- (3) All members of every District Consultative Committee shall be beneficiaries residing in the district for which such District Consultative Committee is appointed: Provided that in the case of any District Consultative Committee which may be appointed for the North Island all members of such committee shall, save as is provided in the next succeeding paragraph, be residents of the North Island
- (4) The Chairman of every District Consultative Committee shall be the member representing such district on the Board: Provided that the Chairman of any District Consultative Committee which may be appointed for the North Island shall be the representative of Ngaitahu.
- 18. It shall be the duty of every District Consultative Committee to advise the Board with respect to questions affecting the district for which such committee is appointed, but the Board shall not be bound in any way to act upon any recommendation submitted to it by any District Consultative Committee.

ACCOUNTS

- 19. All moneys received by the Board shall be acknowledged on a printed form of receipt. A counterfoil of each receipt shall be retained by the Board and shall be countersigned by some person (other than the receiving officer), who shall certify the same as a true copy of the receipt issued.
- 20. Receipts shall be numbered consecutively, and the number of each receipt shall be quoted in the cash-book and other books of account kept by the Board.

TRAVELLING ALLOWANCES AND EXPENSES

- Travelling Allowances and Expenses

 21. (1) Members shall be paid for their attendance at all regular and special meetings of the Board, to which they shall be duly summoned to attend, the sum of one pound (£1) for each and every day of attendance at such meetings, including actual and reasonable travelling time to and from such meetings.

 (2) A member shall be entitled to a refund of the reasonable expense of accommodation during his attendance at such meeting and the reasonable expense of transport to and from the place of meeting by public conveyance. If no such public conveyance is available, then the reasonable cost of other transport may be allowed. In cases where the cost would be less than by public conveyance a member may be allowed at the rate of 6d. per mile of the distance measured each way for the use of his own horse, ear, or other vehicle. car, or other vehicle.
- 22. Out of the Board's funds there may be paid or refunded to any member of the Board and any member of any committee, or District Consultative Committee, in respect of his attendance at any meeting of such committee or District Consultative Committee, or in respect of any business or work authorized by the mittee, or in respect of any business or work authorized by the Board to be done or performed, the same allowances and expenses as he would be entitled to be paid or have refunded in accordance with the last preceding regulation hereof for his attendance at a meeting of the Board.

LIST OF BENEFICIARIES

23. The Registrar of the Native Land Court for the South Island District shall forward to the Secretary within two calendar months after the date of the maturing of such order a copy of any order of the Native Land Court, the Native Appellate Court, or the Chief Judge of the Native Land Court which may be made pursuant to the provisions of sections 21 or 22 of the said Act.

FIRST SCHEDULE REGULATIONS REVOKED

Date of Order in Council.	Subject-matter.	Published in Gazette.	
		Year.	Page.
14th January, 1932	Regulations as to the Consti- tution of the Ngaitahu Trust Board and matters . relevant thereto	1932	108

SECOND SCHEDULE

SOUTH ISLAND DISTRICTS

- Kaikoura District, comprising the Electoral Districts of Marlborough Nelson, and Buller.
- Akaroa District, comprising the Electoral Districts of Selwyn, Christchurch Central, Fendalton, St. Albans, Sydenham, Avon, Riccarton, and Lyttelton.
- Arowhenta District, comprising the Electoral Districts of Ashburton, Timaru, Waimate, and that part of the Electoral District of Oamaru lying to the north of the north-eastern boundary of the Waihemo County.
- Maahunui District, comprising the Electoral Districts of Hurunui and Westland.
- Araiteuru District, comprising the Electoral Districts of Central Otago, North Dunedin, St. Kilda, Mornington, Dunedin Central, and that part of the Electoral District of Oamaru lying to the south of the north-eastern boundary of the Waihemo County.

THIRD SCHEDULE THE NGAITAHU TRUST BOARD NOMINATION-PAPER

To the Secretary, Ngaitahu Trust Board.

(a) Nomination of Candidate to represent a District

WE, the undersigned, being Ngaitahu beneficiaries residing in the District, do hereby nominate , of , as a candidate for appointment as a member to represent the said district on the Board.

Dated at, this day of, 19...

- (To be signed by not less than five beneficiaries.) Witness:....
- I, the said, being a Ngaitahu beneficiary, do hereby consent to the above nomination.

Witness:....

(b) Nomination of Candidate as Representative of Ngaitahu

We, the undersigned, being Ngaitahu beneficiaries, do hereby nominate , of , as a candidate as the representative of Ngaitahu on the Board.

Dated at, this day of, 19..

(To be signed by not less than five beneficiaries.)

Witness:....

I, the said \dots , being a Ngaitahu beneficiary, do hereby consent to the above nomination.

W. O. HARVEY, Clerk of the Executive Council.

Appointing Four Non-elective Members of the North Canterbury Catchment Board

B. C. FREYBERG, Governor-General

PURSUANT to section forty-four of the Soil Conservation and Rivers Control Act, 1941, I, Lieutenant-General Sir Bernard Cyril Freyberg, the Governor-General of the Dominion of New Zealand, do hereby appoint—

David Darcy Dun, Esquire, Conservator of Forests, State Forest Service, Christchurch, Charles Sherwood Harris, Esquire, B.Agr.Sc., Senior Pedologist, Department of Scientific and Industrial Research, Christ-

Thomas William Preston, Esquire, Commissioner of Crown Lands, Christchurch, and Richard Patrick Connell, Esquire, M.A., Fields Superinten-dent, Department of Agriculture, Christchurch,

to be non-elective members of the North Canterbury Catchment Board for a term commencing on the twenty-seventh day of May, one thousand nine hundred and forty-seven, and expiring on the thirtieth day of November, one thousand nine hundred and forty-

As witness the hand of His Excellency the Governor-General, this 31st day of May, 1947.

R. SEMPLE, Minister of Works.

(P.W. 75/5.)

Apppointing Five Non-elective Members of the Southland Catchment Board

B. C. FREYBERG, Governor-General

PURSUANT to section forty-four of the Soil Conservation and Rivers Control Act, 1941, I, Lieutenant-General Sir Bernard Cyril Freyberg, the Governor-General of the Dominion of New Zealand, do hereby appoint—

Harold Welton Smith, Esquire, Resident Road Engineer, Public Works Department, Invercargill,
Joseph Frederick Field, Esquire, Conservator of Forests, State Forest Service, Invercargill,
James Pickford Lambert, Esquire, M.Agr.Sc., Agrostologist, Department of Scientific and Industrial Research, Gore,
William Thomas Spelman, Esquire, Commissioner of Crown Lands, Invercargill, and
William Leslie Harbord, Esquire, Dip. Agr. (Lincoln), Instructor in Agriculture, Department of Agriculture, Invercargill,

to be non-elective members of the Southland Catchment Board for a term commencing on the twenty-seventh day of May, one thousand nine hundred and forty-seven, and expiring on the thirtieth day of November, one thousand nine hundred and forty-seven.

As witness the hand of His Excellency the Governor-General, this 31st day of May, 1947.

R. SEMPLE, Minister of Works.

(P.W. 75/12.)