Companion of the Distiguished Service Order

Acting Wing Commander Ronald Edward Barry, D.F.C.

Citation

"Since the award of the Distiguished Flying Cross, this "Since the award of the Distiguished Flying Cross, this officer has taken part in numerous operational sorties. Under his brilliant leadership the squadrons of his Wing materially contibuted to the success of the Sicilian campaign. Later, in 1945, Wing Commander Barry completed many bombing and low-level attacks in Spitfire aircraft, displaying throughout brilliance and courage as a pilot and leader. In February, 1945, he led his squadron in a highly successful attack on a heavily defended bridge at Grisolera, and a month later he located and attacked a concentration of railway transport to such good effect that four locomotives were destroyed and over such good effect that four locomotives were destroyed and over seventy goods trucks damaged. In addition, he has been tireless in organizing and leading missions in close support of the Eighth Army. An outstanding Wing Leader, this officer gained the absolute confidence of all the pilots under his command."

Distinguished Flying Cross

Acting Squadron Leader Robert Edward Stout. Flight Lieutenant Alexander Donovan McConnell. Flight Lieutenant John Wallace Sinclair Clark. Flying Officer Christopher David John Regan. Flying Officer John Eustace Haycock

Distinguished Flying Medal

NZ 41912 Sergeant Edmund Eric Geddes Kuhn.

Mentioned in Despatches

Acting Wing Commander Thomas Francis Gill, D.S.O. Acting Squadron Leader Francis Cecil Connolly.
Acting Squadron Leader Francis Cecil Connolly.
Acting Squadron Leader Wilfred Ronald Gellatly.
Acting Squadron Leader Brian Roy Quinlan.
Acting Squadron Leader Robert Edward Stut, D.F.C.
Acting Squadron Leader Robert Edward Stut, D.F.C. Acting Squadron Leader Robald Graham Watts.

Flight Lieutenant John Stanley Asher.

Flight Lieutenant Sexton Ivan Baird.

Flight Lieutenant William Pembroke Bell, D.F.C. Flight Lieutenant Edward Te Keu Bennett. Flight Lieutenant William Renwick Cook. Flight Lieutenant Francis William Davison. Flight Lieutenant William Mathias Dowle. Flight Lieutenant Charles Norman Gall, D.F.C. Flight Lieutenant Charles Melvin Gibbs, D.F.C Flight Lieutenant Charles Melvin Gibbs, D.F.C.
Flight Lieutenant William Charles Henderson, D.F.C.
Flight Lieutenant Raymond George Jeffs.
Flight Lieutenant Francis William Kilgour.
Flight Lieutenant Maurice Colgan Mayston.
Flight Lieutenant John William Reid.
Flight Lieutenant John William Reid.
Flight Lieutenant Colin Graham Rouse.
Flight Lieutenant Ross Charles Sayers.
Flight Lieutenant Albert Roy Hunter Stevenson.
Flight Lieutenant Philip Walter D'Arcy Stewart.
Flight Lieutenant Mervyn Clifford Thorburn.
Flight Lieutenant Maxwell Amner Collett.
Flying Officer Bernard Maurice Leonard.
Flying Officer John William Marshall.
Flying Officer John William Marshall.
Flying Officer Gordon Stewart Patrick.
Flying Officer Eric Blyton Reynolds.

Flying Officer Gordon Stewart Patrick.
Flying Officer Eric Blyton Reynolds.
Flying Officer Irvin Charles Skudder.
Flying Officer Leslie Brian Taylor.
Flying Officer Leslie Brian Taylor.
Flying Officer Francis Hamilton Tipping.
Fliot Officer John Walker McKenzie.
Pilot Officer Ross Alexander Melles.
NZ 39875 Warrant Officer Charles August Boyer.
NZ 416319 Warrant Officer Henry Carl Hooper.
NZ 40608 Warrant Officer John Spence Horan.
NZ 411902 Warrant Officer Arthur Ross Cunnold Jackson.
NZ 416190 Warrant Officer Rueby Keogh.

NZ 416120

Warrant Officer Rugby Keogh.
Warrant Officer Gordon Douglas McDonald.
Warrant Officer Pat Murray McQuarrie. NZ 427071 NZ 415822

NZ 416996 Flight Sergeant David George Aubrey.
NZ 40544 Acting Flight Sergeant Albert William Martin.
NZ 413617 Sergeant John Cleveland Sampson.

Commendation

Flight Lieutenant Francis Alexander Cox.

F. JONES, Minister of Defence.

Honours and Awards conferred by His Majesty the King Francisco Control Cont

Air Department,
Wellington, 22nd July, 1946.

HIS Majesty the King has been graciously pleased to approve the following Honours and Awards to members of the Royal New Zealand Air Force, in recognition of meritorious and gallant services rendered during the war:-

To be an Additional Officer of the Most Excellent Order of the British Eimpire

Wing Commander George Carter. Squadron Leader Ronald Joseph Leonard. Squadron Leader Herbert Henry Smith.

To be an Additional Member of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire

Squadron Leader Clifton Clyde Norford Johnston. Flight Lieutenant the Reverend William Trevor Williams.

British Empire Medal

NZ 391728 Flight Sergeant James Shrimpton Ward.

Distinguished Flying Cross

Squadron Leader William Alfred Hardham.
Squadron Leader George Stuart Alexander Stevenson.
Flight Lieutenant Henry Richard Dean.
Flight Lieutenant Robert Alexander Martin.

Flight Lieutenant Nobert Alexander Martin.
Flight Lieutenant John Leslie Scott.
Flying Officer David William Grindell.
NZ 414888 Warrant Officer Henry Beaumont Newell.

Mention in Despatches

Flight Lieutenant Laurence Norman Dyer. Flying Officer Ian Warwick Berkley Tyerman. NZ 4212588 Corporal William George Mudgway.

AMENDMENT

Gazette No. 51, dated 25th July, 1946, page 1021 For Flying Officer Magnus Whitefield Wilson, amend to read Flying Officer Magnus Whitefield Wilson Johnson.

F. JONES, Minister of Defence.

Appointment of Member of the Footwear Plan Industrial Committee under the Industrial Efficiency Act, 1936

Department of Industries and Commerce, Wellington, 29th July, 1946.

DURSUANT to section 10 of the Industrial Efficiency Act, 1936, URSUANT to section 10 of the Industrial Efficiency Act, 1936, and to Regulation 6 of the Industrial Efficiency (Footwear) Regulations 1941, I, Daniel Giles Sullivan, Minister of Industries and Commerce, hereby appoint Harry Burrows Duckworth, Managing Director of Duckworth, Turner, and Company, Limited, Christchurch, to be a member of the Footwear Plan Industrial Committee appointed by notice dated the 17th day of April, 1941, in lieu of S. D. Macpherson, resigned.

Given under my hand at Wellington, this ?9th day of July, 1946.

D. G. SULLIVAN, Minister of Industries and Commerce.

Retirement of the Chief Justice of New Zealand

Department of Justice Wellington, 7th August, 1946.

H IS Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to concur in the relinquishment by the Right Honourable Sir Michael Myers, P.C., G.C.M.G., of his office as Chief Justice of New Zealand, as from the 31st day of July, 1946.

F. JONES, For the Minister of Justice.

Probation Officer appointed

appoint

James Dow

to be Probation Officer under the Offenders Probation Act, 1920, and the Crimes Amendment Acts, 1910 and 1920, for the Borough of New Plymouth.

F. JONES, For the Minister of Justice.

Member of Licensing Committee appointed

Department of Justice,
Wellington, 7th August, 1946.

HIS Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to appoint

Roy William Priest, Esquire,

to be a member of the Licensing Committee for the District of Palmerston North, vice M. A. Elliott, deceased.

F. JONES, For the Minister of Justice.

Member of Rabbit Boards appointed .- (Notice No. Ag. 4314)

PURSUANT to the powers vested in him by section 37 of the Rabbit Nuisance Act, 1928, the Minister of Agriculture doth hereby appoint

Alexander John Langford,

being an Inspector appointed under Part I of the said Act, to be a member of the Redeliff, Upper Pareora, and Otaio Rabbit Boards, vice Mr. James Alexander Griffith, retired.

Dated at Wellington, this 5th day of August, 1946.

C. F. SKINNER,

For the Minister of Agriculture.