Commander of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire (C.B.E.) George Finlay Dixon, Esquire, M.B.E., of Wellington. Professor Thomas David James Leech, of Auckland.

Companion of the Imperial Service Order (I.S.O.) Harold Digby-Smith, Esquire, of Wellington. John William Macdonald, Esquire, of Wellington.

Officer of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire (O.B.E.) Joseph Elmsley Broadfoot, Esquire, of Auckland. Miss Helen Matilda Comrie, of Christchurch. Miss Helen Matilda Comrie, of Christchurch.
Walter Verran Dyer, Esquire, of Lower Hutt.
Waata Roore Erueti, Esquire, of Whatawhata.
James John Marlow, Esquire, of Dunedin.
Colin Miln, Esquire, of Christchurch.
Patrick John Monaghan, Esquire, of Apia, Western Samoa.
Charles Ormond Morse, Esquire, of Dargaville.
Archibald Frank Nicoll, Esquire, of Christchurch.
Raharuhi Pururu, Esquire, of Horohoro.
Frank Taylor Sandford, Esquire, formerly Official Secretary to the
High Commissioner for New Zealand, London.

Member of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire (M.B.E.) Eric Jack Daniel, Esquire, of Ashburton. Mrs. Jessie Miller Grant, of Tokomaru Bay. James Fort Himburg, Esquire, of Dunedin. James Fort Himburg, Esquire, of Dunedin.
Charles Ivory Jennings, Esquire, of Rangiora.
Mrs. Lilly Grace McLean, of Great Barrier Island.
William Meikleham, Esquire, of Otekaieke, North Otago.
Miss Maude Morris, of Waitati.
Leslie Gordon Olliff, Esquire, of Auckland.
Miss Titiata Elizabeth Paora Kawharu, of Dargaville.
Edward James Rose, Esquire, of Kumara.
Thomas Banks Smith, Esquire, of Lyttelton.
Mrs. Catherine Thomson, of Wellington.
Miss Florence Ellen Woodhouse, of Dunedin.

King's Police and Fire Services Medal James Cummings, Esquire, Commissioner of Police, of Wellington.

MILITARY DIVISION

Companion of the Most Honourable Order of the Bath (C.B.) Commodore George Haines Faulkner, D.S.C., R.N., late First Naval

Member of the New Zealand Naval Board and Chief of the Naval Staff.

Commander of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire (C.B.E.) Brigadier Leslie Potter, of Tauranga.

Officer of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire (O.B.E.) Commander (E) Alan John Norris, R.N., of Auckland. Lieutenant-Colonel Vincent Gordon Jervis, N.Z.S.C., of Eastbourne. Lieutenant-Colonel Walter Sneddon McKinnon, N.Z.S.C., of Wel-

lington.

Acting Wing Commander Cameron Archer Turner, R.N.Z.A.F., of Wellington.

Member of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire (M.B.E.) Temporary Acting-Lieutenant Edward William Blakiston, R.N.Z.N., of Auckland.

of Auckland.

Major John Alexander Pountney, of Wellington.
Captain William Hoole Cummings, of Dunedin.

Lieutenant and Quartermaster Alfred John Baigent, of Wellington.
Warrant Officer (Class I) James Edward Hobson, of Burnham.
Squadron Leader Jesse Julius de Willimoff, D.F.C., of Okoroire.
Acting Squadron Leader David Charles De Rungs, of Wellington.
Acting Squadron Leader Frederick William Thornton, of Auckland.
Warrant Officer Clement Sydney Boulton, R.N.Z.A.F., of Hamilton.

Air Force Cross (A.F.C.)

Flight Lieutenant Edward Pattison Booth Ebbett, of Fairlie. Flying Officer Harold Vincent Carlyle, of Marton. Warrant Officer Ivan Bruce Carrie, of Auckland.

Royal Red Cross (Second Class) (A.R.R.C.)

Senior Charge Sister (Miss) Venus Marshall Price, of Poranui, North Canterbury.

British Empire Medal (B.E.M.)

Chief Petty Officer Radio Mechanic Richard Garfield Williams, R.N.Z.N., of Waiouru.
Leading Writer Victor Noel Duncan, R.N.Z.N., of New Plymouth. Temporary Warrant Officer (First Class) Alfred George Burbage, of Wellington.
Staff Sergeant Wilfred Reynolds Paine, of Lyttelton.
Flight Sergeant Bruce Gordon Thiele Johnstone, R.N.Z.A.F., of Auckland

Auckland.

Flight Sergeant David William Jones, R.N.Z.A.F., of Auckland. Flight Sergeant Frank Stanley George Crosby, R.N.Z.A.F., of Auckland.

Sergeant Gladys Amelia Cruickshank, W.A.A.F., of Stratford. Corporal Roy Sedric Waterhouse, R.N.Z.A.F., of Wellington.

Commendation for Valuable Service in the Air Flight Lieutenant Mervin Francis Brown, R.N.Z.A.F., of Auckland. Flight Lieutenant William Leslie Bridget, R.N.Z.A.F., of Christchurch.

Flight Lieutenant Alan Lester Henry, R.N.Z.A.F., of Auckland. Flight Lieutenant Robert William Macadam, R.N.Z.A.F., of Nelson. Flight Lieutenant Sidney Stewart Obery, R.N.Z.A.F., of Christchurch.

D. E. FOUHY, Official Secretary.

Legislative Councillors appointed

Prime Minister Office, Wellington, 17th June, 1947.

IS Excellency the Governor-General has, in His Majesty's name, summoned name, summoned-

The Honourable David Wilson, of Wellington, and James Roberts, Esquire, of Wellington,

to the Legislative Council of New Zealand by writs of summons under the Seal of the Dominion of New Zealand dated the 17th day of June, 1947.

P. FRASER, Prime Minister.

Member of the Board of Trustees of the National Art Gallery and Dominion Museum appointed

Department of Internal Affairs, Wellington, 11th June, 1947.

H IS Excellency the Governor-General in Council has been pleased to appoint the following person to be a member of the Board of Trustees of the National Art Gallery and Dominion Museum pursuant to section 2 (1) (f) of the National Art Gallery and Dominion Museum Amendment Act, 1936:—

Ernest Edward Muir, Esquire,

as representing the Wellington War Memorial Carillon Society for a term of three years from the 31st August, 1946.

W. E. PARRY, Minister of Internal Affairs. (I.A. 114/12.)

Members of Wairau Rabbit Board appointed .— (Notice No. Ag. 4429)

Department of Agriculture, Wellington, 12th June, 1947.

HIS Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased, in pursuance of section 56 of the Rabbit Nuisance Act, 1928, to appoint, on the 29th day of May, 1947—

Ronald Edward Hart, Esquire, and George Albert Toms, Esquire,

to be members of the Wairau Rabbit Board, vice John Watson Low and James Barry, resigned.

EDWARD CULLEN, Minister of Agriculture.

Member of Executive Council appointed

Executive Council Chambers, Wellington, 18th June, 1947.

Weinington, 18th June, 1947.

H IS Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to appoint appoint

The Honourable David Wilson, M.L.C.,

to be a member of the Executive Council of the Dominion of New Zealand; and the above named has taken the oath of office accordingly.

W. O. HARVEY, Clerk of the Executive Council.

Appointments in the Public Service

Office of the Public Service Commission, Wellington, 16th June, 1947.

THE Public Service Commission has made the following appointments in the Public Service. appointments in the Public Service:-

William Lewis Comrie

to be Superintendent of the Fund for the purposes of the National Provident Fund Act, 1926, on and from the 31st day of March,

Robert Hogan Bell

to be Commissioner of Crown Lands for the Marlborough Land District for the purposes of the Land Act, 1924, on and from the 14th day of May, 1947.

John Samuel Strawbridge

to be Chief Surveyor for the Taranaki Land District for the purposes of the Land Act, 1924, on and from the 30th day of May, 1947.

Herbert Millet Lawrey

to be Commissioner of Crown Lands for the Westland Land District for the purposes of the Land Act, 1924, on and from the 13th day of May, 1947.

John Joseph King

to be Deputy Registrar of Births and Deaths of Maoris at Nelson, on and from the 18th day of March, 1947.

L. A. ATKINSON, Secretary.