RESERVE OF AIR FORCE OFFICERS

Transfers

The undermentioned officers are transferred from the Active List to the Reserve of Air Force Officers, Class A, Section I :-

Dated 10th April, 1947: NZ 39920 Wing Commander Thomas Welch HORTON, D.S.O., D.F.C.

Dated 27th June, 1947-

NZ 413471 Flight Lieutenant Claude Richard POCOCK. NZ 4214088 Flying Officer John Dallin DUNLOP.

Dated 28th June, 1947: NZ 41634 Squadron Leader Richard

Fuller WORSLEY, A.F.C. Dated 30th June, 1947: NZ 425788 Flight Lieutenant Eric Clifton HARRIS, D.F.C.

Dated 1st July, 1947: NZ 438325 Flight Lieutenant Francis Roy KENNERLEY.

Dated 2nd July, 1947-NZ 415047 Flight Lieutenant Graham Stanley WHYTE, D.F.C.

NZ 425914 Flight Lieutenant John Rees LAYTON, D.F.C. Dated 10th July, 1947: NZ 4213928 Flying Officer Roger William RENNIE.

The undermentioned officers are transferred from the Active List to the Reserve of Air Force Officers, Class B, Section I :---

Dated 6th April, 1947: NZ 421083 Flight Lieutenant Walter Willough by MORGAN. Dated 30th May, 1947 : NZ 37175 Flying Officer Allan Bernard

STICHBURY. Dated 5th June, 1947: NZ 1764 Flying Officer John Duncan

CAMPBELL.

Dated 4th July, 1947: NZ 411240 Flight Lieutenant Charley Thomas HAMILTON. Dated 10th July, 1947: NZ 413118 Flight Lieutenant Douglas

Albert PIGGOTT.

Relinquishments

The undermentioned officers are permitted to relinquish their commissions :

Dated 30th April, 1947: NZ 2266 Squadron Leader Richard Charles Young, D.F.C.

Dated 1st May, 1947-NZ 412685 Squadron Leader William Alfred HARDHAM, D.F.C.

NZ 1338 Squadron Leader John Beverly TOWNEND.

Dated 7th May, 1947: NZ 40563 Squadron Leader Wilfred Ronald GELLATLY. Dated 1st June, 1947: NZ 4210944 Flying Officer Eric James

OMUNDSEN.

- D.F.C.
 - NZ 4212704 Flight Lieutenant Lewis James DAX.

NZ 417025 Flying Officer Russell Arthur Coulter. NZ 4216156 Pilot Officer Ivor George Field.

F. JONES, Minister of Defence.

Appointments, Promotion, and Retirement of Officers of the Royal New Zealand Air Force

Air Department, Wellington, 19th June, 1947.

HIS Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to approve the following appointments, promotion, and retire-ment of officers of the Royal New Zealand Air Force :--

GENERAL DUTIES BRANCH

Appointment

As Pilot-

NZ 391329 Flight Lieutenant (temp.) (Acting Squadron Leader) Boyd Victor Le PINE relinquishes his temporary commission and is granted a short-service commission in his present rank and seniority. Dated 1st April, 1947.

Promotion

The undermentioned Flight Lieutenant (temp.) to be Acting Squadron Leader (paid) :-

NZ 401789 Percival Patrick O'BRIEN, B.Com. Dated 1st May, 1947

Amendment

The notice appearing in the New Zealand Gazette No. 10, dated 27th February, 1947, page 265, under the heading "General Duties Branch--Relinquishments," relating to "NZ 2317 Flight Lieutenant William Ian ANSTEY, D.F.C.", is amended to read "Dated 15th April, 1947."

CHAPLAINS BRANCH

Appointment

NZ 2516 Alan Frederick Collins is granted a temporary com-mission as Chaplain, in the relative rank of Flight Lieutenant. Dated 2nd June, 1947.

RESERVE OF AIR FORCE OFFICERS

Amendment

The notice appearing in the New Zealand Gazette No. 74, dated 29th November, 1945, page 1488, under the heading "Reserve of Air Force Officers—Transfers," is amended, so far as it relates to "Flying Officer Lawrence Harcourt BUNT," to read "Class B, Section I. Dated 27th November, 1945."

RETIRED LIST

NZ 1009 Group Captain Michael Sullivan KEOGH, O.B.E., A.M., is placed on the retired list. Dated 9th April, 1947. F. JONES, Minister of Defence.

Honours conferred by His Majesty the King

Air Department, Wellington, 13th June, 1947.

H IS Excellency the Governor-General has announced that the King has been graciously pleased, on the occasion of His Birthday, to confer the following Honours :--

Officer of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire (O.B.E.) Acting Wing Commander Cameron Archer Turner.

Member of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire (M.B.E.) Squadron Leader Jesse Julius de Willimoff.

Acting Squadron Leader David Charles de Rungs. Acting Squadron Leader Frederick William Thornton. Warrant Officer Clement Sydney Boulton.

Air Force Cross (A.F.C.)

Flight Lieutenant Edward Pattison Booth Ebbett. Flight Lieutenant Harold Vincent Carlyle. Warrant Officer Ivan Bruce Carrie.

British Empire Medal (B.E.M.)

Flight Sergeant Bruce Gordon Thiele Johnstone. Flight Sergeant David William Jones. Flight Sergeant Frank Stanley George Crosby. Sergeant Gladys Amela Cruickshank. Corporal Roy Cedric Waterhouse.

Commendation for Valuable Services in the Air

Flight Lieutenant Mervin Francis Brown.

Flight Lieutenant William Leslie Bridget. Flight Lieutenant Alan Lester Henry. Flight Lieutenant Robert William Macadam.

Flight Lieutenant Sydney Stewart Obery.

F. JONES, Minister of Defence.

Honours and Awards approved by His Majesty the King

Air Department, Wellington, 9th June, 1947.

IS Majesty the King has been graciously pleased to approve the following award to a member of the Royal New Zealand Air Force in recognition of meritorious and gallant services rendered during the war :-

Mentioned in Despatches

NZ 411970 Flight Lieutenant Frank Ellison Gatland, D.F.M. F. JONES, Minister of Defence.

Auditor under the Friendly Societies Act, 1909, licensed

Friendly Societies Department, Wellington, 14th June, 1947.

N pursuance of section 10 of the Friendly Societies Act, 1909, His Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to license

John Andrew Perkins, Esquire, of Christchurch, to act as a Public Auditor under the Friendly Societies Act, 1909.

A. H. NORDMEYER, Minister in Charge.

Members of Court of Arbitration appointed

Department of Labour, Wellington, 20th June, 1947.

H IS Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to appoint as from the 7th Tube 1047 appoint as from the 7th July, 1947-

Walter Cecil Prime (of Napier), nominated member, and Albert Sidney Cookson (of Dunedin), acting nominated member,

of the Court of Arbitration, representing industrial unions of employers; and

Francis Cornelius Allerby (of Wellington), nominated member, and Henry Gordon Kilpatrick (of Christchurch), acting nominated

member. of the Court of Arbitration, representing industrial unions of workers.

A. McLAGAN, Minister of Labour.

Ù