Royal Red Cross, Second Class (A.R.R.C.)—

Charge Sister Jane Kiritapu Nepia, N.Z.A.N.S., of Nuhaka.

British Empire Medal-

Temp. Petty Officer Arthur Robert Everitt, R.N.Z.N., of Auckland.

Additional Auckland.

Chief Petty Officer Ernest Alfred Tibbenham, of Auckland.

Chief Petty Officer Writer Robert Turner Bywater Lutman, of Auckland.

Chief Petty Officer Leslie James Elliott, of Dunedin.

Leading Signalman Reginald Percy Vincent Hayter, R.N.Z.N.,

of Auckland.
Chief Petty Officer Kennedy Welton Sparke, of Auckland.
Leading Seaman Walter Thomson, of Auckland.
Acting Leading Seaman Ernest Martin, of Levin.
Sergeant (temp. W.O. I) Albert Victor Calder, N.Z.T.S., of

Upper Hutt.

Upper Hutt.

Staff Sergeant Horace Haines McCullough, N.Z.T.S., of Auckland.

Staff Sergeant James Carson, N.Z.T.S., of Burnham.

Staff Sergeant John Reginald Hay, 2nd N.Z.E.F., Fiji Section.

Staff Sergeant Walter Eric Appleby, N.Z.T.S., of Wellington.

Temp. Sergeant Robert Hay Watson, N.Z. Dental Corps, of Wellington.

Sergeant (lemp. W.O. I) George Fitzgerald, N.Z.T.S., of Wellington.

Staff Sergeant Leslie George Tyrie, N.Z.T.S., of Dunedin.

Sergeant James Higgins, N.Z.T.S., of Nelson.

Sergeant Frederick August Pitt, N.Z.A., of Auckland.

Temp. Warrant Officer (Class I) Edward Arthur Preston, of Gisborne.

Gisborne.

Sergeant Raymond Metton Underwood, of Auckland.
Sergeant Ambrose Charles Hurdsfield, N.Z. Engineers, of Rongotea.

Rongotea.

Staff Sergeant William James Diack, N.Z.T.S., of Silverstream. Staff Sergeant Joy Higgins, W.A.A.C., of Wellington. Staff Sergeant Matthew Spence, N.Z.T.S., of Upper Hutt. Senior Sergeant (Mrs.) June McCorkindale (née Purser), W.A.A.F., of New Plymouth. Flight Sergeant John Leonard Logan, R.N.Z.A.F., of Wellington. Corporal (Mrs.) Eileen Daisy Owen, W.A.A.F., of Wanganui. Leading Aircraftman Ian Burke, R.N.Z.A.F., of New Plymouth. Flight Sergeant George Raymond Patton, R.N.Z.A.F., of Feilding. Flight Sergeant James McArthur Grant, R.N.Z.A.F., of Fairlie. Flight Sergeant John Curtiss Henry, R.N.Z.A.F., of Auckland. Sergeant (now Warrant Officer) George Noel Dew, R.N.Z.A.F., of Auckland.

Acting Warrant Officer Raymond Leonard Woodfield, R.N.A.F., of Christchurch.

Sergeant Percy Thomas Hurn, R.N.Z.A.F., of Auckland. Flight Sergeant John Errol McNeill, R.N.Z.A.F., of Tauranga. Flight Sergeant Charles William Cooper, R.N.Z.A.F., of Wellington.

Commendation for Valuable Service in the Air-

Acting Squadron Leader Robert Duncan McVicker, R.N.Z.A.F., of Auckland.

Flight Lieutenant Harold Dale Ellerington, R.N.Z.A.F., of Auckland.

Flight Lieutenant Colin Sydney Marceau, D.F.C., of Auckland. Flight Lieutenant Richard Thomas Mounsey, R.N.Z.A.F., of Auckland.

Flight Lieutenant Leonard Frederick Poore, R.N.Z.A.F., of Christchurch.
Flight Leiutenant John Strand, R.N.Z.A.F., of Lower Hutt.
Flying Officer Donald Alfred Williams, R.N.Z.A.F., of Auckland.
Warrant Officer Kenneth Douglas MacLachlan, R.N.Z.A.F., of Whangarei.

> F. JONES. For the Minister of Internal Affairs.

Legislative Councillors appointed

Prime Minister's Office, Wellington, 1st February, 1946.

IIS Excellency the Governor-General has, in His Majesty's name, summoned-

Miss Mary Patricia Anderson, of Greymouth, Mrs. Mary Manson Dreaver, M.B.E., of Auckland, The Honourable William Lee Martin, of Hamilton, and John Robertson, Esquire, of Masterton,

to the Legislative Council of New Zealand by writs of summons under the seal of New Zealand dated the 31st day of January, 1946.

W. NASH, Acting Prime Minister.

Consul-General of Denmark at Wellington appointed

Ministry of External Affairs, Wellington, 30th January, 1946.

HIS Excellency the Governor-General directs it to be notified that the appointment of

Karl Immanuel Eskelund, Esquire,

as Consul-General of Denmark at Wellington has been provisionally recognized.

> W. NASH. Acting Minister of External Affairs.

Consul of the Netherlands at Wellington transferred

Ministry of External Affairs, Wellington, 24th January, 1946.

IS Excellency the Governor-General directs it to be notified that

M. F. Vigeveno, Esquire,

formerly Consul of the Netherlands at Wellington has been transferred to a post outside New Zealand.

> W. NASH, Acting Minister of External Affairs.

Native Interpreter appointed

Native Department, Wellington, 8th October, 1945.

HIS Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to authorize

William Robert Young, of Wellington,

to act as an Interpreter of the First Grade under the provisions of the Native Land Act, 1931, and the regulations made thereunder.

H. G. R. MASON, Native Minister.

Probation Officer appointed

Prisons Department, Wellington, 30th January, 1946.

 $\mathbf{H}^{ ext{IS}}$ Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to appoint Mayis Pauling

to be a Probation Officer under the Offenders Probation Act, 1920, for the City of Invercargill.

H. G. R. MASON, Minister of Justice.

Members of Licensing Committees appointed

Department of Justice, Wellington, 5th February, 1946.

H IS Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to appoint

Alexander Gray McHardy, Esquire, and Reginald Francis Moore, Esquire,

to be members of the Licensing Committee for the District of Waitaki, and

William Hugh Gee, Esquire,

to be a member of the Licensing Committee for the District of Marlborough. H. G. R. MASON, Minister of Justice.

Coroner appointed

Department of Justice, Wellington, 5th February, 1946.

HIS Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to appoint

Alfred Fleming Quelch, Esquire, J.P.,

of Mosgiel, to be a Coroner for the Dominion of New Zealand. H. G. R. MASON, Minister of Justice.

Justice of the Peace resigns

Department of Justice, Wellington, 5th February, 1946.

H IS Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to accept the resignation by

Ivor Stuart Croll Dalgairns, Esquire,

of Ruatoria, of his appointment as a Justice of the Peace for the Dominion of New Zealand and its dependencies.

H. G. R. MASON, Minister of Justice.

Appointment of Deputy for the Licensing Authority of the No. 2 Transport District in Terms of the Transport Licensing Act,

IN pursuance and exercise of the powers conferred by section 12 of the Transport Licensing Act, 1931, the Minister of Transport does hereby appoint Stanley Victor Raines, District Licensing Authority for the No. 4 Transport District, Dunedin, as the Deputy of John Philip Oscar Skoglund, District Licensing Authority for the No. 2 Transport District, Wellington, during the absence of the said

John Philip Oscar Skoglund.
Dated at Wellington, this 31st day of January, 1946.

JAS. O'BRIEN, Minister of Transport.

(TT. 1/5.)