Appointment of Member of the Pharmacy Plan Industrial Committee under the Industrial Efficiency Act, 1936

PURSUANT to section 10 of the Industrial Efficiency Act, 1936 I, Arnold Henry Nordmeyer, Minister of Industries and Commerce, do hereby appoint Charles Kingsley Matthews, 59 Cambridge Terrace, Wellington, to be a member of the Pharmacy Plan Industrial Committee, appointed by me on the 11th day of January, 1939, in lieu of Owen Arnold Langtry, resigned.

Given under my hand at Wellington, this 9th day of October, 1947.

A. H. NORDMEYER, Minister of Industries and Commerce.

Member of the Carter Observatory Board appointed

Department of Scientific and Industrial Research, Wellington, 14th October, 1947.

HIS Excellency the Governor-General in Council has been pleased, in accordance with section 5 of the Carter Observatory Act, 1938, to appoint

Francis Raymond Callaghan, M.A.,

to replace Dr. Ernest Marsden, C.M.G., C.B.E., M.C., D.Sc., F.R.S., as a member of the Carter Observatory Board for the period ending 31st December, 1948.

F. R. CALLAGHAN, Secretary.

Member of Canterbury Land Board reappointed

Department of Lands and Survey, Wellington, 14th October, 1947.

NOTICE is hereby given that His Excellency the Governor-General has, pursuant to section 49 of the Land Act, 1924, been pleased to reappoint

James Michael Kelly

to be a member of the Land Board of the Land District of Canterbury for a further term of three years from 8th November, 1947.

D. M. GREIG, Under-Secretary.

(L. and S. 22/748/8.)

Deputy Registrars of Marriages, &c., appointed

Registrar-General's Office, Wellington, 14th October, 1947.

T is hereby notified that the following appointments have been made:-

Edward Daniel Churcher

to be Deputy Registrar of Marriages and of Births and Deaths for the District of Wanganui, on and from the 7th day of October, 1947.

Walter Leslie Scott

to be Deputy Registrar of Births and Deaths for the District of Augustand at Takapuna, on and from the 30th day of September,

Albert Edward Johnson

to be Deputy Registrar of Marriages and of Births and Deaths for the District of Napier, on and from the 22nd day of September, 1947.

Oscar Jack Goodman Knight

to be Deputy Registrar of Births and Deaths for the District of Christchurch at Sumner, on and from the 1st day of October, 1947.

Percy Allan Rook

to be Deputy Registrar of Marriages and of Births and Deaths for the District of Te Anga, on and from the 13th day of October, 1947.

P. H. WYLDE, Deputy Registrar-General.

Local Bodies' Loans Act, 1926.—Joint Special Loan Under Part II

NOTICE is hereby given that each of the local authorities named in the Schedule hereunder (1) has taken all the steps required in the Schedule hereunder (1) has taken all the steps required to be taken under the above-named Act prior to the raising of a special loan of the amount set opposite the name of such local authority in the said Schedule, and (2) has passed a resolution as required by Part II of the above-named Act for the raising of a joint special loan of the amount of thirty-five thousand pounds (£35,000) in union with the other said local authority, and (3) has complied with all the other conditions prescribed in the case of a joint special loan by the above-mentioned Act, and (4) has named the Upper Hutt Borough Council to be the agent of each of the said local authorities for the purposes of the joint special loan and to be the principal local authority as defined in Part II of the said Act.

SCHEDULE

	SOL				
Names of Uniting Local Authorities.				Part of Loan rai for the Purpose Each. £	
Lower Hutt City Counc	eil				30,000
Upper Hutt Borough Council		• •	• •		5,000
Total				•••	35,000

Dated this 10th day of October, 1947.

W. NASH, Minister of Finance.

(T. 49/179/23)

List of Overseas Representatives notified

Ministry of External Affairs, Wellington, 7th October, 1947.

THE following list of overseas representatives to New Zealand is hereby notified for public information:—

AUSTRALIA

Wellington—
A. R. Cutler, V.C., High Commissioner.
Bernard Kuskie, Official Secretary.
R. N. Hancock, Assistant Secretary.
J. J. Murray, Trade Commissioner.
K. W. Ward, Assistant Trade Commissioner.

BELGIUM

Auckland: J. B. Ferguson, Honorary Consul.
Christchurch: Sir Joseph Ward, Bart., Honorary Consul.
Dunedin: A. H. Allen, Honorary Consul.
Wellington: Armand Nihotte, Consul-General (with jurisdiction in New Zealand and the Territory of Western Samoa).

BRAZIL

Canberra: Mario Santos, Consul. Wellington: C. A. L. Treadwell, Honorary Consul.

Wellington-Alfred Rive, High Commissioner.

Paul V. McLane, Commercial Secretary. M. R. M. Dale, Assistant Commercial Secretary. Miss Agnes Ireland, Third Secretary.

Auckland: J. M. Wilson, Honorary Consul. Sydney: R. Dundas Smith, Consul-General.

CHINA

Wellington—
Wang Feng, Consul-General (with rank of Minister and with
jurisdiction in New Zealand and the Territory of Western Samoa).

Yu En Ho (Yue H. Jackson), Consul.
Liu Tung Wei, Vice-Consul.
Chao Yo Ching, Deputy Consul.
Western Samoa (Apia): Cheng Chia Hua, Consul.

CUBA

In New Zealand consular officers of the United States of America act on behalf of the Cuban Government.

CZECHOSLOVAKIA

ydney: Josef Nemecek, Consul-General. Wellington: E. J. Hyams, Honorary Consul.

DENMARK

Auckland: C. G. Macindoe, Honorary Vice-Consul.
Canberra: His Excellency Mr. C. M. Rottboll (nominated), Envoy
Extraordinary and Minister Plenipotentiary.
Christchurch: A. C. Perry, Acting Honorary Consul.

Wellington— Karl I. Eskelund, Consul-General. Stronach Paterson, Honorary Consul.

Auckland: Georges Denizeau, Consul. Christehurch: G. E. F. Kingscote, Honorary Consular Agent. Dunedin: N. A. Haggitt, Honorary Consular Agent.

Wellington-

His Excellency Mr. Armand Gazel, Envoy Extraordinary and Minister Plenipotentiary. Henri Rollet, First Secretary. P. Burthe-Mique, Commercial Attaché.

GREECE

Wellington— T. E. Y. Seddon, Honorary Consul-General. S. Garland, Honorary Deputy Consul-General.

NETHERLANDS

Auckiand—
C. W. Heather, Honorary Consul.
H. F. van Eck, Honorary Vice-Consul.
Christchurch: G. N. Francis, Honorary Vice-Consul.
Dunedin: G. R. Ritchie, Honorary Vice-Consul.

His Excellency Dr. A. F. H. van Troostenburg de Bruyn, Envoy Extraordinary and Minister Plenipotentiary. Dr. W. Arriens, Second Secretary.

NICARAGUA

Sydney: Don Raphael Medina, Consul-General.

NORWAY

Auckland: D. Millar, Honorary Vice-Consul.
Dunedin: W. F. Edmond, Honorary Vice-Consul.
Invercargill: E. E. Broad, Honorary Vice-Consul.
Wellington: J. Halligan, Honorary Consul.