Personnel of Armed Forces Appeal Boards

IN pursuance and exercise of the powers vested in me by the National Service Emergency Regulations 1940, I, Angus McLagan, Minister of National Service, do hereby give notice that I have appointed-

Sydney Tackle, Esquire, to be a deputy member of the No. 1
Armed Forces Appeal Board, with headquarters at Auckland, as from the 24th day of November, 1943;
Charles Henry Moltzen, Esquire, to be a deputy member of the No. 4 Armed Forces Appeal Board, with headquarters at Hamilton, as from the 10th day of September, 1943;
John Cooke, Esquire, to be a member of the No. 10B Armed Forces Appeal Board, with headquarters at Timaru, as from the 19th day of August, 1943;
Frederick Ernest Stewart, Esquire, to be a deputy member of the No. 10B Armed Forces Appeal Board, with headquarters at Timaru, as from the 6th day of September, 1943;

such persons to hold office during my pleasure.

And, pursuant to and in exercise of the powers referred to above, I do hereby revoke the following appointments:—

John Cooke, Esquire, deputy member of the No. 10B Armed Forces Appeal Board, with headquarters at Timaru, as from the 19th day of August, 1943.

Fred Cole, Esquire, member of the No. 7A Armed Forces Appeal Board, with headquarters at Masterton, as from the 1st day of November, 1943.

Dated at Wellington, this 5th day of January, 1944.

A. McLAGAN, Minister of National Service.

Appointment of Officers for the Purposes of the Fisheries Act, 1908

Marine Department, Wellington, 24th December, 1943.

BY direction of the Hon. Minister of Marine, it is hereby notified that His Excellency the Covern C. That His Excellency the Governor-General has, in pursuance of the provisions of the Fisheries Act, 1908, and of the Official Appointments and Documents Act, 1919, appointed

Thomas Matthews, of Westport, and Archibald Hume Watt, of Parengarenga,

to be Inspectors of Sea-fishing for the purposes of Part I of the first-mentioned Act.

William Stumbles, of Cave,

to be an officer for the purposes of Part II of the first-mentioned Act in respect of the South Canterbury Acclimatization District.

L. B. CAMPBELL, Secretary.

Members of Domain Boards appointed

Department of Lands and Survey, Wellington, 22nd December, 1943.

HIS Excellency the Governor-General has, in pursuance of section 49 of the Public Reserves, Domains, and National Parks Act, 1928, been pleased to make the following appointments:

Winnifred Cunningham

to be a member of the Victoria Domain Board in place of James Murray, left the district.

William Murray Dalley

to be a member of the Oxford Domain Board in place of George Arthur Ryde, deceased.

Aubrey Gladstone Ferris

to be a member of the Tokaanu Domain Board in place of Lionel John Bayfield, left the district.

Archibald McDonald Brydon

to be a member of the Maromaku Domain Board in place of Stanley Herbert Webb, left the district.

Patrick Joseph O'Connor and William James Rice

to be members of the Ohura Domain Board in place of Robert Brown Turnbull, deceased, and John William Bradford, resigned.

Harry Burrows Duckworth

to be a member of the Springston South Domain Board in place of Stephen Francis Barnett, deceased.

Marcus Austin Wilkins and Harry Francis Wickham

to be members of the Pongakawa Domain Board in place of Digby Frederick Deacon Wickham and Alexander William Marsh, left the

Rigby Thomas Ewen Allan

to be a member of the Uruti Domain Board in place of John Bell, left the district.

Wilfred Allen

to be a member of the Motutara Domain Board in place of Arthur Earle Lawlor Dodd, resigned.

Frank Tracy Wisnewski

to be a member of the Tarata Domain Board in place of Tokotahi Tokataua, deceased.

R. G. MACMORRAN, Under-Secretary.

Deputy Registrars of Marriages, &c., appointed

Registrar-General's Office, Wellington, 11th January, 1944.

T is hereby notified that the following appointments have been made: made :-

John William Corboy

to be Deputy Registrar of Marriages and of Births and Deaths for the District of New Plymouth, on and from the 20th day of December,

William Merton Swain

to be Deputy Registrar of Marriages and of Births and Deaths for the District of Gore, on and from the 21st day of December, 1943.

Allan Bruce

to be Deputy Registrar of Marriages and of Births and Deaths for the District of Murchison, on and from the 29th day of December,

Clarence Michael Sewell

to be Deputy Registrar of Marriages and of Births and Deaths for the District of Little River, on and from the 29th day of December,

Wallace Eric Brough

to be Deputy Registrar of Marriages and of Births and Deaths for the District of New Plymouth, on and from the 8th day of January,

Alexander Speakman Louisson

to be Deputy Registrar of Marriages and of Births and Deaths for the District of Timaru, on and from the 4th day of January, 1944.

P. H. WYLDE, Deputy Registrar-General.

Honours and Awards conferred by His Majesty the King

Department of Internal Affairs, Wellington, 7th January, 1944.

HIS Excellency the Governor-General directs the publication in the New Zealand Gazette of the Honours and Awards conferred by His Majesty the King as follows:

MILITARY DIVISION

Companion of the Most Honourable Order of the Bath (C.B.):-Major-General Peter Harvey Bell, D.S.O., New Zealand Staff Corps, of Auckland.

Officer of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire (O.B.E.): Acting-Captain Douglas Alfred Bingley, Royal Navy (Retired),

Acting-Captain Douglas Affred Bingley, Royal Navy (Retired), of Auckland.

Miss Ida Grace Willis, Matron-in-Chief, New Zealand Army Nursing Service, of Wellington.

Lieutenant-Colonel (temporary Colonel) Claude Spencer White, V.D., New Zealand Temporary Staff, of Auckland.

Squadron Leader Reginald James Gibbs, Royal New Zealand Air Force, of Christchurch.

Member of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire (M.B.E.):

Captain and Quartermaster James Green Milne, New Zealand Permanent Staff, of Paeroa. Captain James Paumea Ferris, New Zealand Temporary Staff,

of Gisborne.
Captain Arthur Douglas Cooper, New Zealand Territorial Force, of Christchurch.

of Christchurch.
Captain George Bartrum Baker, D.C.M., M.M., New Zealand Temporary Staff, of Cave, South Canterbury.
2nd Lieutenant Reginald Augustus Thomas, New Zealand Temporary Staff, of Claudelands, Hamilton.
Warrant Officer (Class I) Stuart Waters Richardson, New Zealand Temporary Staff, of Lower Hutt.
Warrant Officer John Edward Keating McConnell, Royal New Zealand Air Force, of Auckland.

Zealand Air Force, of Auckland.

Royal Red Cross (R.R.C.) :-

Matron Gladys Lillian Thwaites, New Zealand Army Nursing Service, Trentham Military Camp Hospital.

Acting Squadron Leader Arthur Montague Harvie, Royal New Zealand Air Force, of Wanganui. Acting Squadron Leader Robert Fletcher, Royal New Zealand Air Force, of Wellington.

British Empire Medal (B.E.M.):

Staff Sergeant (Temporary Warrant Officer, Class I) Eric Rowland Firth, New Zealand Permanent Staff, of Trentham. Staff Sergeant Francis Joseph Horby Brown, New Zealand Temporary Staff, of Whangarei.

Staff Sergeant Harry Tavendale, New Zealand Temporary Staff, of Christchurch.

Sergeant James Gordon Free, New Zealand Military Forces, of Kaponga, Taranaki.

Sergeant Leslie Marchant Amos, 2nd New Zealand Expeditionary Force, of Auckland.

Sergeant Alick William Nathan, New Zealand Territorial Force, of Auckland

of Auckland. Corporal Walter Lloyd Fairweather, Royal New Zealand Air Force, of Otahuhu, Auckland.

W. E. PARRY, Minister of Internal Affairs.

(I.A. 164/1.)