Dated 27th November, 1945ed 2/th November, 1945—
Flight Lieutenant Basil Vivian GAIN.
Flying Officer John Keith Bell.
Flying Officer Jack Lancelot Callander.
Flying Officer Ernest Alton Sutherland.
Flying Officer Desmond Edward STOKES. Pated 28th November, 1945—
Flying Officer David Meredith Thomas.
Flying Officer Robert Alfred Fowell.
Pilot Officer Stephen Walter Barton.
Pilot Officer Raymond Joseph Polaschek. Dated 29th November, 1945ed 24th November, 1945—
Flight Lieutenant Francis Charles Fox, D.F.C.
Flying Officer Pete Balfour Evans.
Flying Officer William James Horgan.
Flying Officer Clifford Samuel Dale.

Dated 30th November, 1945-

ed 30th November, 1945—
Flying Officer Eric Houchen GOODHALL.
Flying Officer Wallace YORKE.
Flying Officer James Logan Ross.
Flying Officer Allan George RICKETTS.
Flying Officer Robert Jackson McCully.
Flying Officer John Hudson Keesing.
Pilot Officer Ronald William GLASGOW.

Dated 3rd January, 1946-Flight Lieutenant Sydney Armstrong Haig Short, D.F.C. Flight Lieutenant Clarence James Finnagan. Flying Officer Frederick Sinclair Wilkinson.

Dated 5th January, 1946: Flying Officer Harry Bainbridge. Dated 6th January, 1946: Flight Lieutenant Ian Arnaud BURGESS.

Dated 8th January, 1946: Flight Lieutenant Ernest Charles Mawson, D.F.C.

Dated 9th January, 1946: Flying Officer Alfred John Downes.

Dated 10th January, 1946: Flying Officer Stuart Edward Nicol.

The undermentioned officers are transferred from the Active List to the Reserve of Air Force Officers, Class B, Section I:— Dated 5th November, 1945: Flying Officer Henry Mackay

Dated 6th November, 1945: Group Captain George Alfred Nicholls.

Dated 20th November, 1945: Flight Lieutenant Kenneth Scott Glendinning.

Dated 23rd November, 1945: Flying Officer Gerald Peter CACHEMAILLE.

Dated 27th November, 1945: Flying Officer Albert Hector

BREED.

Dated 28th November, 1945-

Flying Officer Aubrey Bernard Harper. Pilot Officer Frank Beswick.

Pilot Officer Henry Alexander SIME.

Dated 29th November, 1945-

Flight Lieutenant Raymond Keith Gunn.
Flying Officer Wallingford Garfield McCullough.
Flying Officer John Blake Gregory.
Flying Officer Stanley Joseph Brown.
Flying Officer Douglas Enoch Wood.

Dated 30th November, 1945: Flight Lieutenant William

Colehan Thomson.
Dated 2nd January, 1946: Flying Officer Cyril John Roberts. Dated 3rd January, 1946-

Wing Commander William Johnston Shanly. Squadron Leader Gordon Rufus LEE. Flying Officer Kenneth Eric MANDER.

Relinguishment

Wing Officer Frances Ida Kain is permitted to relinquish her commission. Dated 30th November, 1945.

Amendment

The notice appearing in the New Zealand Gazette No. 111, dated 16th December, 1943, page 1499, under the heading "New Zealand Women's Auxiliary Air Force—Transfer," relating to Wing Officer Frances Ida Kain, is amended to read "Dated 29th December, 1943.

F. JONES, Minister of Defence.

Award of Foreign Decorations

Office of the Minister of Defence, Wellington, 18th October, 1945.

IS Majesty the King has granted unrestricted permission for the wearing of the undermentioned decorations conferred upon the officers of the Royal New Zealand Air Force named, in recognition of valuable services rendered in connection with the

CONFERRED BY THE PRESIDENT OF THE UNITED STATES OF AMERICA Legion of Merit (Degree of Commander)

Air Vice-Marshall Leonard Monk Isitt, C.B.E., Chief of the Air Staff (NZ 1002), of Lower Hutt.

Acting Air Commodore Maurice William Buckley, M.B.E., Deputy Chief of the Air Staff (NZ 1005), of Lower Hutt.

Legion of Merit (Degree of Legionnaire)

Acting Air Commodore Geoffrey Newland Roberts, A.F.C. (NZ 1087), of Auckland.

F. JONES, Minister of Defence.

Honours and Awards approved by His Majesty the King

Office of the Minister of Defence. Wellington, 6th November, 1945.

HIS Majesty the King has been graciously pleased to approve the following awards to members of the Royal New Zealand Air Force in recognition of gallantry and devotion to duty in air operations against the enemy:—

Distinguished Flying Cross

Pilot Officer William Kemp Paterson (NZ 4211701), of Geraldine.

4th December, 1945

Flight Lieutenant Leonard Claude Baines (NZ 39076), of Marton. Flight Lieutenant Nelson Hugh Bawden (NZ 421313), of Hastings. Flight Lieutenant John Hetrick Higgins (NZ 41647), of Christehurch. Flight Lieutenant Trevor Winston Peek (NZ 414334), of Christehurch.

church.

Flight Lieutenant William John Simpson (NZ 413899), of Te Awamutu.

Acting Flight Lieutenant Beryck Phillip William Dalcom (NZ 414261), of Australia.

Flying Officer Thomas McKenzie Austin (NZ 427409), of Te Aroha.

Flying Officer Graham Arthur Avery (NZ 42149), of Blenheim.

7th December, 1945

Flying Officer Laurence Edward Dovey (NZ 422601), of Wellington. Flying Officer Robert George Evans (NZ 41475), of Hastings. Flying Officer Herbert Wilfred Hooper (NZ 40111), of Manaia. Flying Officer Malcolm Albert Peterson (NZ 402892), of Lower Hutt. Flying Officer Harry Alexander Ramsey (NZ 415017), of Auckland. Flying Officer Lindsay Francis Robinson (NZ 4210092), of Morrinsville.

ville.

Flying Officer Robert George Webster (NZ 412293), of Australia.
Flying Officer Norman Alexander Wickes (NZ 4211787), of Kumara.
Pilot Officer Keith Burnett Fitton (NZ 4210038), of Cambridge.
Pilot Officer Allan Johnson Mayfield (NZ 417084), of Oamaru.

11th December, 1945

Flight Lieutenant William Lister Miller (NZ 402208), of Invercargill.

24th April, 1945

Acting Flight Lieutenant John Trevor McGreal (NZ 415706), of Auckland. F. JONES, Minister of Defence.

Trustee of Savings-bank appointed

The Treasury, Wellington, 14th December, 1945.

HIS Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to appoint

David Miller Pettigrew

to be a trustee of the Hokitika Savings-bank.

W. NASH, Minister of Finance.

Stipendiary Magistrate appointed

Department of Justice, Wellington, 31st December, 1945.

III Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to appoint appoint

Leonard George Herston Sinclair, Esquire, to be a Stipendiary Magistrate to exercise criminal and civil jurisdiction within New Zealand.

H. G. R. MASON, Minister of Justice.

Members of Licensing Committees appointed

Department of Justice, Wellington, 21st December, 1945.

HIS Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to appoint appoint

James Pascoe, Esquire,

to be a member of the Licensing Committee for the District of Auckland, $\it vice$ Joseph Sayegh, Esquire ;

John Barr Paterson, Esquire,

to be a member of the Licensing Committee for the District of Remuera, $vice\ G.\ F.\ Court,\ deceased$; and

Arthur Burke, Esquire,

to be a member of the Licensing Committee for the District of Hurunui, vice Samuel Frew, deceased.

H. G. R. MASON, Minister of Justice.

Member of Licensing Committee appointed

Department of Justice, Wellington, 8th January, 1946.

IS Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to appoint Oswald Henry Coleman, Esquire,

to be a member of the Licensing Committee for the District of Rotorua. H. G. R. MASON, Minister of Justice.