EQUIPMENT BRANCH, SECTION II: TECHNICAL OFFICERS Promotions

Engineer Duties— The undermentioned Flying Officers (temp.) to be Acting Flight Lieutenants (paid). Dated 19th July, 1945 :— Allan Robert CARR

Eric Francis BROWN.

Administrative and Special Duties Branch

Appointments NZ 413723 Warrant Officer Arthur Innes ORR is granted a temporary commission in the rank of Flying Officer. Dated 28th July, 1945.

The undermentioned are granted temporary commissions in the rank of Pilot Officer. Dated 28th July, 1945 :---

NZ 403521 Acting Warrant Officer Patrick Connolly Pearse McGAVIN.
NZ 402560 Sergeant Arthur Henry MILESTONE.
NZC 424036 Sergeant Barry Read BLOOMFIELD.
NZ 429718 Acting Flight Sergeant Charles Joshua OLIVER.

Promotions

Flying Officer (Acting Flight Lieutenant) William GEE TAXLOR to be Acting Squadron Leader (paid). Dated 19th July,

1945. Flying Officer (temp.) Chetel John CUFF to be Acting Flight Lieutenant (paid). Dated 24th July, 1945. Works Section-

Flying Officer (temp.) Leonard Sidney DONNELLEY to be Acting Flight Lieutenant (paid). Dated 24th July, 1945.

Educational Section— Flying Officer (Acting Flight Lieutenant) Jack Beaumont HEPWORTH to be Flight Lieutenant (temp.). Dated 27th July, 1945.

Cancellation

The notice appearing in the New Zealand Gazette No. 48, dated 12th July, 1945, page 899, under the heading "Administrative and Special Duties Branch—Promotion," relating to "Flight Lieutenant (Acting Squadron Leader) Robert Steel GRANT," is cancelled.

MEDICAL BRANCH

Promotion

Squadron Leader (Acting Wing Commander) John Eaton HARDWICK-SMITH, M.B., Ch.B., to be Wing Commander (temp.). Dated 24th August, 1945.

Administrative and Special Duties Branch : Section II : (A.T.C.)

Relinquishments

The undermentioned officers are permitted to relinquish their Air Training Corps Commissions :---

Dated 6th July, 1945— Flight Lieutenant William Douglas CORBETT. Dated 31st July, 1945— Flight Lieutenant Gordon Alfred ELIOTT.

Flying Officer Gordon William DIXON.

RESERVE OF AIR FORCE OFFICERS

Transfers

The undermentioned officers are transferred from the Active List to the Reserve of Air Force Officers, Class A, Section I:—

Dated 11th August, 1945— Flight Lieutenant Peter Chalmers McKINLAY. Dated 22nd August, 1945— Flight Lieutenant John Spencer WATSON.

Flying Officer Rae LowTHER. Dated 6th August, 1945— Flying Officer Theo Charles RALFE.

The undermentioned officers are transferred from the Active List to the Reserve of Air Force Officers, Class B, Section I :-

Dated 24th August, 1945-Wing Commander John Eaton HARDWICK-SMITH, M.B., Ch.B

Ch.B Dated 28th July, 1945— Squadron Leader Rodney Irvine ARMSTRONG. Dated 27th July, 1945— Flight Lieutenant Alexander McCredie HALDANE. Flight Lieutenant Jack Beaumont HEPWORTH.

Dated 31st July, 1945— Flight Lieutenant Harold Litchfield GREEN.

Dated 26th August, 1945-Dated 26th August, 1945— Flight Lieutenant Harold Francis CHRISTENSEN. Dated 28th July, 1945— Flying Officer Norman Victor Anthony HADRUP. Dated 2nd August, 1945— Flying Officer Graham Noel GORDON. Flying Officer Colin CRICHTON. Flying Officer Daniel Clements COLMORE-WILLIAMS. Dated 6th August. 1945—

Flying Officer Andrew Grant JAMIESON, D.F.C. Flying Officer Andrew Grant JAMIESON, D.F.C. Dated 2nd August, 1945— Pilot Officer Charles Robert BISCHOFF.

The notice appearing in the New Zealand Gazette No. 43, dated 21st June, 1945, page 817, under the heading "Reserve of Air Force Officers—Transfers," relating to "Flying Officer Bruce Rahu PHILIP," is amended to read "Flight Lieutenant Bruce Rahu PHILIP."

The notice appearing in the New Zealand Gazette No. 43, dated 21st June, 1945, page 815, under the heading "Reserve of Air Force Officers—Transfers," relating to "Pilot Officer Andrew SHEEHAN," is amended to read "Flying Officer Andrew SHEEHAN."

Cancellation

The notice appearing in the New Zealand Gazette No. 48, dated 12th July, 1945, page 899, under the heading "Reserve of Air Force Officers—Transfers," relating to "Squadron Leader Robert Steel GRANT," is cancelled.

F. JONES, Minister of Defence.

Assistant Public Service Commissioner appointed

Wellington, 20th August, 1945. IS Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to appoint appoint

John Aloysius Edmond Engel

to be Assistant Commissioner for the purposes of the Public Service Act, 1912. The appointment is for a period of seven years as on and from the 13th day of August, 1945.

P. FRASER, Prime Minister.

Member of Licensing Committee appointed

Department of Justice, Wellington, 22nd August, 1945.

H IS Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to appoint appoint

Sydney Smith, Esquire,

to be a member of the Licensing Committee for the District of Manawatu, vice G. Bartholomew, deceased.

H. G. R. MASON, Minister of Justice.

Chairman of Board of Examiners under the Coal-mines Act, 1925, appointed

Mines Department, Wellington, 13th August, 1945.

HIS Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to approve the appointment of

George Duggan, Esquire,

to be Chairman of the Board of Examiners under the Coal-Mines Act, 1925, vice John Henderson, Esquire, M.A., D.Sc., B.E., A.O.S.M. (retired).

JAS. O'BRIEN For the Minister of Mines.

Inspectors under the Noxious Weeds Act, 1928, appointed.—(Notice No. Ag. 4211)

Office of the Minister of Agriculture, Wellington, 17th August, 1945.

HIS Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to appoint, on the 10th day of August, 1945-

Ronald Carson Wilson,

Norman Keith Ritchie, and Lawrence James Paterson

to be Inspectors for the purposes of the Noxious Weeds Act, 1928, for the district under the control of the Apiti-Pohangina Rabbit Board.

B. ROBERTS, Minister of Agriculture.

Appointment of Inspectors under the Noxious Weeds Act, 1928, revoked.—(Notice No. Ag. 4212)

Office of the Minister of Agriculture, Wellington, 17th August, 1945.

H IS Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to revoke, on the 10th day of August, 1945, the appointment of-

> Frederick Biddlecombe and Norman Davis

as Inspectors for the purposes of the Noxious Weeds Act, 1928, for the district under the control of the Apiti-Pohangina Rabbit Board.

B. ROBERTS, Minister of Agriculture.