Air Department, Wellington, 10th June, 1946. H IS Excellency the Administrator of the Government has been pleased to approve the following promotions and reversion of officers of the Royal New Zealand Air Force :---

GENERAL DUTIES BRANCH

Promotions

Flight Lieutenant Allan John PRICE, A.F.C., to be Squadron Leader (temp.). Dated 1st August, 1944. Flight Lieutenant William Hugh Joseph GRIFFITH to be Acting Squadron Leader (paid). Dated 16th February, 1946.

- The undermentioned Flying Officers to be Flight Lieutenants (temp.) :-
 - Dated 2nd April, 1945 : Robert Gordon HARVEY.
 - Dated 24th March, 1946 : Andrew Lawrence BAGGOTT. Dated 4th April, 1946 : John Hislop Boles, D.F.C.

Dated 7th April, 1946-Keith Grayson Bond. Stewart Albert Calder. Godfrey William HARVEY. Kenneth Berkley Allan.

Dated 14th April, 1946— William Arthur BROWN. Cyril Raymond PETERS.

842

Dated 20th April, 1946 : Noel Eric ROSEMAN. Dated 21st April, 1946 : William Joseph GEENTY.

Dated 24th April, 1946-

Henry Selvin Schwass, D.F.C. Robert INGLES.

Philip Poole Inving.

Dated 1st May, 1946-Colin GLOSSOP. Ronald Vernon SIGNAL, D.F.C.

Terence Cecil MAY.

Dated 3rd May, 1946 : Arthur Lindo DICKISON, D.F.C. Dated 5th May, 1946-

Stanley Garrick Livingstone. Robert William Gilbert ALEXANDER.

Dated 8th May, 1946 : William Makepeacé STRATHERN, D.F.C.

Reversion

Acting Squadron Leader Keith Frederick THIELE, D.S.O., D.F.C., reverts to the temporary rank of Flight Lieutenant. Dated 2nd May, 1946.

EQUIPMENT BRANCH, SECTION I: EQUIPMENT OFFICERS Promotion

Equipment Duties-

Flight Lieutenant Maui John Hanslip BRUGRTON to be Acting Squadron Leader (paid). Dated 1st May, 1946.

Administrative and Special Duties Branch Promotion

Flight Lieutenant John Beverly TOWNEND to be Acting Squadron Leader (paid). Dated 1st May, 1946.

F. JONES, Minister of Defence.

King's Birthday Honours List

Government House, Wellington, 13th June, 1946.

H IS Excellency the Administrator of the Government has announced that the King has been graciously pleased, on the occasion of the celebration of His Majesty's Birthday, to confer the following Honours:—

CIVIL DIVISION

Knight Commander of the Most Distinguished Order of Saint Michael and Saint George (K.C.M.G.)

Doctor Peter Henry Buck (Te Rangi Hiroa), Director of the Bernice P. Bishop Museum, Honolulu.

Knight Commander of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire (K.B.E.)

Professor John Rankine Brown, of Wellington.

Knight Bachelor

Mr. Cecil Arthur Whitney, of Auckland.

Companion of the Most Distinguished Order of Saint Michael and Saint George (C.M.G.)

Mr. James Rankin Bartholomew, of Dunedin. The Honourable Fred Waite, D.S.O., O.B.E., M.L.C., of Balclutha.

Commander of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire (C.B.E.) Mr. Edwin Dudley Good, of Wellington.

Mr. Robert McPherson, of Christchurch. Mr. John O'Shea, of Wellington. Doctor Tom Lakin Paget, of Wellington.

Mr. Carl Victor Smith, of Dunedin.

Mr. Christopher Thomas Aschman, of Christchurch. Mr. Roy Matthew Vining Brasted, of Christentre Mr. Roy Matthew Vining Brasted, of Wellington. Mr. Walter Edmund Leadley, of Wellington. Mr. Donald McPhee, of Auckland. Miss Doris Emily Menzies, of Hamilton.

Miss Mary Louise Roberts, of Dunedin. Doctor Walter Sneddon Robertson, of Wellington. Mr. Thomas James Sherrard, of Wellington. Mr. Charles Victor Smith, of Dunedin.

Mr. James Archibald Valentine, of New Plymouth.

Member of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire (M.B.E.)

Officer of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire (O.B.E.)

No. 43

Mr. Hector James Aekins, of Auckland. Doctor Alexander Francis Ritchie Crawford, of Invercargill.

Mr. Alfred Hugh Crawley, of Nelson. Mrs. Edith Mary De Castro, of Te Kuiti. Mr. Edward Gibbard, of Dannevirke.

Mr. John Black Grant, of Dunedin. Mrs. Theresa Green, of Christchurch

Mr. John Athol Gregor, J.P., of Christehurch. Mr. Fred Bennett Katene, of Wellington.

Mr. David Ferguson Mackay, of Auckland. Mrs. Florence Isobel McBride, of Auckland. Captain Harold Hilton Sergeant, of Auckland. Mrs. Irene May Leonora Taylor, of Wellington.

MILITARY DIVISION

Companion of the Most Honourable Order of the Bath (C.B.)

Major-General Norman William McDonald Weir, C.B.E., N.Z.S.C.,

Chief of the General Staff and First Military Member of the Army Board, of Lower Hutt. Vice-Marshal Arthur de Terotte Nevill, C.B.E., Chief of the Air Staff, R.N.Z.A.F., of Wellington. Air

Commander of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire (C.B.E.) Acting Air Commodore Maurice William Buckley, M.B.E., of Lower

Hutt Captain Ralph Newman, D.S.O. and Bar, V.D., R.N.Z.N.V.R., of Wellington.

Officer of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire (O.B.E.) Acting-Commander Ernest Walter Garner, V.D., R.N.Z.N.V.R., of

Auckland.

Surgeon Commander Arnold Perry, V.D., R.N.Z.N.V.R., of Auckland. Captain (*temp.* Lieutenant-Colonel) John Henry Sharp, N.Z.S.C., of Wellington.

Wellington.
Major (temp. Lieutenant-Colonel) Douglas Todd Maxwell, N.Z.S.C., of Wellington.
Major (temp. Lieutenant-Colonel) Ernest Leonard Guy Böwn, N.Z.S.C., of Heretaunga.
Major Septimus Trainor Owen, of Wellington.
Major (temp. Lieutenant-Colonel) Vincent James Innes, N.Z.S.C., of Wellington.
Acting Group Captain Charles Campbell Hunter B N Z A F. of

Acting Group Captain Charles Campbell Hunter, R.N.Z.A.F., of Wellington.

Acting Group Captain Eric Gordon Moore, R.N.Z.A.F., of Wellington. Wing Commander Kenneth James Crichton, R.N.Z.A.F., of Lower Hutt.

Wing Commander Donald Charles Campbell, R.N.Z.A.F., of Dunedin. Wing Commander Jonate Charles Campben, R.N.Z.A.F., of Dunedin. Wing Commander Ian Alastair Scott, R.N.Z.A.F., of Mosgiel. Wing Commander Ian Alastair Scott, R.N.Z.A.F., of Lower Hutt. Squadron Leader Geoffrey Cyril Ellis, R.N.Z.A.F., of Christchurch. Squadron Leader Alfred Benjamin Lindop, R.N.Z.A.F., of Ohakea. Squadron Leader George Arthur Tillson, R.N.Z.A.F., of Palmerston North North

Member of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire (M.B.E.) Lieutenant-Commander Ronald Francis Hull, R.N.Z.N.V.R., of Auckland.

Auckland.
Temporary Acting Electrical Lieutenant-Commander Edward John Marklew, R.N.Z.N.V.R., of Wellington.
Lieutenant (temp.) Fred Govsky, R.N.Z.N.R., of Christchurch.
Lieutenant Frederick Kendall Gibson, R.N.Z.N.V.R., of Lower Hutt.
Major Gerald Harcourt Weir, E.D., N.Z.T.S., of Wellington.
Major John Vincent, D.C.M., M.M., N.Z.S.C., of Heretaunga.
Major Christopher Henry Gallagher, N.Z.T.S., of Wellington.
Captain George Edward Cox, N.Z.T.S., of Wellington.
Temporary Captain and Quartermaster James Malcolm, N.Z.P.S., of Wanganui
Captain Ernest Smith, N.Z.T.S., of Lower Hutt.

of Wanganui Captain Ernest Smith, N.Z.T.S., of Lower Hutt. Captain Horace Maddocks, N.Z.T.S., of Auckland. Temporary Major and Quartermaster John William Fletcher, N.Z.P.S., of Auckland. Major Alfred George Lowry, N.Z.T.S., of Auckland. Captain James Leslie Napier, E.D., N.Z.T.S., of Invercargill. Subaltern Daisy Isaacs, W.A.A.C., of Eastbourne. Acting Squadron Leader Kenneth Arthur Sheard, R.N.Z.A.F., of Wellington. Acting Squadron Leader James William Aston, R.N.Z.A.F., of Eastbourne.

R.N.Z.A.F., of Wellington.

Squadron Leader Owen Evans, R.N.Z.A.F., of Westport. Acting Squadron Leader Jack Garrance Dunstan, R.N.Z.A.F., of Christchurch.

Acting Squadron Leader John Harold McFadden, R.N.Z.A.F., of Auckland. Acting Squadron Leader John William Todd, R.N.Z.A.F., of Christehurch.

Flight Lieutenant Ivan Sidney Rockell, R.N.Z.A.F., of Hamilton. Acting Flight Lieutenant Bruce William Thomas Richards,