Appointments, Promotions, Relinquishments, and Transfers of Officers of the Royal New Zealand Air Force

Air Department, Wellington, 8th September, 1947.

IS Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to approve the following appointments the following appointments, promotions, relinquishments, and transfers of officers of the Royal New Zealand Air Force:—

# GENERAL DUTIES BRANCH Appointments

As Pilot-NZ 421779 Flight Lieutenant (temp.) Cyril Laurence SIEGERT, D.F.C., relinquishes his temporary commission and is granted a short-service commission in his present rank and seniority. Dated 1st April, 1947.

As Navigator

As Navigator—
NZ 429071 Flight Lieutenant (temp.) Ronald Ernest Fenton relinquishes his temporary commission and is granted an extended-service commission for a period of four years in his present rank and seniority. Dated 1st April, 1947.

As Pilot—
NZ 4213114 Flying Officer (temp.) Philip Horton relinquishes his temporary commission and is granted an extended-service commission for a period of two years in his present rank and seniority. Dated 1st April, 1947.

#### Promotion

NZ 41472 Flight Lieutenant (temp.) Noel Ainsley Cresswell, D.F.C., to be Squadron Leader (temp.). Dated 30th September,

#### Relinquishments

The undermentioned officers are permitted to relinquish their commissions :-

Dated 27th January, 1946: NZ 2360 Squadron Leader (temp.) Malcolm Keith Carswell.

Dated 3rd May, 1947: NZ 40779 Wing Commander (temp.) (Acting Group Captain) Desmond James Scott, D.S.O., O.B.E., D.F.C.

Dated 20th September, 1947: NZ 4210533 Flying Officer (temp.) John Gilbert Matthews.

Dated 10th October, 1947: NZ 391340 Flight Lieutenant

(temp.) John Francis CARRICK.

EQUIPMENT BRANCH, SECTION I: EQUIPMENT OFFICERS Promotions

Equipment Duties—
NZ 39644 Flying Officer (temp.) (Acting Flight Lieutenant)
Elliott Lonsdale Ragg to be Flight Lieutenant (temp.). Dated
13th September, 1947.

NZ 30040 Flying Officer (temp.) James Barrie Collier to be Flight Lieutenant (temp.). Dated 16th August, 1947.

EQUIPMENT BRANCH, SECTION II: TECHNICAL OFFICERS Appointment

NZ 2519 Deryck MILNE, M.B.E., on relinquishing his commission in the Royal Air Force, is granted a temporary commission in the rank of Flight Lieutenant (temp.). Dated 26th January, 1947.

# Promotion

Armament Duties-

NZ 40826 Flying Officer (temp.) Clifford Maurice Crawford to be Flight Lieutenant (temp.). Dated 16th August, 1947.

## ADMINISTRATIVE AND SPECIAL DUTIES BRANCH Promotion

NZ 38105 Flying Officer (temp.) (Acting Flight Lieutenant) Thomas Mark O'CONNELL to be Flight Lieutenant (temp.). Dated 29th August, 1947.

### RESERVE OF AIR FORCE OFFICERS Transfers

The undermentioned officers are transferred from the Active List to the Reserve of Air Force Officers, Class A, Section I:—

Dated 8th September, 1947: NZ 42423 Flight Lieutenant (temp.) Kenneth David LUMSDEN.

Dated 30th September, 1947: NZ 41472 Squadron Leader (temp.) Noel Ainsley Cresswell, D.F.C.

The undermentioned officers are transferred from the Active List to the Reserve of Air Force Officers, Class B, Section I

Dated 26th January, 1947: NZ 2519 Flight Lieutenant (temp.)
Deryck Milne, M.B.E.
Dated 1st June, 1947: NZ 41630 Flying Officer (temp.) Arthur

Clarence Sullivan.

Dated 16th August, 1947—
NZ 39040 Flight Lieutenant (temp.) James Barrie Collier.
NZ 40826 Flight Lieutenant (temp.) Clifford Maurice

CRAWFORD.

Dated 28th August, 1947: NZ 401634 Flying Officer (temp.)
Reginald John Allen.
Dated 29th August, 1947: NZ 38105 Flight Lieutenant (temp.)
Thomas Mark O'CONNELL.
Dated 13th September, 1947: NZ 39644 Flight Lieutenant
(temp.) Elliott Lonsdale Ragg.

Relinquishments

The undermentioned officers are permitted to relinquish their Dated 1st October, 1947—

NZ 403598 Flight Lieutenant Alexander Reynell GAL-BRATTH, D.F.C. NZ 413509 Flight Lieutenant John Forbes THOMSON, D.F.C.

F. JONES, Minister of Defence.

Removal of Name from Commission of the Peace

Department of Justice Wellington, 8th September, 1947.

HIS Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased, in terms of section 8 of the Justices of the Peace Act, 1927, to direct the removal of the name of

## Clive Harold Clark

of Christchurch, from the Commission of the Peace; and it is hereby notified that such name has been removed accordingly, and that such removal will take effect on and from this 8th day of September,

H. G. R. MASON, Minister of Justice.

Appointing a New Chairman of the Goods-service Charges Tribunal

In pursuance and exercise of the powers conferred by clauses (2) and (3) of Regulation 3 of the Goods-service Charges Tribunal Emergency Regulations 1943,\* the Minister of Transport doth

(1) Appoint His Honour Judge Kendrick Gee Archer, of Wellington, as Chairman of the Goods-service Charges Tribunal for a term expiring on the 31st day of December, 1947:

(2) Declare that the said appointment shall take effect on the 1st day of October, 1947.

Dated at Wellington, this 8th day of September, 1947.

F. HACKETT. For the Minister of Transport.

\* Statutory Regulations 1943, Serial number 1943/40, page 75.

Amendment No. 1: Statutory Regulations 1943, Serial number 1943/123,
page 275.

Amendment No. 2: Statutory Regulations 1944, Serial number 1944/182,
page 515.

Amendment No. 3: Statutory Regulations 1945, Serial number 1945/87,
page 207.

(TT. 19/12/1; 3/36.)

Member of Board of Examiners under the Mining Act, 1926, reappointed

Mines Department, Wellington, 4th September, 1947.

HIS Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to approve the reappointment of

Thomas Bernard Gillooly, Esquire,

to be a member of the Board of Examiners under the Mining Act, 1926, for a period of three years as from the 1st September, 1947.

A. McLAGAN, Minister of Mines.

(Mines 17/31.)

Additional Members of Domain Board appointed ;

Department of Lands and Survey, Wellington, 3rd September, 1947.

HIS Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased, in pursuance of section 46 of the Public Reserves, Domains, and National Parks Act, 1928, to increase the total number of members of the Le Bons Bay Domain Board from five to eight, and to appoint-

Cyril Percival Barnett, Gordon Haakensen McKay, and William Sydney Crotty

as the additional members thereby rendered necessary.

D. M. GREIG, Under-Secretary.

(L. and S. 1/549.)

Member of Otago Land Board reappointed

Department of Lands and Survey,

Wellington, 9th September, 1947.

NOTICE is hereby given that His Excellency the GovernorGeneral has, pursuant to section 49 of the Land Act, 1924. been pleased to reappoint

Henry John Wardell

to be a member of the Land Board of the Land District of Otago for a further term of three years from the 19th day of October, 1947.

D. M. GREIG, Under-Secretary for Lands. (L. and S. 22/748/9.)