Honours and Awards conferred by His Majesty the King

Office of the Minister of Defence, Wellington, 22nd June, 1946.

H^{IS} Majesty the King has been graciously pleased to approve of the following awards:—

Bar to Distinguished Flying Cross

Flight Lieutenant Winston Brooke Mackley, D.F.C.

Distinguished Flying Cross

Flight Lieutenant James Alexander Hendry.

Flight Lieutenant Robert Laird Scott. Flight Lieutenant David Francis Thomas Sheehan.

Pilot Officer Alexander Ninion Oliver.

Mention in Despatches

Squadron Leader Kenneth William Barclay Anderson.
Squadron Leader Harold Thomas Francis.
Acting Squadron Leader George Condor Hitchcock, D.F.C.
Acting Squadron Leader Maxwell George Stubbs.
Flight Lieutenant Joseph Walter Bentley.
Flight Lieutenant Thomas Desmond Brewer.
Flight Lieutenant John Malcolm Fraser.
Flight Lieutenant Allen Lester Henry.
Flight Lieutenant Ronald Krissansen.
Flight Lieutenant John Francis Lockington

Flight Lieutenant John Francis Lockington.

Flight Lieutenant John Reginald McGrane. Flight Lieutenant Arthur Herbert Manz. Flight Lieutenant John Alexander Porteous. Flight Lieutenant Guy Rogers. Flight Lieutenant Ian Wellsted Russell.

Flight Lieutenant Ian Wellsted Russell.

Flight Lieutenant Harry Bernard Tucker.
Flying Officer Felix Patrick Anthony Campbell.
Flying Officer Ian Ronald Donaldson.
Flying Officer Arthur Heaton O'Neill.
Flying Officer Alfred Mather Wilkinson.

NZ 402481 Warrant Officer Eric Roy Cranch.

NZ 42337 Warrant Officer Lionel Richard Pomeroy.

NZ 41691 Sergeant Cecil Albert Budd.

F. JONES, Minister of Defence.

Clerk of the Executive Council appointed

Prime Minister's Office. Wellington, 4th July, 1946.

weinington, 4th July, 1946.

H IS Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to appoint appoint

William Osborne Harvey, Esquire,

to be Clerk of the Executive Council of the Dominion of New Zealand, vice C. A. Jeffery, Esquire, C.M.G., resigned. Appointment to date as on and from the 1st day of April, 1946.

P. FRASER, Prime Minister.

Member of Licensing Committee appointed

Department of Justice, Wellington, 5th July, 1946.

remngton, oth July, 1946.

H IS Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to appoint

Percy Goldsmith Guy, Esquire,

of Feilding, to be a member of the Licensing Committee for the District of Manawatu.

H. G. R. MASON, Minister of Justice.

Members of Licensing Committees appointed

Department of Justice, Wellington, 10th July, 1946.

HIS Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to appoint appoint

Archibald Albany McLachlan, Esquire, S.M.,

to be a member of the Licensing Committee for the District of Nelson, vice T. E. Maunsell, Esquire, S.M., from 22nd July, 1946,

John Logan Stout, Esquire, S.M.,

to be a member of the Licensing Committee for the District of Wellington from 1st July, 1946, vice W. F. Stilwell, Esquire, S.M.

H. G. R. MASON, Minister of Justice.

Egmont National Park Board.—Chairman of Board appointed

N pursuance and exercise of the powers conferred upon me by section 8 of the Egmont National Park Act, 1924, I, Clarence Farringdon Skinner, Minister of Lands, do hereby appoint

Michael Neville

to be the Chairman of the Egmont National Park Board in place of Walter Crowley Weston, resigned.

Dated at Wellington, this 5th day of July, 1946.

C. F. SKINNER, Minister of Lands.

(L. and S. 4/342.)

Members of the Nelson Raspberry Marketing Committee appointed

PURSUANT to the powers conferred on me by the Nelson Raspberry Marketing Regulations 1940, made under the Marketing Act, 1936, and the Agriculture (Emergency Powers) Act, 1934, I, Benjamin Roberts, Minister of Marketing, do hereby, in pursuance of Regulation 3 (b) of the said regulations, appoint—

Northern Ward

Donald Irving Llewellin, Lawrence Stoddart Mitchell,

Southern Ward

Felix Ashton Eden, Percy William Quayle Fargher,

to be members of the Nelson Raspberry Marketing Committee established by the said regulations.

Dated at Wellington, this 26th day of June, 1946.

B. ROBERTS, Minister of Marketing.

Members of Clerks of Works Registration Board appointed

PURSUANT to section 3 of the Clerks of Works Act, 1944, the Minister of Labour doth hereby appoint—

James Alexander Suiter.

and, on the recommendation of the New Zealand Institute of Architects-

Joseph McClatchie Dawson,

and, on the recommed nation of the New Zealand Institute of Clerks of Works — $\,$

Herbert Walter Martyn-Roberts, Charles H. Downes, and Frank Tomlinson

to be members of the Clerks of Works Registration Board for a term of one year commencing on the 4th day of July, 1946. Dated at Wellington, this 3rd day of July, 1946.

JAS. O'BRIEN, Minister of Labour.

Appointment of Officers for the Purposes of Part II of the Fisheries Act, 1908

> Marine Department Wellington, 8th July, 1946.

BY direction of the Hon, Minister of Marine, it is hereby notified that His Excellency the Covernor Country. D that His Excellency the Governor-General has, in pursuance of the provisions of the Fisheries Act, 1908, and of the Official Appointments and Documents Act, 1919, appointed

George Graham Newman, of Onepu, and Edwin George Marter Parker, of Mokai,

to be officers for the purposes of Part II of the first-mentioned Act in respect of the Rotorua Acelimatization District.

W. C. SMITH, Secretary.

Judge of Land Sales Court appointed

Department of Lands and Survey, Wellington, 4th July, 1946.

HIS Excellency the Governor-General in Council has been pleased to appoint

Kendrick Gee Archer, Esquire, Barrister,

to be Judge of the Land Sales Court, pursuant to section 4 of the Servicemen's Settlement and Land Sales Act, 1943, vice the Hon. Mr. Justice Finlay, resigned.

D. M. GREIG, Under-Secretary.

(L. and S. 13/207/1c.)

Transmitting and Receiving Officers for the Service of Notices by Telegraph

General Post Office,

Wellington, 25th June, 1946.

N pursuance of the powers vested in the Minister of Telegraphs
by the Post and Telegraph Act, 1928 (hereinafter termed the said Act), and by the regulations made on the 12th May, 1914, and published in the New Zealand Gazette of the 21st May, 1914 the following officers, at the addresses set against their names, are hereby appointed transmitting and receiving officers for the purpose of dealing with all notices by telegraph sent under the said Act or regulations, and of signing such certificates in relation to the service of any such notices as are required or authorized to be signed or given under the said Act or the regulations aforesaid:—

John Manson Sutherland, Postmaster, Ashburton, George William Marsh, Postmaster, Fairlie. John McKinnon, Postmaster, Wairoa.

> F. JONES For the Minister of Telegraphs.