Operational Honours and Awards approved by His Majesty the King

Office of the Minister of Defence, Wellington, 4th July, 1944.

HIS Majesty the King has been graciously pleased to approve the following immediate award in recognition of gallantry and devotion to duty in air operations against the enemy :

Distinguished Flying Cross

Pilot Officer John Hislop Boles (NZ 421009), Royal New Zealand Air Force, of Morrinsville.

Air Force, of Morrinsville.

This officer has completed a large number of sorties and has displayed notable skill and resolution, qualities which were well in evidence on a recent sortie. His objective was a target in Germany, but when crossing the enemy coast one engine became useless. It became difficult to maintain height, but Pilot Officer Boles went on to the target, which he successfully bombed at the second attempt. Later, the aircraft was attacked by a fighter. It was driven off, however, and Pilot Officer Boles afterward flew his aircraft home. This officer has at all times displayed the greatest keenness and set a fine example of devotion to duty.

His Majesty the King has been graciously pleased to give orders for the following appointments and to approve the following awards in recognition of gallantry and devotion to duty in operations against the enemy :-

To be Companions of the Distinguished Service Order

Acting Wing Commander John Swire Dinsdale, D.F.C. (NZ 2146),

Royal New Zealand Air Force, of Te Kuiti.

Acting Wing Commander Richard Webb, D.F.C. (NZ 391853),

Royal New Zealand Air Force, of Gisborne.

Distinguished Flying Cross

Acting Flight Lieutenant Leighton John Montgomerie (NZ 412377),

Royal New Zealand Air Force, of Sentry Hill. NZ 41518 Warrant Officer Herbert Stanley McCullum, Royal New Zealand Air Force, of Opunake.

Distinguished Flying Medal

NZ 415296 Flight Sergeant Eric Steel Doherty, Royal New Zealand Air Force, of Gisborne.

Flight Sergeant Hugh John Mills, Royal New Zealand

Air Force, of Gisborne. NZ 39343 Flight Sergeant Joseph Richard Turvey, Royal New Zealand Air Force, of Oamaru.

F. JONES, Minister of Defence.

Award of a Foreign Decoration

Office of the Minister of Defence, Wellington, 29th June, 1944.

HIS Majesty the King has granted unrestricted permission for the wearing of the undermentioned decoration conferred on the officer indicated in recognition of valuable services rendered in connection with the war :-

CONFERRED BY THE PRESIDENT OF THE UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

Distinguished Flying Cross

Flight Lieutenant Maurice Richard Clarke (NZ 391824), Royal New Zealand Air Force, of Wanganui.

F. JONES, Minister of Defence.

Member of Maori Purposes Fund Board appointed

Native Department, Wellington, 26th July, 1944.

PURSUANT to the provisions of subsection (2) (f) of section 7 of the Maori Purposes Fund Act, 1934-35, His Excellency the Governor-General in Council has appointed

Gilbert Archey, Esquire,

to be a member of the Maori Purposes Fund Board.

H. G. R. MASON, Native Minister.

Member of Licensing Committee appointed

Department of Justice, Wellington, 8th August, 1944.

TIS Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to appoint

Archibald Albany McLachlan, Esquire, S.M.,

to be a member of the Licensing Committees for the Districts of Mid-Canterbury, Lyttelton, and Hurunui, vice F. F. Reid, Esquire, S.M.

H. G. R. MASON, Minister of Justice.

Stipendiary Magistrate appointed

Department of Justice, Wellington, 8th August, 1944.

IS Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to appoint

Arthur Evan Dobbie, Esquire,

to be a temporary Stipendiary Magistrate for the period from the 10th day of August, 1944, to the 9th day of November, 1944.

H. G. R. MASON, Minister of Justice.

Justice of the Peace resigns

Department of Justice, Wellington, 7th August, 1944.

IIIS Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to accept the resignation by accept the resignation by

Atherton Herbert Fletcher, Esquire,

of Longburn, of his appointment as a Justice of the Peace for the Dominion of New Zealand and its Dependencies.

H. G. R. MASON, Minister of Justice.

Officer of the Police Force appointed

Police Department,
Wellington, 4th August, 1944.

H IS Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to
appoint appoint

Sub-Inspector James Francis Henry Macnamara

to be an Inspector in the New Zealand Police Force, the appoint ment to take effect on and from 1st April, 1944.

P. C. WEBB, Minister in Charge of Police Department.

Members of Domain Boards appointed

Department of Lands and Survey, Wellington, 2nd August, 1944.

HIS Excellency the Governor-General has, in pursuance of section 49 of the Public Reserves, Domains, and National Parks Act, 1928, been pleased to make the following appointments:— Ernest Smedley Taylor

to be a member of the Rangiora and Waikuku Beach Domain Board in place of Clarence Rands, deceased.

William Gillespie Mayer

to be a member of the Dipton Domain Board in place of Leslie Arnold Whitaker, resigned.

Alexander Glasgow Russell

to be a member of the Brightwater Domain Board in place of Willoughby Drummond Rawlinson, resigned.

William James Harvey Coop

to be a member of the Little River Domain Board in place of James Openshaw Coop, deceased.

Edward Sullivan

to be a member of the Sefton Domain Board in place of George James, deceased.

Thomas Alfred Comber

to be a member of the Gate Pa Domain Board in place of Harold Egbert Campbell Carter, resigned.

Edward Duncan Cattanach

to be a member of the Victoria Domain Board in place of Alexander David Hall, resigned.

Daniel Thomas O'Connor and George Lindsay Whyte

to be members of the Waharoa Domain Board in place of Henry Johnson and Reginald William Petch, resigned.

Gordon Alfred Coplestone and Claude William Earl Gill

to be members of the Tatu Domain Board in place of Amos Cornwall and Leonard Alan Greenbank, left the district.

William Clark and Henry William Peryman

to be members of the Lincoln Domain Board in place of Wallace Collier Mills and Walter Bernard Dudson, left the district.

Arthur Taylor

to be a member of the Waikiwi Domain Board in place of Thomas Edward Forde, deceased.

Cyril Rankin Lloyd

to be a member of the Arawa Park Domain Board in place of George Urquhart, deceased.

R. G. MACMORRAN, Under-Secretary.

(L. and S. 1/232.)