—

Dated 1st January, 1943— NZ 1783 Lewis Alexander Wilson, B.A. NZ 1784 James Beattie.

Dated 1st February, 1943— NZ 1785 Eric O'Brien, B.A., B.Sc.

Administrative and Special Duties Branch, Section II (A.T.C.). Transfer.

Flying Officer Thomas Travers Newton Coleridge is transferred from the Reserve of Officers, Class B, Section I, to the Administrative and Special Duties Branch, Section II (A.T.C.), in his present rank. Dated 14th January, 1943.

Appointments.

William Stanley Pratt is granted an Air Training Corps Commission in the rank of Flying Officer. Dated 11th November,

The notice relating to the above officer appearing in the New Zealand Gazette No. 112 of the 17th December, 1942, page 2904, under the heading "Administrative and Special Duties Branch, Section II, (A.T.C.), Appointments," is cancelled.

Brian McKenzie Barr is granted an Air Training Corps Commission in the rank of Pilot Officer. Dated 6th January, 1943.

NEW ZEALAND WOMEN'S AUXILIARY AIR FORCE.

Appointments.

The undermentioned are granted temporary commissions in the rank of Assistant Section Officer:-

Dated 1st November, 1942— W 1731 W.A.L. (Mrs.) Onie Kathleen CONDELL.

Dated 6th November, 1942— W 3114 W.A.L. (Miss) Mavis Powell GIESEN.

Dated 1st January, 1943— W 3632 Corporal (Mrs.) Dorothy Gertrude Hewlett.

Dated 16th January, 1943-

W 1335 Sergeant (Miss) Mary Katrine LOUGHNAN.

CORRIGENDA.

In the notice published in the New Zealand Gazette No. 1 of the 14th January, 1943, page 13, under the heading "Administrative and Special Duties Branch, Appointments," relating to Warrant Officer James Edward Duncan, M.B.E., for "NZ 37101," read NZ 37101."

In the notice published in the New Zealand Gazette No. 103 of the 19th November, 1942, page 2763, under the heading "General Duties Branch, Promotions," for "James Fraser Barrow, D.F.M., read "James Fraser Barrow, D.F.M."

F. JONES, Minister of Defence.

Appointments, Promotions, and Relinquishment of Officers of the Royal New Zealand Air Force.

Air Department, Wellington, 2nd February, 1943.

HIS Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to approve the following appointments, promotions, and relinquishment of officers of the Royal New Zealand Air Force:—

GENERAL DUTIES BRANCH.

Appointments.

The following are granted temporary commissions in the rank of Pilot Officer:

As Pilots.

Dated 15th January, 1943-

NZ 415721 Sergeant James Maxwell SHEARER. NZ 415820 Sergeant Henry James MURRAY. NZ 415369 Sergeant Ernest Vernon Sage.

As Air Gunners.

Dated 21st December, 1942— NZ 421263 Sergeant Ross Bracey.

Dated 11th January, 1943—

NZ 421968 Sergeant David Allan GOULDEN.

NZ 415266 Sergeant Euan Wilfred McLachlan.

NZ 421972 Sergeant Thomas Chaplin Hills.

Promotions.

Flying Officer Valentine Allport, D.F.C., to be Flight Lieutenant (temp.). Dated 27th December, 1942.

The undermentioned Pilot Officers to be Flying Officers (temp.):

Dated 1st October, 1942: Jack Desmond Harris. Dated 1st November, 1942: Robert Arthur Colville. Dated 29th December, 1942: Alexander Donovan McConnell.

Dated 30th December, 1942—John Donald RAE, D.F.C.

Edward Haines BEABLE.

Graham Henry Fish.

EQUIPMENT BRANCH, SECTION II.

Appointment.

Congreve John Banwell, M.Sc., is granted an honorary commission in the rank of Squadron Leader. Dated 19th January, 1943.

ADMINISTRATIVE AND SPECIAL DUTIES BRANCH. Appointment.

NZ 413926 Flight Sergeant John Mortimore WORDEN is granted a temporary commission in the rank of Pilot Officer. Dated 26th November, 1942.

Relinquishment.

Flying Officer Arthur Robert Watson relinquishes his commission in the Reserve of Air Force Officers. Dated 19th January,

F. JONES, Minister of Defence.

The Waikato Coal-mines Control Emergency Regulations 1942.— Appointment of Member of Board of Control.

IN pursuance and exercise of the power and authority conferred upon me by the Waikato Coal-mines Control Emergency Regulations 1942, I, Patrick Charles Webb, Minister of Mines, do hereby appoint

Walter Francis Brooke-Taylor, Chairman of Directors, Renown Collieries, Limited,

to be a member of the Waikato Coal-mines Control Board, vice Hendry Luke, deceased.

Dated at Wellington, this 3rd day of February, 1943. P. C. WEBB, Minister of Mines.

(Mines N. 14/19/2.)