His Majesty the King has been graciously pleased to approve that the following be Mentioned, in recognition of distinguished service and devotion to duty:

Mention in Despatches

Acting Group Captain Desmond James Scott, D.S.O., D.F.C. (NZ 40779), Royal New Zealand Air Force. of Hokitika.

Acting Wing Commander Reginald William Baker, D.F.C. (NZ 401748), Royal New Zealand Air Force, of Dunedin.

Acting Wing Commander Jack Edmund Watts, A.F.C. (NZ 1993), Royal New Zealand Air Force, of Marton.

Acting Wing Commander Ronald Graham Watts (NZ 404974), Royal New Zealand Air Force, of Auckland.

New Zealand Air Force, of Adekland.

Squadron Leader Hilton Rex Hall, D.F.C. (NZ 391879), Royal New Zealand Air Force, of Wellington.

Acting Squadron Leader Frederick William Campbell, D.F.C. (NZ 404133), Royal New Zealand Air Force, of Wester Australia.

Acting Squadron Leader Edmund Douglas Crossley, M.C. (NZ 402465), Royal New Zealand Air Force, of Wellington

Acting Squadron Leader Douglas Haig Palmer (NZ 41545), Royal New Zealand Air Force, of Wellington. Acting Squadron Leader Brian Roy Quinlan (NZ 404408), Royal New Zealand Air Force, of Elgin, Canterbury.

Flight Lieutenant Charles Wynne Brunsdon Kelly, D.S.O., D.F.C. (NZ 412110), Royal New Zealand Air Force, of Christchurch. Flight Lieutenant Clive Fowler Jacobson (NZ 412110), Royal New Zealand Air Force, of Wellington.

Flight Lieutenant Gordon Bailie Sloane (NZ 405039), Royal New Zealand Air Force, of Oamaru.

Flight Lieutenant Maurice Spinley, D.F.M. (NZ 411466), Royal New Zealand Air Force, of Wellington.

Flight Lieutenant Royd Asquith Wadham (NZ 413185), Royal New Zealand Air Force, of Auckland.

Flight Lieutenant Hugh James Wright (NZ 414370), Royal New Zealand Air Force, of Masterton.

Acting Flight Lieutenant Kenneth Henry Becroft, D.F.C. (NZ 412189), Royal New Zealand Air Force, of Helensville.

Acting Flight Lieutenant Raymond Kassler (NZ 413088), Royal New Zealand Air Force, of Napier.

Acting Flight Lieutenant James Frederick Taylor, A.F.C. (NZ 411952), Royal New Zealand Air Force, of Auckland.

Flying Officer John Darral Ackerman (NZ 404113), Royal New Zealand Air Force, of Masterton.

Flying Officer John Stanley Asher (NZ 422169), Royal New Zealand Air Force, of Dunedin.

Flying Officer James Reynolds Bowen (NZ 41433), Royal New Zealand Air Force, of Auckland.

Flying Officer John William Gillgren (NZ 41581), Royal New Zealand Air Force, of Auckland. Flying Officer Walter James Jennings (NZ 422058), Royal New Zealand Air Force, of Shannon.

Flying Officer Albert Edgar Larcombe (NZ 404138), Royal New Zealand Force, of Onerahi.

Flying Officer Lawrence Montague Layzell (NZ 41739), Royal New Zealand Air Force, of Napier. Flying Officer Kenneth William Roland McMillan (NZ 403980), Royal New Zealand Air Force, of Auckland.

Flying Officer Sydney Harold Manning (NZ 41921), Royal New Zealand Air Force, of Christchurch.

Flying Officer John Hancock Scott (NZ 413896), Royal New Zealand Air Force, of Invercargill.

Flying Officer Maxwell Nicholas Sparkes (NZ 413953), Royal New Zealand Air Force, of Auckland.

Flying Officer Robert James Wallace (NZ 415801), Royal New Zealand Air Force, of Wellington. Flying Officer James George Wilson (NZ 403555), Royal New Zealand Air Force, of Timaru.

Pilot Officer Percy Francis Carter (NZ 422367), Royal New Zealand Air Force, of Fairlie.

Pilot Officer Robert Blakeman Hemmings (NZ 421712), Royal Zealand Air Force, of Invercargill.

Pilot Officer James Scott Henderson (NZ 428319), Royal New Zealand Air Force, of Invercargill.

Pilot Officer Vernon Roy Jackson (NZ 415324), Royal New Zealand Air Force, of Invercargill.

Pilot Officer James Robinson Smith (NZ 391143), Royal New Zealand Air Force, of Wellington.

NZ 411069 Warrant Officer Francis Herbert Dix, Royal New Zealand Air Force, of Auckland.

NZ 401939 Warrant Officer Arthur Dudley Morris, Royal New Zealand Air Force, of Wanganui.

NZ 422567 Flight Sergeant Cecil Roy Griffin, Royal New Zealand Air Force, of Matamata.

NZ 401618 Sergeant James Leonard Brash, Royal New Zealand Air Force, of Auckland.

NZ 412919 Sergeant Edwin Worsdale, Royal New Zealand Air Force, of Wellington.

NZ 411547 Corporal Raynor James Murray, Royal New Zealand Air Force, of Manurewa

NZ 391903 Corporal Michael William Organ, Royal New Zealand Air Force, of Westport.

F. JONES, Minister of Defence.

Operational Awards approved by His Majesty the King

Office of the Minister of Defence, Wellington, 1st February, 1945.

HIS Majesty the King has been graciously pleased to approve the following appointment and awards, in recognition of gallantry and devotion to duty in air operations against the enemy:—

Bar to the Distinguished Service Order

Acting Squadron Leader Maechel Anthony Ensor, D.S.O., D.F.C. (NZ 402175), Royal New Zealand Air Force, of Bay of Islands.

Distinguished Flying Cross

Flight Lieutenant Henley Robert McKegg (NZ 416512), Royal New Zealand Air Force, of Christchurch.

Flying Officer Edwin Fitzherbert George Burrowes (NZ 416194), Royal New Zealand Air Force, of New Plymouth.

Flying Officer Raymond Richard McLauchlan (NZ 404391), Royal New Zealand Air Force, of Timaru.

NZ 416546 Warrant Officer (now Pilot Officer) Reginald Shand, Royal New Zealand Air Force, of Christchurch.

F. JONES, Minister of Defence.

Award of Foreign Decorations

Office of the Minister of Defence, Wellington, 1st February, 1945.

HIS Majesty the King has granted unrestricted permission for the wearing of the undermentioned decorations conferred on the officers indicated, in recognition of valuable service rendered in connection with the war :-

CONFERRED BY THE PRESIDENT OF THE UNITED STATES OF AMERICA Distinguished Flying Cross

Acting Wing Commander John Milne Checketts, D.S.O., D.F.C. (NZ 403602), Royal New Zealand Air Force, of Invercargill.

Flight Lieutenant Richard Bruce Berney, D.F.M. (NZ 40750), Royal New Zealand Air Force, of Eketahuna.

Flight Lieutenant Ian Frederick Lock (NZ 415767), Royal New Zealand Air Force, of Okaihau.

Flying Officer Elfric James Insull (NZ 421323), Royal New Zealand Air Force, of Napier.

Flying Officer Albert Noel Ward (NZ 42485), Royal New Zealand Air Force, of Marlborough.

F. JONES, Minister of Defence.

Board appointed in Terms of Section 332, Municipal Corporations Act, 1933

Department of Internal Affairs, Wellington, 23rd February, 1945.

H IS Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased, in terms of section 332, Municipal Corporations Act, 1933, to appoint-

John Logan Stout, Esquire, Stipendiary Magistrate, Wellington, James Murray Dale, Esquire, Solicitor, Wellington, and Harry Evelyn Anderson, Esquire, Solicitor, Wellington,

to be a Board for the purpose of hearing an appeal lodged by Mrs. L. W. Macfarlane against the decision of the Wellington City Council in respect of an application for the approval of that Council to a proposed subdivision of certain land in the City of Wellington.

F. JONES, For the Minister of Internal Affairs.

(I.A. 98/32.)

Board appointed in Terms of Section 332, Municipal Corporations $Act,\ 1933$

Department of Internal Affairs, Wellington, 28th February, 1945.

HIS Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to revoke the appointment, in terms of section 332 of the Municipal Corporations Act, 1933, of

John Logan Stout, Esquire, Stipendiary Magistrate, Wellington, as a member of the Board for the purpose of hearing an appeal lodged by Mrs. L. W. Macfarlane against the decision of the Wellington City Council in respect of an application for the approval of that Council to a proposed subdivision of certain land in the City of Wellington, and in lieu thereof to appoint

Arthur Morice Goulding, Esquire, Stipendiary Magistrate, Wellington,

to be a member of the said Board.

W. E. PARRY, Minister of Internal Affairs.

(I.A. 98/32.)