

SUPPLEMENT

TO THE

NEW ZEALAND GAZETTE

THURSDAY, MAY 23, 1946

Published by Authority

WELLINGTON, FRIDAY, MAY 24, 1946

Notice of a Scheme of Development and Reconstruction in and adjacent to the Cities of Wellington and Lower Hutt and the Boroughs of Eastbourne, Petone, Upper Hutt, and Featherston, the Town District of Johnsonville, and the Counties of Hutt, Makara, Horowhenua, and Featherston

PURSUANT to subsection (2) of section 29 of the Finance Act (No. 3), 1944, I, Robert Semple, the Minister of Works, hereby give notice of the nature of the work to be included in the scheme of development and reconstruction described in the First Schedule hereto, and that the approximate boundaries of the area hereby affected are as described in the Second Schedule hereto, such area being hereinafter referred to as "the area." This notice shall remain in force until the 30th day of September 1956 shall remain in force until the 30th day of September, 1956.

FIRST SCHEDULE NATURE OF WORK

The improvement of the lands and development of the area for industrial, commercial, residential, and recreational purposes, and the reclamation of overcrowded areas, with the improvement of existing and the provision of new and additional communications, public utilities and amenities, including in particular the provision

1. Land Drainage, Reclamation and Development

Drainage, reclamation, subdivision, development, improvement, regrouping, and better utilization of land-

- (a) In the western portion of Featherston County;
 (b) In the upper reaches of both arms of the Porirua Harbour and in that vicinity; and
- (c) In Evans Bay.

2. River Control and Soil Conservation

(a) Works for the improvement and control of the Ruamahanga (a) Works for the improvement and control of the Ruamahanga and Hutt Rivers and tributaries and the streams flowing into Porirua Harbour, including diversion of the Ruamahanga River into the north-eastern portion of Lake Wairarapa.
(b) Works for drainage and flood protection in the lower Waiwhetu Stream and in the Heretaunga district of Upper Hutt.
(c) Works generally necessary for soil conservation.
(d) Afforestation.

3. Water-supply

A water-supply scheme comprising the collection of water from the Hutt River from a point above its confluence with the Pakuratahi River, and the conduct thence of such water by tunnels and pipelines and reticulation to give supply within the Hutt and Makara Counties, and the cities, boroughs, and town district adjoining those

4. Industry

The establishment of industrial areas and the provision and development of sites for industries in the vicinities of Johnsonville, Tawa Flat, Porirua, Plimmerton, Paekakariki, Pahautanui, Taita, Trentham, and Upper Hutt.

5. Commerce

The establishment of commercial areas and the provision and development of sites for commerce in conjunction with residential and industrial areas.

6. Communications

(A) Railways:-

General improvement of railway facilities including-

(i) The duplication of single lines on both the Wairarapa and the Main Trunk Railways.
(ii) The electrification of existing and new lines within the area, including in particular the line between Wellington and Featherston.
(iii) Extension of the suburban railway from Waterloo to Silvenstrane.

Silverstream.

(iv) The improved alignment of track and easing of grades through the Rimutaka Mountains, including the construction of a tunnel.

(v) The construction of a new line from the existing line

at Haywards to the existing line at Plimmerton.

(vi) The elimination of level crossings at Petone and elsewhere, and the extension, improvement, and relocation of station yards and crossings.

(B) Arterial Access:

The provision of new and the improvement of existing arterial vehicular access through the area, including in particular—

(1) In Wellington City-

(a) East-west arterial connection.(b) Improved access to southern suburbs from east-west arterial connection (Buckle Street) to Adelaide Road.
(c) Improved eastern access to Miramar across land in Evans

(c) Improved eastern access to Miramar across land in Evans
Bay to be reclaimed, connecting Wellington Road
with Bridge Street.
(d) Aro Street - Lambton Quay north - south tunnel bypass, being a tunnel roadway paralleling The Terrace
with access at various points, including Lambton
Quay, Ghuznee Street, and Aro Street.
(e) Main northern waterfront outlet via Jervois Quay, with
extension to Taranaki Street through the Civic Centre.
(f) Thorndon Quay northern outlet deviation.

(f) Thorndon Quay northern outlet deviation.
(g) North-western outlet (inland route) providing improved outlet from east-west arterial connection to John-sonville via Te Aro Flat, Kelburn, Northland, Wadestown, Ngaio, and Khandallah, including a tunnel in the vicinity of Taitville.

(2) In Wellington City and Makara County-

(a) Access by tunnel and road from the vicinity of Karori Park to South Makara.
(b) Access by tunnel and road from Awarua Street, Ngaio, to Ohariu Valley.

(3) In Makara and Hutt Counties-

New highway from Johnsonville commencing on the line of the former Main Trunk Railway and passing to the west of the southern arm of the Porirua Harbour, rejoining the existing highway near Paremata and north of the present highway bridge.