Captain W. S. Ward, M.B., Ch.B., N.Z. Medical Corps, and is reposted to the Territorial Force with the temporary rank of Captain, with seniority from 30th November, 1943. Dated 14th June, 1946. Captain E. Butler, N.Z. Army Service Corps, and is reposted to the Territorial Force with the temporary rank of Captain, with seniority from 1st January, 1943. Dated 3rd July, 1946. Captain T. D. Gerrard, and is reposted to The Auckland Regi-ment (Countess of Ranfurly's Own) with the temporary rank of Captain, with seniority from 1st May, 1941. Dated 3rd July, 1946. Lieutenant J. R. Caradus, and is reposted to The Otago Regi-ment with the temporary rank of Lieutenant, with seniority from 21st July, 1944. Dated 2nd July, 1946. Sister V. O. Tyler, N.Z. Army Nursing Service, and is reposted to the Territorial Force with the rank of Sister, with seniority from 11th December, 1941. Dated 2nd July, 1946. Sister F. A. Iggo, N.Z. Army Nursing Service, and is reposted to the Territorial Force with the rank of Sister, with seniority from 1st February, 1943. Dated 3rd July, 1946.

Officers struck off the Strength of the 2nd New Zealand Exfeditionary Force

With reference to the notice published in the New Zealand Gazette No. 33, dated 23rd May, 1946, relative to Colonel (Acting-Brigadier) F. M. H. Hanson, D.S.O., O.B.E., M.M., for "Dated 10th April, 1946," substitute "Dated 15th April, 1946." With reference to the notice published in the New Zealand Gazette No. 30, dated 9th May, 1946, relative to Major B. Boyd, M.B.E., for "Dated 5th April, 1946," substitute "Dated 9th June, 1946."

1946."
Major E. L. George, and is reposted to the N.Z. Army Ordnance
Corps. Dated 26th April, 1946.
Captain P. Francis, and is posted to The Hauraki Regiment
with the temporary rank of Captain, with seniority from 31st May,
1945. Dated 2nd July, 1946.
Lieutenant (temp. Captain) M. K. I. Uren, and is reposted to
the Regiment of Royal N.Z. Artillery. Dated 29th May, 1946.
Lieutenant R. G. Aitken, and is reposted to the N.Z. Permanent
Staff. Dated 17th June, 1946.
2nd Lieutenant A. Graham, and is reposted to the N.Z. Army

Medical Corps. Dated 21st June, 1946.

The undermentioned officers, and are reposted to the Reserve of Officers, Supplementary List :-

Lieutenants— G. S. Hampton. Dated 3rd June, 1946. E. R. Jordan, with the rank of Lieutenant. Dated 3rd July,

The undermentioned officers, and are posted to the Reserve of Officers, Supplementary List :--

Colonel (Acting-Brigadier) J. M. Mitchell, D.S.O., E.D., with the rank of Colonel. Dated 26th April, 1946.

Major

<sup>Jrs---</sup>
 W. Williams, M.B., Ch.B., LL.B. Dated 5th June, 1946.
 L. J. Roy, M.B., Ch.B. Dated 12th June, 1946.

Captain (Acting Major) T. B. Hewitt, with the rank of Captain. Dated 3rd July, 1946.

Captains

D. G. Sherriff. Dated 29th April, 1946. J. G. Sherriff. Dated 29th June, 1946. J. G. Seton. Dated 2nd July, 1946.

Lieutenant M. M. Chrystall. Dated 12th June, 1946. 2nd Lieutenants-

G. A. Doig, M.M. Dated 7th June, 1946. S. Mason. Dated 2nd July, 1946.

The undermentioned officers, and are posted to the Retired List :

Major (temp. Lieutenant-Colonel) R. H. Packwood, O.B.E., with the rank of Lieutenant-Colonel. Dated 13th February, 1942.

Captain (Acting-Major) G. W. Key, with the rank of Major. Dated 4th May, 1946.
2nd Lieutenant D. G. Bain. Dated 12th May, 1946.

F. JONES, Minister of Defence.

Appointments and Promotions of Officers of the Royal New Zealand Air Force

Air Department, Wellington, 11th July, 1946.

 $\mathbf{H}^{\mathrm{IS}}$  Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to approve the following appointments and promotions of officers of the Royal New Zealand Air Force :—

GENERAL DUTIES BRANCH

Promotion

Pilot Officer Clarence Herbert McKAY to be Flying Officer (temp.). Dated 26th November, 1945.

EQUIPMENT BRANCH, SECTION I: EQUIPMENT OFFICERS

#### Promotion

Equipment Duties-Flight Lieutenant William Francis FALVEY to be Acting Squadron Leader (paid). Dated 24th June, 1946.

## EQUIPMENT BRANCH, SECTION II : TECHNICAL OFFICERS Promotion

Aeronautical Production Branch— Flying Officer Albert William DINGLE to be Acting Flight Lieutenant (paid). Dated 2nd April, 1946.

Administrative and Special Duties Branch Promotion

Pilot Officer David Arthur BERESFORD to be Flying Officer (temp.). Dated 1st April, 1946.

# MEDICAL BRANCH

Appointment

NZ 2509 Eric Paul BRASTED, M.B., Ch.B., is granted a tem-porary commission in the rank of Flying Officer. Dated 17th June, 1946.

Administrative and Special Duties Branch, Section II (A.T.C.) Appointments

The undermentioned are granted Air Training Corps Commis-sions in the ranks shown. Dated 1st June, 1946.

As Flying Officer : Raymond Leonard Woodfield. As Pilot Officer : James DIGNAN.

### F. JONES, Minister of Defence.

Honours and Awards conferred by His Majesty the King

Office of the Minister of Defence, Wellington, 13th July, 1946.

Weinington, 13th July, 1940. II IS Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to approve the publication in the New Zealand Gazette of the following Honours and Awards conferred by His Majesty the King on personnel of the Royal New Zealand Navy during the period of hostilities (other than those already published in respect of Birthday Honours) since those last published in New Zealand Gazette No. 16, dated 21st March, 1946 :--

Member of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire (M.B.E.) Temporary Lieutenant William R. Lloyd, Royal New Zealand Naval Volunteer Reserve.
 Temporary Lieutenant Herbert C. Dixon, Royal New Zealand Naval Volunteer Reserve.

Distinguished Service Cross (D.S.C.)

Lieutenant-Commander George R. Davis-Goff, Royal New Zealand Navy.

Distinguished Service Medal (D.S.M.)

Chief Petty Officer (temp.) John W. Cameron, N.Z. 1034. Petty Officer John Alder, N.Z. 902. Petty Officer Reginald H. Lund, N.Z. 1574.

Mention in Despatches

Temporary Lieutenant Rex L. Gardiner, Royal New Zealand Naval Volunteer Reserve.

Temporary Lieutenant John B. Smith, Royal New Zealand Naval Volunteer Reserve.

Voluteer Reserve.
Temporary Lieutenant (A) Adrian H. Churchill, Royal New Zealand Naval Volunteer Reserve. (Posthumous.)
Lieutenant (S) Owen R. J. Skyrme, Royal New Zealand Navy.
Chief Petty Officer John McIntosh, N.Z. 1008.
Chief Engine Room Artificer Frederick W. J. Philpott, N.Z. 1300.

Chief Engine Room Artificer Frederick W. J. Philpott, N.Z. 1300.
Chief Ordnance Artificer William G. Horrocks, N.Z. 956.
Chief Petty Officer Cook (S) Jack M. Leybourne, N.Z. 1524.
Petty Officer Radio Mechanic Gavin J. C. Ferguson, N.Z. 5785.
Petty Officer Steward Arthur W. Slade, N.Z. 551.
Leading Seaman (now Acting Petty Officer (temp.)) Selwyn W. Notton, A/1053.
Able Seaman Alexander Steve, N.Z. 908.
Able Seaman Leslie J. Chilton, N.Z. 5901.

F. JONES, Minister of Defence.

Appointment of Members of the Radio Plan Industrial Committee under the Industrial Efficiency Act, 1936

# Department of Industries and Commerce, Wellington, 28th June, 1946.

PURSUANT to section 10 of the Industrial Efficiency Act, 1936, I, Daniel Giles Sullivan, Minister of Industries and Commerce, do hereby appoint Gerald Lionel O'Halloran, Secretary of the Bureau of Industry, to be a member of the Radio Plan Industrial Committee, appointed by me on the 18th day of March, 1942, in lieu of Francis Joseph Anthony Brogan, resigned.

Given under my hand at Wellington, this 28th day of June, 1946.

> D. G. SULLIVAN, Minister of Industries and Commerce.