

SUPPLEMENT

NEW ZEALAND GAZETTE

THURSDAY, OCTOBER 17, 1946

Published by Authority

WELLINGTON, MONDAY, OCTOBER 21, 1946

Notice of a Scheme of Development and Reconstruction in the Taranaki, Wanganui, and King-country Regions

PURSUANT to subsection (2) of section 29 of the Finance Act (No. 3), 1944, I, Robert Semple, the Minister of Works, hereby give notice of the nature of the work to be included in the scheme of development and reconstruction described in the First Schedule hereto, and that the approximate boundaries of the area hereby affected are as described in the Second Schedule hereto, such area being hereinafter referred to as "the area." This notice shall remain in force until the 30th day of September, 1956.

FIRST SCHEDULE NATURE OF WORK

The improvement of the lands and the development of the area for industrial, commercial, residential, and recreational purposes, including, in particular, the provision of:—

1. Land Development

- (1) Land improvement and development works generally, including the acquisition of suitable blocks of land, clearing, sub-division, fencing, provision of houses, buildings, water-supply, access, and amenities.

- access, and amenities.

 (2) Development of Native holdings by the provision of lime works, farm improvements, new access roading.

 (3) Clearing and stumping lands at Ohakune and Kaitieke requiring the use of heavy machinery.

 (4) Regeneration of deteriorated lands between the Turakina and Wangaehu Rivers and in the Kaimanawa highlands, and in the backlands of Wanganui and Taranaki and the King-country convenience.
- generally.

 (5) Soil-conservation and river-control works and land drainage and reclamation throughout the area, including the following major
 - (a) Works for the control of flood-waters and prevention of erosion and flooding, in particular in the basins of the various rivers in the area, the most important being of the Rangitikei, Turakina, Wangaehu, Mangawhero, Wanganui, Waitotara, Patea, Waitara, Ohura, Tanga-rakau, and Mokau Rivers, and the tributaries of all of them, and willow eradication in the Mokau and Ohura. them, and willow eradication in the Mokau and Ohura Rivers
 - (b) The establishment of experimental soil-conservation and scientific-research stations in the backlands of Wanganui and Taranaki and the King-country:
 - (c) The acquisition, planting, and regeneration of eroded lands throughout the area, and the protection of bush-clad areas by the establishment of firebreaks and other means of control:
 - (d) Land protection by construction of a seawall at New Plymouth.
- (6) Afforestation: The development and expansion of forests generally within the area, with improved facilities for culture, control, and protection, particularly at Karioi, Rangataua, the Tongariro Forest area, and on the slopes of Mount Egmont.

 (7) Stabilization of sand-dune areas, particularly that between the Wanganui and Rangitikei Rivers and at Nukumaru Domain in the Waitsters Courtee.
- the Waitotara County.

2. Industrial

- (1) The establishment of industrial areas, and the provision and development of sites and buildings for industries, chiefly at Wanganui and New Plymouth.

 (2) The establishment, development, and improvement of industry on lands regenerated and stabilized lands.

 (3) Development of the ore and iron industries in the Taranaki

- (4) Development of the coal industry at Ohura, Mangapeehi, and Benneydale.

3. Commercial

- (1) The establishment of commercial areas, and the provision and development of sites and buildings for commerce in conjunction
- with residential and industrial areas.

 (2) The provision of accommodation and other facilities for tourist and holiday traffic, particularly at the Chateau, Egmont National Park, and Wanganui River.

4. Communications

- (1) Improvement of radio, telegraph, telephone, and postal (1) Improvement of radio, telegraph, telephone, and postal services throughout the area, including a new chief post office, new workshops, and alterations to existing workshops at New Plymouth; new post-offices at Taihape, Opunake, Eltham, Mangapeehi, Okato, Rangataua, and Wanganui East, and additions at Inglewood and Waverley; new automatic-telephone exchanges at New Plymouth and Wanganui East; carrier telephone buildings at Mangaweka and Awakino, and a store-garage at Taihape.

 (2) Arterial and Local Access: Improvements and extensions of existing and provision of new arterial and local access generally throughout the area, including, particularly, the following main works:—
- - (a) Reconstruction, metalling, and sealing of the named sections on the following main routes, with renewals and replacements, where necessary, of bridges:—
 - (i) Wanganui National Park: The Parapara, Makatote Stream Raetihi, and Kaitieke County Sec-

 - tions:

 (ii) Horopito-Bulls via Taihape: The Tohanga
 Junction Waiouru and Taihape-Hunterville sections:

 (iii) Wanganui-Bulls:

 (iv) Wanganui New Plymouth via Stratford:
 The Okehu, Maxwell-Waitotara, Whenuakura, Kaharoa-Kakaramea, Stratford-Ngaere, and Tariki New Plymouth sections:
 - Kakaramea, Stratford-Ngaere, and Tariki New Plymouth sections:

 (v) Hawera New Plymouth via Opunake:

 (vi) New Plymouth Te Kuiti: The Uruti to Mokau lengths, including, especially, new bridges over the Tongaporutu and Mohakatino Rivers:

 (vii) Mokau Te Kuiti: The Mahoenui-Piopio section, including, as major works, renewals of the Mangaotaki and Awakino River Bridges:

 (viii) Te Kuiti National Park: The Okahukura-Tangitu, Manunui-Owhango, Mapiu-Ongarue, Oio, and National Park sections:

 (ix) So much of the National Park Tauno route as:

 - (ix) So much of the National Park Taupo route as lies within the area, including, as a major replacement of the Waiotaka Bridge.